We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money place”
Review of Hotel Capannelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capannelle
Ranked #578 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money place”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a descent & value for money hotel near Rome. If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel & you are OK with staying at bit distance from the city center this place is a good choice.

They serve buffet breakfast – which is good. You get free internet access – something that is rare in Europe. The rooms are well maintained.

They have a bus shuttle that picks up & drops to a Metro Station/Bus Stop. From their you can take Metro/Bus to places of interest in the city. This service is useful & convenient as the hotel is bit away from city. In case you miss the shuttle, there are 2 bus-stops very near to the hotel. Though the frequency of buses is low – its manageable. They also have ain airport shuttle. In case you are arriving at Rome after 11 pm, then you need to get a cab to hotel- as their airport shuttle is till 11pm.

They have a swimming pool, a restaurant downstairs – never tried that.

The staff was helpful. On the last day when we were returning, there was a Taxi strike. The hotel managed to get a taxi for us 3 in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlpanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    756
    379
    129
    148
See reviews for
337
651
54
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

First, we reached the hotel late at night , via bus 663 from Colli Albani bus station . The stop is very close to the hotel , so it wat super easy to reach their.

Then, the restaurant was closed ( closes at 10:30) , but they led us to a pizzeria behind the hotel.

About our stay , the room ( Executive Double ) , was very clean and of high quality of furniture and bathroom.

Super calm stay !

Breakfast is served from 7:00 am , and of various choices , 5 stars !

All in all , Enjoyed our stay !
and the shuttle bus was handy if your plan meets their schedule :D !

highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Capannelle recently during our rome visit. Its bit outside from city centre of rome but the hotel shuttle service provide very well service to the nearest metro stations and so transportation is not a big problem. Even the local buses are coming very near to the hotel. As well as they provide airport pick up service and drop- in. The area of the hotel situated is very calm and quiet so it’s a good place to stay away from noise and can have a good rest to busy lives. I love capannelle cus it is beautiful hotel with exceptional service. And good value for the money we paid. Staff is very friendly and helpful too. The rooms were very comfy,relaxing, spotless and spacious. We stayed in a double room and it was perfect and no words to explain about it with a nice and shining bathroom it makes so lovely. The Room was big. And the beds were huge and very comfortable too. Every day when we returned the room was clean with fresh beddings, towels and everyday with new toiletries. There was a lot of wardrobe and drawer space, minibar and a writing table with a flat screen tv which can be use as a computer as well. But we used hotel wifi connection and its nothing to complain with the speed of connection. The continental breakfast buffet has an endless range of food to be had; scrambled egg, sausages, croissants, bacon, Cake, Coffee, Tea, Juice and fresh fruit.. etc.. All the foods are tasty and fresh... its much more than we expected! We wished our stay had been longer than 4 days as we felt in love with rome and hotel capnnelle made it lovely too. We highly recommended this hotel to the rome visitors and we will definitely be coming to this hotel when our next visit to Rome.. Thanks Cappanelle..!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upeksha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had rented a car and the covered car park of the hotel was free(rare in Rome). The room was cheap and very clean and recently furnished. Near a city by pass which led us to all the poi's in Rome.

Room Tip: All of them were correct
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

In the recent snowstorm we were stuck in Ciampino airport for about 15 hours - no information and no one cared. I saw the bus from this hotel pull up (one of the few vehicles even out in the snow) and asked the driver to take my wife and I back to the hotel. We were desparate and I knew nothing about this hotel - whether it would be 100 or 1000E per night - we did not care as Ciampino was h--l!!! The bus driver was courteous and the hotel a God-send. They extended every courteousy to us in a time of real travail - the wait staff were outstanding - I had fun teaching them to make an american style VD martini. The wi-fi was unwaveringly good. And they rendered every necessary assistance courteousy and professionally, I know Rome and understand the location isue - but this was among the best and most courteous staff I have ever dealt with. The rooms were clean, large and spacious. The front desk advised me how best (read least expesensive) to make the numerous international calls to rearrange plans and obligations (my mobile had died on top of eveyrhing else). I cannot speak highly enough of the professionalism and courtesy extended by the staff at this hotel - and I travel a lot! And it was 49E per night and they only charged us half rate as we checked out late instead of staying a whole second day. When I return to Rome rest assured this will be my choice at any price,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swarttav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

About the location, like all other posters have pointed out, this hotel is not near Rome city center and also quite a walk away (about 1.5 mi) from the nearest metro station. The free hotel shuttle buses run on a very limited schedule. To/from the metro stations, about 6 to 8 times a day (latest pickup at around 18:45). To/from the airport (Ciampino), only 2 or 3 times a day. If you don't want to use the local buses and only want to rely on the hotel shuttle, you better check before booking if the schedule suits you.
We decided to stay at Hotel Capannelle knowing beforehand that we will use local buses (very cheap, 1 Euro single journey including metro), so we knew what we were in for. A taxi from Ciampino airport to the hotel (only 3-4 mi away) would cost 30 Euro... Unwilling to fork out such a ridiculous sum for a short journey (and the hotel shuttle of no use for our arrival time), we embarked on a public transport journey involving 3 legs and at least 45 minutes: Cotral bus outside of Ciampino airport to Anagnina metro station > metro Anagnina to Cinecitta > bus 654 from Cinecitta to Via Siderno near the hotel. Beware that the local bus only makes a stop when someone presses the button. So, having not yet been to the hotel, of course we wouldn't have a clue when to press the button. With my very limited, cringe-worthy Italian, I asked the driver 'Scusi. Va Hotel Capannelle?' (does this actually mean anything in Italian?) The driver kindly answered with 'Si, si, @#~%*&^#&!' and at our stop signaled for us to get off. Anyhow, my point is that it was certainly manageable and a rather fun adventure, but if you want a straight-forward, hassle-free transfer from Ciampino to Hotel Capannelle, don't use the bus+metro+bus approach.
The hotel itself was decent. I think the star rating means different things in different country. In the UK, one would expect tea & coffee in the room for any 3/4/5 star establishments, but not found in our room at Hotel Capannelle. On the other hand, there was a bidet, a telephone, and an ALARM!! in the bathroom, which are rare features in UK hotels. The ALARM is an innocent looking pull-cord in the shower... Well, at home, we have pull-cord switches in the bathroom for lights, fan heater, etc. So, naturally I pulled on this unlabeled cord in the hotel bathroom wondering what it's for... in the middle of taking a shower, sirens going off in the bedroom, that was frightful yet comical. No firefighters broke into our room to rescue me, so I guess it didn't alarm any hotel staff.
Overall, the room was clean, good size for an European hotel. The breakfast was okay for continental (small selection of hot food - don't expect a real full English). And the staff were generally pleasant. The bottled water in the mini bar fridge was surprisingly reasonably priced at 0.90 Euro. Had one dinner at the restaurant, didn't like the food.
I stayed at a bargain deal, so rating it as 4/5 overall. Had I paid its standard rate, I would've expected a lot more and this hotel would've been only maybe a 3 for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BU88LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Nice hotel with large rooms and very large and comfortable beds. Very helpful staff. Free parking and wifi. Breakfast quite rich with excellent coffee and warm croissants. Sometimes you have to wait 20 minutes to find a table to sit at the breakfast.
The refrigerator and the dryer were not operating normally.
The hotel is far from the city center but very close to the Airport Ciampino. With the shuttle bus takes 10 minutes to the metro station (Coli Albani) and from there to the city center about 20 minutes. The period we went to Rome the shuttle bus was not very often due to the Christmas holidays.
The main reason I chose this hotel was the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThanosRubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Genziana
#442 of 1,259 in Rome
124 reviews
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#544 of 1,259 in Rome
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#223 of 1,259 in Rome
628 reviews
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#560 of 1,259 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannelle

Property: Hotel Capannelle
Address: Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#273 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
250 guest rooms. Located just 9 km from downtown, 30 km from FIUMICINO airport and 4 km from CIAMPINO Airport, Shuttle bus service available. Complimentary off site car and pullman parking, on site parking for 280 cars available with a fee, 9 conference rooms with 2000 sqm of total meeting space, outdoor swimming pool and 500 sqm roof with a breathtaking city and Castelli Romani’s view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Capannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Roma Capannelle Rome
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing