We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but an Italian Basil Fawlty on reception!!!!”

Hotel Monteverde & Austria
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monteverde & Austria
Ranked #982 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but an Italian Basil Fawlty on reception!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked this hotel as we planned, as a foursome, to sightsee in Rome. The hotel had no parking so a bit difficult but we managed. It looks nothing from the outside, set back off the street. But once inside it is very clean and nice, and when we were shown to our rooms we were very pleasantly surprised. The room is quite large, very clean, nice bedding and towels, changed daily. However, several things left a lot to be desired. I had read several reviews previous to booking in, about how nice the Austrian lady owner is, and the staff etc. Unfortunately the nice Austrian lady owner was nowhere to be seen, and we just had a surly unhelpful elderly man, who wouldn't even lift his head in the morning to say hello. He was not at all helpful, and didn't put himself out at all....even to the point of NOT OPENING THE BAR. The little bar was there alright, but in darkness. Not once in the 5 days we were there did he open it. The breakfast was very meagre, rolls, jam and sweet croissant. Served by a very nice polite ?Thai lady, who couldn't do enough for us. We could have done with a mini-bar in the room due to not being able to have a drink in the hotel. So apart from the lack of mini-bar, Basil Fawlty on reception, and no bar to have a drink in, the stay was quite good. Not sure I would stay there again though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
5
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in august .. We were pleastanly surprised .. We had room 307 which was situated at the front of the building had our own small balcony... Room was big enough very clean, air con, shutters which kept the room dark and made it easy to sleep in ... Although it was not in the heart of Rome, the tram stop was a two minute walk at end of street ...we would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinicoopMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I visit Rome, Italy every two years. Hotel Monteverde is a very clean and basic hotel, reasonable rates, friendly service, wifi, tv, and close to the tram, just cross the street, and you're there. The tram takes you to the center of Rome (a very short ride), where you can easily walk to the Colisseum and Piazza Venezia, or take the buses to the these places as well as to the Vatican. Very easy to get around in Rome with buses and trams. Hotels in the center of Rome charge much more, so it's worth it to stay at Hotel Monteverde. Very safe and clean area. Hotel has no pool, and no parking. Parking is on the street - just like the romans do. Breakfast is very basic - rolls with butter and jam, packaged croissants, and coffee and excellent cappucino.. Rome is an amazing city, with lots to do and discover. Will stay there again - staff is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We recently stayed here for 9 nights in one of the larger rooms for three. Needed to be near my daughter who was studying at the American University for the semester. As others stated, it is clean, spacious and the owners are pleasant and helpful. Rolls are great, but get monotonous after a few days. Tram is very convenient. Seems like it comes every 2 minutes. Stops at Trastevere, where we ate half the time. If back in Rome, would definitely book again.

Room Tip: If you are three, ask for room 307.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecartrips2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We were sent here upon the recommedation of a local. The hotel is small, quiet, clean and in a true Roman area. The breakfast is nothing special , just rolls and coffee, but that is often typical of European hotels.The rooms are moderately sized with large bathrooms.Although not located within walking distance of the city center, there is a tram stop at the corner, making the city easily accessible.
I would stay here again and highly recommend it for value, comfort and most of all cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Very clean, great staff and good value. The owners are from Austria, and really have created a nice, clean and safe hotel. The tram stop is just at the top of the hill. The tram runs about every 10 minutes and takes you right into the center of Rome (a 7 day pass is about 11 euro, if I remember correctly and available at most news stands). There is also an internet and phone shop just outside the entrance to the hotel. Calls back to the states are really inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgetmanNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuusankoski, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2009

This was the fourth time in this lovely hotel. Also our teenagers loved it. Very clean, very friendly, extremely helpful staff, delicious breakfast, reasonable price, good location-the tram takes you to the centre very conveniently in about 10-15 minutes. Will defenitely be back again!

  • Liked — friendliness, tidiness, location
  • Disliked — no balcony this time
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moltobuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gianicolense
V99 Hotel
V99 Hotel
#1,112 of 1,258 in Rome
4 reviews
Monteverde
Ponte Bianco
Ponte Bianco
#1,023 of 1,258 in Rome
111 reviews
Monteverde
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#440 of 1,258 in Rome
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#179 of 1,258 in Rome
285 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#123 of 1,258 in Rome
321 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#50 of 1,258 in Rome
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteverde & Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteverde & Austria

Property: Hotel Monteverde & Austria
Address: Via di Monte Verde 86, 00151 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monteverde & Austria 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monteverde & Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monteverde Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing