We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome in October”
Review of Hotel Ivanhoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ivanhoe
Ranked #276 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just back from 4 nights in Rome. We had a fabulous time and just loved Rome. Hotel is a perfect base to see all the sights. Staff could not be more pleasant and helpful. Pleasantly surprised at the cost of food and drink. Ate twice at the resturant just up the hill next to the hotel on a recommendation from the reception staff. Gave us a card and we got 10% off the bill. It was fabulous and at the end they just sat the shots bottle down and we helped ourselves. Lovely food and reasonably priced. Antonio the night porter was fun and we enjoyed his slightly "eccentric" sense of humour. Breakfast was basic but fresh and was enough to get us started on our trips. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susbellquig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

This year we brought a small tour group to stay. The staff accomodated our special requests. The hotel cleanliness, location and breakfast make this an affordable sleeping place in Roma.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMayEatery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel has good location (Monti) which is not so touristy yet close to everything as you can walk to all the major attractions and enjoy the strolling. I walked from it as far as to Vatican City and Trastevere.

Room itself is very simple and very very small, yet I only stayed in it for a sleep, so cannot complain much,
Breakfast is also very basic

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I was here during March and I forgot to add my two cents. I stayed here for 4 nights throughout a week in Rome. This placed was referred to me by an Irish bartender I met who was living in Rome at the time. First off, Via Urbana is a quaint, nook of Rome that is not heavily touristed. You shouldn’t come across too many street vendors or all that crap you see around the main train station. Right around the corner is the metro and you can hop on there to go to the Vatican area. Otherwise, everything is walking distance. I walked from Ivanhoe to the Coliseum and it took about 20 minutes. 30 to Trevi and the Steps. About an hour and a bit to the Vatican which was an amazing walk.
The staff here were quite good. They at first charged me 50 Euro on a Sunday and on the Tuesday they charged me 60. I told them I stayed here on Sunday and you charged me 50. They accepted 50 for the Tuesday night but I felt they didn’t really want to. Coming and going was not a problem, the place is about a ten minute walk from Termini. There is a nice coffee shop right next to the hotel. There are fantastic restaurants around especially the one directly across the street (Urbana 47). Eat there for sure, pricy but absolutely delicious.
The rooms weren’t the biggest but they were clean and comfortable. The shower tubs are completely messed up just like what the other travellers are saying. Picture half of a bath tub that slants upwards and a slanting ceiling with a human body scrunched in between. Other than that, this place is great for the price. The breakfast was basic but came with the price of the room. Get your coffee and cereal and get out to travel around Rome. Not too far in both directions on the street are two Irish pubs. I recommend the one towards Cavour station. The other one was a bit of a dive. If I were back in Rome I would stay in this area for sure once again. I was packing solo and staying here, not a great place to meet other people but a great place to crash.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOFlyHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed 6 nights in room 41 and I enjoyed it very much. The bed was comfortable, clean and the bathroom was huge. It is a basic hotel and the breakfast is simple. If you want luxury it is not for you. But the roof terrace, location are hard to beat. The staff was very friendly. I stayed in a hotel with a much higher rating in the same street before but the bed was too uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Unbelievably bad. My travel Agent will get a rocket.
Small room, no wardrobes, smallest bathroom and toilet I have ever seen. Shower base was absolutely a joke. When sitting on the toilet , ones knees were under the hand basin. Small double bed with a paper thin mattress. No clock, airconditioning did not work, television did not work, room alongside the lift ( noisy) and worst of all the window had to be open during the night. No room for overseas travellers with luggage.
An adjacent very busy cobble stone roadway was noisy all night.
Breakfast included??? No juice ( run out) no toast ( toaster broken) no COFFEE ( coffee machine broken and the the Lady had no idea of English. NEVER TO RETURN

AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Experience elderly traveller from overseas

Room Tip: Seek referrals from friends and not Travel Agents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maxwellgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

+ Fantastic location (Close to Coliseo, Forum, Palatin, Trevi Fountain...)
+ Great Staff.
+ Next to Cavour Metro Station.
+ Lots of restaurants and bars around.
+ Clean and well equiped rooms. (Rooms were small, especially the shower)

- Bathroom shower was NOT, NOT, NOT great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kapuchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#340 of 1,269 in Rome
423 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,269 in Rome
929 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#94 of 1,269 in Rome
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#131 of 1,269 in Rome
1,118 reviews
Monti
The K Boutique Hotel
The K Boutique Hotel
#730 of 1,269 in Rome
19 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#95 of 1,269 in Rome
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivanhoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivanhoe

Address: Via Dei Ciancaleoni 49 | Via Urbana 92a, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Rome
#193 Family Hotel in Rome
#266 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $89 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivanhoe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ivanhoe Rome is a cosy and comfortable 3 star hotel where travelers will find all the amenities they require at great prices as well as elegant and genuinely good quality internal design, modern fixtures and home comforts – all in a great location in an old Roman neighbourhood in the city centre.The hotel is a short walk from the Colosseum and the Imperial Forums and few steps from the metro that will take you to the remaining sites easily reached using the city’s public transport system.Located in Monti, Rome’s first district, full of hidden surprises and without a doubt, the “most Roman”. It is a gathering spot for budding artists, where traditional shops are flanked by neo-designer shops, vintage boutiques and organic markets. The 24 guest rooms are fitted with telephone and free Wi-Fi Internet, air-conditioning, minibars and cable TV, focusing on quiet and comfort rather than gadgetry. Guest services are often attended to by 24 h hotel staff. We focus on the guest and on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting.Privilege reserved for our guests is the use of the rooftop terrace where you can relax before dinner while enjoying the wonderful view and a tasty aperitif or where to start your day with a delicious breakfast when the weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ivanhoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing