We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of Hotel Artorius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Artorius
Ranked #294 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. The location was pretty convenient, pretty central to everything. The hotel itself wasn't bad, the bathrooms were modern and the size of the rooms were ok. We didn't have a terrace but didn't find it necessary for we were out all the time seeing the sights. The staff were ok. We felt that Allessandro was the only genuinely friendly person there. It helped to see him in the mornings. Lucca was ok but we didn't quite get much help with recommendations for restaurants, bars, etc. It was a good thing I did my research already so had some ideas to work off. Maybe it was because we were there at the end of August but we thought that there were more restaurant/bar options in other areas of Rome. A lot of places around the hotel were closed. Taking the tram was easy so not a big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonfoodie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

Can't praise this hotel highly enough. It has real character and charm. It's location is perfect, close but not too close to the Colosseum and Ancient Rome, near quaint shops and wonderful cafes. The staff are all wonderfully helpful and kind and the breakfasts delicious. Give me this real Roman experience any time over a big impersonal hotel.
I visited with my 16 year old daughter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsensuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We just got back from Italy and were extremely satisfied with the service, location and cleanliness of this hotel. Without exception, every staff member was friendly, helpful and contributed greatly to our Rome experience. The rooms were immaculate, well air conditioned and spotless. The breakfast garden is fantastic and the breakfast was one of the best that we had while in Italy. Finally, the location was superb. Right off of a major road with banks, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. We managed to walk to and from the sites with our 10 year old and the metro was just minutes away. The best part was how quiet the location is. Great choice for a hectic city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radio105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August and were very impressed with the hotel. About a 15 walk from Termini station but would recommend using the metro to Cavour.
The hotel is in a quiet side street within easy walking distance of the Colloseum and other major attractions.
The room was very comfortable and clean with good air conditioning. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The area where breakfast is served is very comfortable and relaxing and the service was very good.

Would defininately recommend for a short stay in this beautiful city

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwforceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here before a cruise in May. It was a fantastic pick. The room was a little small, but we don't spend much time in our room when we travel. The service was great, especially during breakfast. Make sure to get a cappuccino! The location is really close to the Colosseum too. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Rome again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizEWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We spent three nights here and were very pleased with our choice. The staff catered to our every need (calling taxis, making restaurant reservations, etc.) and many sites were withing easy walking distance. Breakfast was above average. Room size was good (we had a triple), and the updated bathroom was a big plus. Bed were firm, by our usual standards, but we had no trouble sleeping. AC worked great, and sound proofing was excellent. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kms4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights in Mid-May. The first impressions of the Hotel were good as we arrived, although due to road works the taxi didn't drop us particularly near so we needed the map to find it. We just got a 40 Euro taxi from Fluminco Airport, but the central train station is not far away either.

The staff were perfectly nice and spoke reasonable English. The room wasn’t huge, but perfectly adequate and clean. The bathroom was very nice for a hotel of this standard and was a good size also. It was 35C+ for the time we were there, but fortunately the air conditioning worked without any issues!

The only down side was a noisy air conditioning unit right outside the window, but the window was sufficiently sound proofed to keep most of the noise out at night so it wasn't too bad. But in fairness to the hotel, in compensation for having a noisy unit right outside your window, you do get a roof terrace! I don't think any of the other rooms had a terrace from what I could see, and it was a really nice bonus to be able to sit outside with an ice cream after a long day hiking around before heading out in the evening.

Location wise, the hotel is excellently situated for all the major attractions. The Vatican was a fair old trek considering the heat, particularly if you climb the Cupola as well as we did, but I'm not particularly fit and survived OK. You can always get a taxi I guess. The Borghese museum and gallery is also a fair old walk to the north, but again it's quite manageable from the hotel (whatever you do, don't miss it - it's not hard to see why they say it's the favourite museum for Romans today).

There are many restaurants and bars nearby; finding somewhere nice to eat and drink isn't too difficult and I think everywhere we went had an English menu. There's also a mini-supermarket almost directly opposite the hotel which is very useful for stocking up on bottled water.

Overall we had a really nice stay in this hotel and saw all the sights that we wanted to see, so no complaints at all really! I would definitely stay again if we went back to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astuteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
748 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#138 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#419 of 1,271 in Rome
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#207 of 1,271 in Rome
482 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#238 of 1,271 in Rome
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artorius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artorius

Address: Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#136 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artorius 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artorius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artorius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing