We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treasured stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #7 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A treasured stay...”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family of four stayed at this opulent residence for a three night break. I booked over the phone because of the ages of my children and needed their advice on room choice. Francesca (front desk) was very helpful and offered us 2 Romantic Doubles interconnecting which suited us wonderfully. I was also able to correspond via email and a few more phone calls regarding tours and transfers for which Francesca was very happy to assist.

The journey from Fiumicino Airport to the Villa took about 45 minutes and we opted to go with our own arranged transfers which costed us 30euros less and was a brilliant service. The driver was already waiting at the airport and the drive was smooth in a luxury Mercedes Van. I highly recommend EasyAirportTaxis.com. Similarly, the pick up was efficient with the friendly and professional driver arriving 15 mins earlier.

Upon arrival, it was difficult to notice the Villa because it was surrounded by similar buildings. However, when we rang the bell and the doors open, you begin to be surprised at every turn. The high ceilings, ornate decor, beautiful furniture, grand fireplaces, old photographs and fine art were reminicent of someone's palatial residence as opposed to a hotel. We were shown to our rooms and were immediately drawn to the space and the ceiling height windows. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like a log. Minibar was complimentary with a healthy choice of drinks and snacks that was replenished everyday. The rooms were immaculate and the bathroom was marble heaven! Housekeeping should be commended!

We had the opportunity to sit in the drawing rooms for coffee, tea and biscuits (payable). It is the most relaxing way to end our day of walking and touring. There is a table in the drawing room piled with alcoholic drinks to consume to your heart's content (as it's free) but as we are non drinkers, it was a worthless effort. It is a true shame that with a Villa of this merit, could not offer coffee or tea as part of the endeavour. We also had a chance to sit in the tranquil gardens of the Villa. I must add at this point that there isn't a waiting staff in sight and the only way to call for service is through reception or a 'bell'. This could be looked upon as favourable if you prefer not to have 'waiting eyes' on you.

Breakfast (from 7 till 11) was taken in the dining room with a buffet of cold foods and eggs were made to order. Again, the 'bell' was the only way of getting service unless staff was already in the room. We did have to ask for tea/coffee cups, cutlery and little milk jugs as these weren't always complete on the table. Waiting staff was always smiling and happy to take your order. I must add here that the Villa does not offer dinner service and the room menu is limited with a 15 euro room charge. There is also a policy of no food from outside the hotel to be brought in.

Location of the hotel is second to none. It is a walkable 10 - 15 mins distance to most sites including the Vittoranio, Palazzo delle Esposizione and Colosseum. Even if you get tired, there are an abundance of bars, cafes and restaurants to rest. The location of the Villa is also perfect because its quiet and away from the hustle and bustle.

In summary, one must be clear that the Villa Spalletti Trivelli is not a conventional hotel establishment but offers a distinguished and different experience to the traveller. There isnt coffee/tea making facilities, there isnt a waiting staff in sight, there isnt a lunch/dinner restaurant but as Ive mentioned this is dissimilar and unique to other establishments and your stay will be a new encounter and mine certainly has been a treasured one.

P/S: Do research and plan your trip to Rome as much as possible. There is so much to see and do and it is worth making lists, understanding a little about Roman history, speak a little Italian and buying tickets beforehand (which you can do online). Queues can be unbearable and tours can limit you (even private tours).

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor will have the wafting smell of log fire fumes in the winter because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Fussytraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    27
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
92
305
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was a family home of a wealthy Roman family and it still has that atmosphere today. You are greeted personally at the door and you then walk into a different world. All the public rooms are beautifully appointed with antiques and paintings.There is no bar just a huge table with every drink you can think of, to help yourself. The bathroom and bedroom were immaculate and very beautiful. Amazingly this hotel is right in the middle of Rome, minutes away from the Trevi Fountain. It was simply lovely to come back to this calming enviroment after a hectic day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myholidayhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Only because Trip Advisor told me. From the moment you are greeted at the front door, you feel at home. It is beautiful in architecture and appointments i.e., bedrooms, bathrooms, closets, art, linens, etc, all the modern conveniences in a traditional home with12-15 foot georgeous walls, staircases, moldings and ceilings. Three large comfortable interior rooms for sitting and reading by the three fires or having the always complimentary drinks. There is no charge for any wine or liquor downstairs or from the minibar in your room. Delicious chocolates and nuts are always available.

It's February and we had a lovely luncheon out in the sunny garden. When a cloud came by, a buzzer at our chair brought assistance to turn on the outside heater.

So please, go somewhere else. Leave Villa Spalletti to us. Mille grazie.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Magpie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Wow.Beautiful property , gorgeous furnishings , paintings, decor - lovely family villa but huge withjust 12 rooms .Superb lounges,public areas,romantic,warm ,open fires,complimentary drinks.Marvellous wellness area ,well equipped gym ,hamman, steam room etc .Bedrooms are luxurious,marble bathrooms .Unique place to sty and compared to the top end hotels ie Russie or Eden is sensibly priced .Great location as well.Small salt float pool .No large pool

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We decided on this hotel because of the Trip Advisor award and its location, not only a few steps from the gardens of the Palazzo Quirinale but also from the Fontana di Trevi, Via Nazionale, and the mostly known attractions in Rome. Decoration, service, atmosphere, attention, food (breakfast) it was all supreme. To us there is only one hotel in Rome - The Villa Spalletti Trivelli. Congratulations to the all the people at Villa Spalletti Trivelli!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazilMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

You approach the door, ring the bell, and are welcomed in by a smiling staff member. The guest rooms (and there are only twelve) are large, lovely, and include a free mini bar which is replenished each day. The house is gorgeous with wide hallways, beautiful staircases, antiques including wall hangings and artwork. Breakfast includes organic eggs, fresh-squeezed orange juice, beautiful pastries, cheese, meat, bread. In the evening you can go into one of the lounges and enjoy the open bar which includes high-end Scotch, prosecco, and snacks. We will never again stay anyplace else in Rome. The location is great with everything near by. The staff arranged a Vatican tour for us and helped in every possible way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Curnutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights for a friend's 50th. Had the Grand Suite and a "normal" double.
The place is really exceptional. Very central but still very quiet (surrounded by government buildings). Breakfast, cleanliness, style, included minibar + snacks, spa... everything is just perfect. We'll definitely revisit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heinz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#6 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing