We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value for Rome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Candia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Candia
Ranked #366 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location and value for Rome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We searched high and low for a reasonably priced place to stay in Rome and settled on Residence Candia. The location is very good. It's only a few blocks from a metro stop. You have to walk through a very busy intersection to get to it but there are cross walks. The area felt very safe. You can see the walls of the Vatican from the hotel.

Having a kitchen was a great way to save money. My husband says that the best meals he ate in all of Italy were the ones I prepared at Residence Candia. The kitchen was small but worked for a few days. It would be nice if they provided dish soap. They do provide dish towels. Maybe you'll get lucky and the previous guests will leave their dish soap like we did. There is a small grocery store about 2 blocks from the hotel with excellent produce and fresh meats. Take your own shopping bags though!

The biggest complaint we had was the staff. There was one young woman that was very friendly and helpful but the rest of the staff was pretty rude. They actually offered us a larger room initially with 3 single beds. My husband turned it down and opted for a smaller room with a queen because this was our honeymoon. That was a mistake. When he tried to see if the first room was still available only a few hours later, the guy at reception gave my husband a little bit of attitude instead of just saying that he had unfortunately given the room to someone else. The kitchen sink also stopped up and it took them about 15 hours to unclog it.

The room itself was small and there were a few dust bunnies in the corners. The bed's comforter was very thin. The WIFI is VERY slow and you have to go down to reception to use it. The rooftop terrace was very nice. We ate lunch up there twice.

So, bottom line, if you are planning to cook and want a safe neighborhood, then I'd give Residence Candia a shot. If you are looking for luxury, don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    179
    58
    22
    10
See reviews for
128
151
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were on block 4 overlooking the enclosed courtyard and had a superb room. It was bitterly cold outside when we arrived so were gald to find the room exteremely warm and comfortable. Spotlessly clean and well presented. Small kitchen and bathroom but every thing you need was there . Kitchen had fridge, hobs, oven, cutlery crockery etc. Supermarket only 2 minutes walk away so super for self catering. Bed very comforatble and large. Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Vatican square 10 minutes walk and the museums only 5 minutes. Metro one minute walk away.

Room Tip: Do ask to look at rooms before being allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The only good thing about this place was the position to the Vatican. The place was horrid, the first room we were shown to wasn't cleaned or made up from the previous occupants and too small to put our suitcases down. When we went back down to reception the comment we were given was "I don't own it, I only work here". No one cares who owns the place but you do expect staff to take some responsibility.
We were given a so called larger room, all this meant was that there was a bunk bed on top of ours so you couldn't sit up for fear of hitting your head and to get in and out you had to crawl from the foot. There was no space, floor or otherwise for our cases, nor was there any natural light.
I am sure there are better places to stay with more conscientious staff. Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at Residence Candia with one other person. Our room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again. The parking was great, the location is ok and check-in/check-out was quick and easy. The kitchenette area was perfect. I recommend going to the local market so you can fill up your refrigerator.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I booked three couples into the penthouse with terraces rooms at the Residence Candia. Brilliant choice. One downfall is the look of the neighbourhood. Of course that was deceiving.
This is an area of shops open late at night, great food markets, restaurants and a laudromat. Each room is unique and we enjoyed comparing what was available in each room.
Cleaning was done each day, free WiFi Internet, extremely helpful staff 24 hr a day. They made transfer arrangements for us, answered questions, showed us on the map where we wanted to go and even advised us each morning on the weather conditions to where we had booked tours.
The tour companies and transfer companies come right into the building to call for you. Great convenience over meeting on a corner in the early morning dark.

The very best was the comfort of the beds. We had been on a 14 day river cruise and thought those beds were perfect, but the beds here at Residence Candia were excellent.

One room had a problem with no hot water and the staff were there within 10 minutes and had it fixed. That is another plus.

Perfect location to the Vatican and the Tiber River. If travelling with friends it is ideal to be able to visit and make a cup of tea in a room where 6 people can sit and be comfortable. Add the pleasant and helpful staff, very clean rooms, walking distance to the metro, Vatican, shops, restaurants, market, laudromat and feel safe, it is a 9.9 to me.

PS the safe was over the bed and difficult to get to in our room, but it was there

I will refer guests to the Residence Candia with high praise.

Room Tip: There are rooms for singles and families. They are not as big as some people expect, but they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very good location and near the Metro station. Its easy to get around from this hotel. Regarding the hotel , its clean and comfortable. As it is located slightly off the city centre, things and food can be less expensive here.
There is a great seafood restaurant a short distance fromthe hotel, Soto Di Mare on Via Tunisi. Nothing had been written on it yet on TA. The seafood is excellent.We ate there three nights in a row. Price-very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is the worst hotel in which I've ever stayed in my life. My room was set up as if it were a holding cell for people escaping from a dire situation. I wanted very much to escape from this hotel, but it was just too late in the evening and we were much too tired.

The photos on the hotel website do not reflect reality. The residence is under renovation, so there are exposed electrical wires and a general feel of griminess.

The only good things about this hotel are: proximity to the Vatican and the metro. Beyond these two things, there is absolutely noting good this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Sotto La Cupola Guest House
#486 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Residence Prati
#584 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Museum
#488 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#503 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#194 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Candia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Candia

Property: Residence Candia
Address: Via Candia 135 B, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Candia 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Candia is within the sound of the Vatican bells and just a five minute stroll from the Vatican Museum (and the Sistine Chapel). Located in a quintessentially Roman neighborhood complete with cinemas, restaurants, cafes, an open-air market, and shops of all sorts. There is convenient access to city buses and the subway just a few hundred meters from the Residence Candia. Residence Candia consists of apartments that have been recently renovated and provide all comforts for a pleasant stay for just a few days or a few weeks. For the same price of a Bed & Breakfast Residence Candia provides regular hotel-level services, such as daily cleaning. Apartments are available with one(studio), two three or four rooms with the larger apartments accommodating up to eight people with multiple bathrooms. The top floor also boasts a number of penthouse suites with a beautiful view of the dome of St. Peter's Cathedral. Each apartment has its own bathroom and is equipped with kitchenette, TV(SKY), and air conditioning. On-premise parking is available free of charge for hotel guests until spaces are full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Candia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Candia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing