We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Three Lumberjacks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #575 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Presnovka, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Three Lumberjacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had no idea what to expect on first coming upon Sleeping Beauty. We were just a bunch of scraggly, smelly Americans, but Alfred not only set us up with a deal in the nicest room -- and let us browse and borrow from his DVD collection -- but he also took the time to act as our de facto tour guide, pointing out the things we'd need to see/avoid/eat/drink while in Rome. One of the nicest guys we met on the entire trip, and certainly a place that's worth staying in when we return. Great guy. Great deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    43
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
76
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

5 weeks in advance, we booked a twin room in the Snow White guesthouse. One day before leaving to Rome we got a telephone call that we could not stay there. We were transferred to the Sleeping Beauty guesthouse. We were not very pleased. We had no other choice than to go to the Sleeping Beauty.
Positive: We had a room at the backside. It was very quite and the airco worked well.
It was clean, the staff was helpful and friendly.
There are coffee and thee facilities in the room and a microwave in the kitchen.Kitchen amenities are poor.
Shower was OK
Negative: Room was very, very small. There was only 1 chair and 1 little desk in the room. Walking is quite far from the historical center (20 min to Colosseo and 30-45 min to fontana di Trevi,..
Metro line A is interrupted due to works during August. Walking to Stazione termini takes some 20 min.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canecanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The day we arrived in Rome was rather stressful, the metro line to San Giovanni isn't running and the bus didn't stop at our stop and we ended up having a half hour walk with oir suitcases in the crazy sun of Rome. When we arrived at Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse we were told to wait round the back of the block of flats, we did however there was nothing round there and we really weren't best pleased about this. We then went into the Guesthouse and were told the Boss wasn't there but we could wait upstairs for him.

Our room was ok, my advice on the place is if you don't look closely enough you don't see the cracks. The other problem I would alert you is you have to pay by cash even though the email I got when I booked our room said I could pay by card. Also there's a 2euro a night tax which the government brought it.

It is quite a nice place to stay so don't be put off but what I've said, everyone is very friendly there is free internet, a tv in your room, we had a nice ensuite and really nice, cheap restaurants just down the road and 15 minutes away from the Colosseum.

However the main thing that would put me off going back here is there isn't breakfast provided and you wasted a lot of time in the morning trying to find somewhere to eat.

Bear this in mind before staying!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildOfRandomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Looking at photos on Tripadvisor you would think that this a modern hotel with lovely bathrooms and stylish attire in the bedroom, however it is important to note that this is a guesthouse located on one floor of a block of apartments. My girlfriend and I had quite a negative experience arriving to the Sleeping Beauty, first of all we were told by the staff that the metro stop; San Giovanni is close to the guesthouse. What we weren't told was that the majority of metro line A is closed to facilitate the creation of Line C. We travelled way down many flights of stairs in Termini to be told to go back up to the top to get a shuttle bus. Then the shuttle bus didn't stop at San Giovanni and we were left about 1km from the original station. Then when we eventually arrived at the guesthouse, the woman who sits down on the first floor of the block of flats said that the manager of Sleeping Beauty wasn't there and we had to meet him at the bar. This was totally unacceptable to me who is used to the normal function of entering a hotel through the main entrance.

Then when we were paying the website said that they accepted all major credit cards and debit cards however they told us they don't and that cash was the only payment acceptable. Furthermore, for each night you stay at additional 2euros is added on for tourist tax which isn't mentioned to you either on their website.

The rooms themselves are outdated, and in need of updating there are some perks, air conditioning, roof fan, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities and a fridge. The bed is comfy however the quilts look like recycled curtains. Another criticism was that the cleaning staff came in on Sunday and completely rearranged our stuff which as you can imagine is quite violating and we were carrying a lot of valuable stuff with us. The cleaning staff for two of the four nights we stayed here were very keen on taking away your air conditioning remote control which in Italy in August, is the main thing which gets you through the night.

The best thing about the place is that there is access to a computer, printer, headphones etc all free of charge. However, Rome isn't the most expensive of cities in Europe (we were in Paris beforehand) and for the price we were paying you'd expect breakfast, there are no cafes nearby which provide a continental form of breakfast unless you rather get a shuttlebus to Termini. Another criticism was that there was no form of 24hour reception, and during the night you are left by yourself and other guests with no form of formal staff with tourist being targets it is quite worrying.

Rome is nice, and you could find a better hostel nearer the sights and nearer the nightlife. The only good thing is that there is a nice restaurant near the hostel, which is family run and located beside a cheap tabac. The family who ran the restaurant were helpful in pointing us toward sights etc and a margarhita pizza was only 3.50euros.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Alfred and Rene made this such a special place to stay, they are wonderful hosts. The Guesthouse is within a 15-20 minute walk of the Colosseum and many other attractions. The rooms are a little bit tired and could do with a bit of a freshen up but are very clean and definately comfortable to stay in. Located on a busy street, but the noise from outside was not a problem. Rene was great at advising on a local restaurant (Pizza & Pasta just around the corner) which we ate at on several occasions.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We really enjoyed out stay here. Upon arriving at the Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse, we were informed by Alfred that we would not be staying there but instead would get an upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment in the heart of Rome!! Alfred was very accommodating and gave us a very thorough and detailed map to take with us. He then escorted us to the new apartment, which was very cute, clean and in a great location. There was even a terrace and a kitchen!! The location was near Piazza Popolo and walking distance to most things. It was very quaint.

The rooms were very clean and the caretaker (Carmen?) took good care of the place and us. On the last day, we didn't have to leave until the evening and so we packed our luggage and left it at the door as the caretaker told us to do, and upon arrival to the apartment in the evening we were given another apartment to stay in for as long as we needed because our apartment became occupied. We thought this was very nice of Alfred and I don't think other apartment owners in the area would have done the same.

In terms of high speed internet and warm water - both worked really well (but make sure that you don't accidentally flip the switch in the bathroom because it shuts off the hot water supply for a while!!

All in all Alfred was very accommodating and extremely nice, I would recommend this to any and everyone!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindalyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

At the beginning I was very worried about the cleanness of the place; in fact I made my reservation for only one night so I could see if the place was comfortable and clean. When I arrived, I totally decide to extend my reservation for 3 days, it´s much more than what you expect.
The place is very safe, clean, and lovely decorated. There is a computer and printer available 24 hrs. I have to admit that the location is the best, but it´s really easy to move by metro and it´s only one station far from Termini. I totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana_Espinosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Music Guesthouse
#318 of 3,735 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#102 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Esquilino
Ad Hoc Domus
Ad Hoc Domus
#534 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pascia Room & Breakfast
#261 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Esquilino
DaMa di Roma
DaMa di Roma
#676 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Gianicolense
Aida Charming Rooms
Aida Charming Rooms
#451 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse

Property: Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse
Address: Viale Carlo Felice 89, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping Beauty is situated in front of the St. John's in Lateran church, place of worship and oldest catholic church of the western world. Since our two star superior accommodation is in the heart of the eternal city, you can easily find refuge during the lazy roman afternoons and start your conquest of Rome from here. Sleeping Beauty is inside the historical centre of Rome, within the old city walls, and at a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum area. Excellent connections with all means to transport just around the corner (underground, tram, buses) take you to the rest of the centre of Rome in few minutes. Free Internet access for all guests. Amenities are: TV Hairdryer Electronic Safe Free Internet Free tea and coffeemaking facilities Multilingual staff speaks French and English ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing