We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Candia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
145
194
62
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
194
62
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvatican museumcipro metro stationgreat locationstudying abroadclose to the vaticansecond homebedroom apartmentgelatowell equipped kitchensafe neighborhoodstay there againstayed here for one nightrooftop patiotiber riverhelpful with directionsspoke good englishcity tax
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were on block 4 overlooking the enclosed courtyard and had a superb room. It was bitterly cold outside when we arrived so were gald to find the room exteremely warm and comfortable. Spotlessly clean and well presented. Small kitchen and bathroom but every thing you need was there . Kitchen had fridge, hobs, oven, cutlery crockery etc. Supermarket only 2 minutes walk away so super for self catering. Bed very comforatble and large. Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Vatican square 10 minutes walk and the museums only 5 minutes. Metro one minute walk away.

Room Tip: Do ask to look at rooms before being allocated
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The only good thing about this place was the position to the Vatican. The place was horrid, the first room we were shown to wasn't cleaned or made up from the previous occupants and too small to put our suitcases down. When we went back down to reception the comment we were given was "I don't own it, I only work here". No one cares who owns the place but you do expect staff to take some responsibility.
We were given a so called larger room, all this meant was that there was a bunk bed on top of ours so you couldn't sit up for fear of hitting your head and to get in and out you had to crawl from the foot. There was no space, floor or otherwise for our cases, nor was there any natural light.
I am sure there are better places to stay with more conscientious staff. Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at Residence Candia with one other person. Our room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again. The parking was great, the location is ok and check-in/check-out was quick and easy. The kitchenette area was perfect. I recommend going to the local market so you can fill up your refrigerator.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I booked three couples into the penthouse with terraces rooms at the Residence Candia. Brilliant choice. One downfall is the look of the neighbourhood. Of course that was deceiving.
This is an area of shops open late at night, great food markets, restaurants and a laudromat. Each room is unique and we enjoyed comparing what was available in each room.
Cleaning was done each day, free WiFi Internet, extremely helpful staff 24 hr a day. They made transfer arrangements for us, answered questions, showed us on the map where we wanted to go and even advised us each morning on the weather conditions to where we had booked tours.
The tour companies and transfer companies come right into the building to call for you. Great convenience over meeting on a corner in the early morning dark.

The very best was the comfort of the beds. We had been on a 14 day river cruise and thought those beds were perfect, but the beds here at Residence Candia were excellent.

One room had a problem with no hot water and the staff were there within 10 minutes and had it fixed. That is another plus.

Perfect location to the Vatican and the Tiber River. If travelling with friends it is ideal to be able to visit and make a cup of tea in a room where 6 people can sit and be comfortable. Add the pleasant and helpful staff, very clean rooms, walking distance to the metro, Vatican, shops, restaurants, market, laudromat and feel safe, it is a 9.9 to me.

PS the safe was over the bed and difficult to get to in our room, but it was there

I will refer guests to the Residence Candia with high praise.

Room Tip: There are rooms for singles and families. They are not as big as some people expect, but they are adequate. There are plenty of cooking utensils, stove, microwave, fridge, dishes, electric kettle, but no conventional North American coffee pots.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very good location and near the Metro station. Its easy to get around from this hotel. Regarding the hotel , its clean and comfortable. As it is located slightly off the city centre, things and food can be less expensive here.
There is a great seafood restaurant a short distance fromthe hotel, Soto Di Mare on Via Tunisi. Nothing had been written on it yet on TA. The seafood is excellent.We ate there three nights in a row. Price-very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews