We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Wonderful atmosphere, Dirty Shared dorm”
Review of The Yellow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Yellow
Ranked #15 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Just walking distance from Roma Termini, good breakfast and very nice atmosphere all along the hostel. Every now and then you can find interactive activities in the hostel which is damn good to chill out & get to know more people around. One of the building is pretty old which gives a nice heritage & aristocratic look . However, the shared dorm I stayed in another building was not so clean, despite my complain they didn't bother to keep it hygienic, even the shared bathrooms were not being regularly cleaned. Except this, everything else was fantastic.

Room Tip: Better to take room/dorm in the reception building if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KumarBornToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed the yellow. I stayed I a 4 bed mixed dorm with bathroom and have no complaints. The bunkbeds are built like tanks and don't squeek at all.

While this place has a great social vibe, I think they could make better use of the common area space. Some more social events in the day would be nice. Also I took the cooking course here and it was great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Hello Ian,

Thank you for your gracious review of our hostel and we appreciate your input. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and we look forward to exceeding your expectations.
Zizi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Great location and affordable, quick breakfast at any time. However, shared rooms were terribly dirty (bathrooms). I doubt they were cleaned every day. Same with showers, dirty and no shelfs to put clothes, cosmetics on

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ewakoguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Our guide Francesco was great, he had a lot of knowledge of the city and the history which made the tour very interesting. We stopped for lunch in some markets and ate some tasty food, all in all it was a nice experience and a great way to see some of Rome.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank duncancarnalldc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The common bathroom was filthy disgusting and the front desk people weren't all that happy or friendly when I was checking in. The yellow bar was the only thing that was good but it was still very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vasu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

there was a confusion with our rooms and they did everything they could to fix the problem, plus they give us discounts and credit in the room key for the inconvenience. really nice people and cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank josue91_bep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theyellow, Reception Supervisor at The Yellow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

HEy Josue,

Thanks for your nice review.

We always try our best to make feeling comfortable and to solve issues as soon as possible.

Thanks a lot,

CIao

Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

First time in Rome and this was the best place we stayed - value for private room was amazing, a/c was on point (rare in July) and everyone was very friendly. Food was very good it was nice that they had real breakfast for those US travelers that want more than an espresso option in the am. At 40 we were older than most at the hostel but it didn't matter, everyone was very friendly and the room was the best of our whole stay (including others like Le Meriden, etc.) Also very close to the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 49annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theyellow, front desk officer at The Yellow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Ciao! Thanks a lot for your amazing review, we're super happy to read that you've chosen The Yellow for your first experience in Rome and you loved your stay!
It doesn't matter how old you are, you will always have great time here ;)
Hope to see you soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#261 of 1,271 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,166 in Rome
233 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#29 of 1,166 in Rome
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow

Address: Via Palestro 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $28 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yellow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOU are going to love it here if:- YOU like to get your party on- YOU love socializing from dusk till dawn- YOU're looking for an international entourage- YOU think loud is the new black- YOU just want to kick back and enjoy yourself. More than just unrivaled location and facilities, Yellow has its own spirit that is made by everyone who stays or works here. Our staff are renowned for going out of their way to make the Yellow experience one that thousands of people each year remember as being a highlight of their travels. The Yellow has been established over ten years ago. We take the experience of these years and turn it into knowledge of how to best cater to the wants and needs of today's traveler. Some of our other great hostel features include:- FREE internet access and WI-FI - BAR- Breakfast (a la carte) available from 7 am to noon - Food available all day,all night- Patio- All non-smoking bedrooms- Air conditioning (EVERYWHERE) - Great walking tours, bike tours and FREE TOURS- Supermarket around the corner- FREE city maps- Safe paid car parking nearby- FREE hot showers 24 h.- No lockout- No curfew- 24 HOUR CHECK-IN (you can check-in ANYTIME after 2.30Pm, the reception is always open, so you don't need to tell us your estimated arrival time)All our PRIVATE ROOMS are equipped with:- private en-suite bathroom - independent air-conditioning and heating- a safety deposit box- a hair dryer - FREE WIFI. Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed and is payable directly in cash at the reception. The amount is 3,50 EUROS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IN CASH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing