We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location. Wifi never fixed. Rude staff. Highway motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel degli Imperatori
Ranked #587 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrible location. Wifi never fixed. Rude staff. Highway motel”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Absolutely terrible location, miles away in the middle of nowhere. Access to the hotel was by taking the metro line B all the way to the end to Rebibbia (about 15 mins from Roma Termini), THEN a local bus for another 15 minutes. With good timing a trip from the city centre was often about 40-45 minutes. The worst part is that the buses stop at about 11.30pm and after than you could only get a taxi - walking would be too far.

This is not a hotel for young travelers. Most of the other people in the hotel appeared to be part of big tour groups which came with their own private coach, which meant they weren't affected by the hotel's remote location, or they were here on business.

To make things worse, the service of this "4-star" hotel was shocking.

- On their website that a "shuttle bus service is at your disposal" - in actual fact there are only 2 shuttle services, one at 8.30am and one at 7.30pm to and from the hotel to Rebibbia station.

- Their free wifi worked for 2 out of our 4 days there, and when we asked them about it they just said that it was broken and they were "trying" to fix it (but it was never fixed)

- They don't have an iron in the hotel to lend out, only a "laundry service" but that wasn't open anyway. My friends had to run to a nearby laundromat to get their ironing done

All in all, I found the experience very underwhelming and infuriating at times. The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. The only reason we ended up staying here is because our travel agent booked it for us in a rush at the last minute - if we had known about its location we would not have agreed to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bobbiee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    104
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
42
65
6
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Imola, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The building is not brand new, yet well kept, clean. Our room 200 was spacious and nice.
The hotel is right outside the ramp to access the GRA, the circular highway that runs around Rome. If the purpose of your trip is visiting Rome, then you need a car. A small complimentary indoor garage is available.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel is primarily a business hotel with business quality to boot.
Having stayed a purely a leisure traveller to Rome, it was a real pleasure. Very luxurious.
We had our own transportation, so getting to Rome was 20 mins and parking centrally in Rome is only 1 Euro per hour.
The hotel has its own free car park and free WiFi. Nice not to have to pay supplements for these services.
Very friendly staff, nice continental breakfast and very clean. Even coming back to the hotel at midnight, the manager happily opened the bar for the delegated driver to have a nightcap !
Whilst close to Motorways (for great access) the rooms where silent inside, so a very good nights rest to all.
Will go back if we can get the same great rates again !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham_lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Degli Imperatori with my boyfriend for 4 nights. We had a fantastic time and I highly recommend this hotel to all kinds of travellers.

The rooms are modern, spacious and well equipped (TV with English, French, German and of course Italian channels, bath, great airconditioner) as well as perfectly clean. The foyer is stylish and inviting, with great staff. They were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous and spoke very good English. They seemed to really care about their guests which was lovely.

The location is reasonably far out of Rome but is not inconvenient. There is a bus stop which takes you straight to Rebbibia train station where you can easily access the Colloseum or city centre. Additionally it allowed us to see a more "real" side of Rome, we really loved walking around the little town and spending time at the friendly gelati and pizza shops!

The only downsides were that the internet was very slow (but hey, it keeps you from spending too much time on it!) and the restaurant was very average. But overall I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you book last minute and get a good price like we did!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank georgie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.5 km away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#916 of 1,258 in Rome
197 reviews
2.7 km away
Cervara Park Hotel
Cervara Park Hotel
#706 of 1,258 in Rome
146 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#759 of 1,258 in Rome
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,258 in Rome
643 reviews
9.1 km away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,054 of 1,258 in Rome
285 reviews
14.7 km away
Hotel Area Roma
Hotel Area Roma
#502 of 1,258 in Rome
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel degli Imperatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel degli Imperatori

Property: Hotel degli Imperatori
Address: Via Guido Gonella 15, 00156 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel degli Imperatori 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel degli Imperatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing