We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location - fantastic owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Ranked #489 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location - fantastic owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here in May 2011. On check in Mary was so incredibly helpful with her advice - she even worked out an intinerary for us based on what we wanted to see, and how much time we had, to maximise out time! We also took her advice on where to go for dinner one night and had an amazing meal.

This hotel is not luxurious but has everything you need if you're not planning on spending a great amount of time in your room.

Both Mary and Carlo were great in helping us use the free wi-fi which we struggled with. On the morning of our departure we had to leave at 4.30am and when we opened the door Mary was waiting to escort us to the lift and assist with our bags - just fantastic.

Can't fault the Welrome for it's value for money and the service provided by Mary and Carlo.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    72
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
169
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed at Hotel Welrome for 6 nights October 24 - 30. The walking directions from the train station were simple and we found the hotel easily - even after traveling for 24 hours to get there. On our arrival, the owner, Mary, was very helpful and showed us to our room, gave us a map and routed out an afternoon city walking tour. It was perfect and we had a wonderful first afternoon.

The next morning, we had accidentally set our clocks wrong (pm instead of am) and overslept and missed our morning tour. Mary called the tour company for us and got them to let us take the tour the next day. She was an immense help to us throughout our stay. Helping us find grocery stores, restaurants, making reservations for us, telling us which bus to take. You couldn't ask for a better hostess.

Be prepared - the rooms are small, as were all the hotel roooms we stayed in on our 3 1/2 week Italy trip. Rooms in Italy are nothing like you find in the US, but it is all part of the charm and experience of being in a foreign country, right?

The location is very good. Plenty of things are close, including a church around he corner that we just happened to wander into our first day - it turned out to be built by Michelangelo from the old Roman baths and had the most enormous pipe organ i have ever seen! It's close to the Roma Termini (main train station) where you can get the subway to the coloseum and other areas). And the buses all stop just around the corner from the hotel. Mary helped us become experts at public transportation. Heed all the warnings about pickpockets. I did have someone try to take things from my purse while we were on the subway packed in like sardines! And I'm fairly certain it was a woman with a baby in a baby carriage. She used the baby as a distraction while she reached into your bag. When I got off the subway train, all the zippers on my purse were open. Luckily she didn't find anything of value to take as I had my money and credit cards in my pocket.

Mary was such a wonderful hostess and a huge help to us through our whole stay so I would stay there again if we get back to Rome. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MelissaAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My two teenagers, my husband, and I stayed at the Welrome for 4 nights in July, 2011. Mary and Carlos are incredible hosts, with a vast knowlege of the History of Rome and ample information on all that there is to enjoy in the city. The rooms are spotless, dark, quiet and air-conditioned, and had a good sized private bathroom. We walked all the way to the Vatican, but if walking is not your thing, the bus access is excellent, and cab fares are very reasonable to all the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 40Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon in October 2011 and were not disappointed. Mary and Carlo were both extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and were only too happy to make our stay the best we had in Italy.

It rained one day and Mary had umbrellas ready for us as we left. The location isn't central, but it's walking distance to the main station and as it turned out after a massive downpour that paralysed the metro, walking distance to pretty much everywhere else too.

Don't expect flash... but do expect to feel at home. Breakfast is included in the price these days, and free cold drinks, tea and coffee in the room put it a notch above most other places. Restaurant recommendations, directions to anywhere you want to go and other useful advice is only ever a question away.

Loved this place, loved our hosts and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flagpies09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed there for 1 week. It was like already written not that centrally placed but still it had a good "overall package"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is a gem. It's affordable, welcoming, super-clean, comfortable, centrally located and all of the rooms have private bathrooms. It's not swish, but it's impeccably neat and feels like home very quickly. The best thing about the hotel is how friendly and welcoming Mary and Carlo are. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality! And thank you for your local restaurant suggestions- I'm really glad we listened to your recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di_Sydney_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

A ten minute walk from Rome Termini. Easy to find. Not centrally placed but although the pavements are hard, the route into the city centre is pretty direct and,really, tourist Rome isn't too demanding a trek. Some quite descent eating places and a managable supermarket nearby but it's definitely not in the swishest locality.
Anyway, Mary and her husband couldn't be more helpful and polite and will draw all over your map to show you the way to all the classic sights.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Plenty of hot water. The Colloseo has a double and single bed and a little balcony for fresh air. There's a fridge, kettle and tea and coffee. There's not much surface to spread out toiletries or cosmetics.
We went as a party of four enjoying a cultural foray but I'm not sure it would be the place for a romantic weekend on a first date to impress.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#407 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Selene Roma
Hotel Selene Roma
#121 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#189 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#892 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#215 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Property: Welrome Hotel
Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#103 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#305 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing