We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Independence Square
Ranked #1,557 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good for the price!”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very good option for us since we were on a budget. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean and was never a problem. It is not too far from Termini Station but not too close because around Termini can be a little scary. We felt safe coming back to the hotel even late at night. Although, make sure to get good directions. When we first arrived and were looking for the hotel, we thought we were lost but we had just walked right past it because the sign for the hotel is tiny. We were happy with our experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    64
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
70
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The owner Gianluca was really kind and helpful! The morning recepcionist was kinda rude but he was ok...
The hotel is located 5 blocks away from Termini Station which is great coz all trains arrive and leave from there. I walked everywhere but The Vatican City (Gotta take the subway) Colosseum and Roman Forum is about 15 min walk.
The area is not bad and it was safe at night, I walked every night and nothing happened.
The hotel is on the 2nd floor and breakfast on 1st floor (No lift) that seems to be very common in Rome, but if you travel with old people or to much luggage might be a problem...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochileroburgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

£39 B&B per night.
Great location for sites as Termini is main train station and where blue and red metro lines cross. Pino was the manager he was great (American/Italian) great help with sites and restaurant places.
The rooms were simple clean and basic. We had a room with a balcony. Shower room is modern. At night it can be a tad noisy with guests coming in and out.
I needed an extra pillow and towel for the shower room-this was no bother to Pino :)

I love nice food and fancy places... And I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinny90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We happened to be staying during the Papal Beatification & were very lucky to get accommodation in such an excellent location. Having spoken to other accommodation providers, they agreed with our asumption of luck.
Stayed in a room with private ensuite & whilst we mentioned to the owners re flooding of shower, I get the feeling that this isn't a quick fix problem.
The room was away from the street, so very quiet.
Staff and service couldn't be faulted.
Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again, for the price and service

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_m2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Overview: We stayed for only 1 night but certainly felt it was a place suitable for longer stay. The owner was helpful and accommodating, allowing us to deposit our luggage with him early in the morning at 9am. When we were back in the evening, our luggage was already neatly placed in the room.
Room: The room came with a basin, fan and TV and can be considered relatively spacious. The double bed is made up of two single beds joined together but was decent. The shared toilet/shower was clean and had hot water. Breakfast would be served from 8am onwards. I can't comment on the breakfast as we had to set off early. Free wifi.
Location: Near the Termini station, about 10-15mins walk with luggage. Quite easy to find.

The owner also operated the restaurant below and he would give a discount for hotel customers.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Date of stay: April 11-13, 2011.
Duration of stay: 3 nights.
Place: The Michelangelo's house (apartment for 4 people).
My family and I we are fully satisfied of our 3-nigths stay on this apartment. We were able to check-in early and store our bags before get access to the apartment. The apartment is at walking distance from supermarkets, the local “mercato”, many restaurants, coffees and shops. The Vatican Museum is just few minutes away. In the first floor of the same building we may find a very good Mexican Rest called “La Cucaracha”.
Gianluca is a great hostess. highly recommended.

Room Tip: Talk to Gianluca Iarussi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We arrived at Rome Termini station quite late (almost midnight) and told the hostel so beforehand. We had just turned on to via Castelfidardo when all of the sudden a man squatting on the side of the street said out of no where "are you XXX"? And yes we were! He was waiting to check us in. He helped us with our bags up the stairs to our room and told us we could pay in the morning. Our triple room was just as we expected from the pictures we saw online.

Later in the morning, we were welcomed with a simple breakfast of coffee and croissants from Pino, who spoke excellent English and was very charming. The breakfast room only accommodated about 5 people so you had to wait your turn. He told us the hotel's wifi key, to watch out for pickpockets and wished us well on our adventures. He also answered our queries about booking train tickets as best he could.

The hostel is on the 2nd floor, while the first floor is a restaurant. It's located near the train station but is also pleasantly away from the hustle and bustle. Not bad at all!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank endlesswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#731 of 1,259 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,259 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Stella's House
Stella's House
#2,561 of 3,669 in Rome
31 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Giustiniani
Residenza Giustiniani
#2,728 of 3,669 in Rome
15 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B 2012
B&B 2012
#579 of 3,669 in Rome
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Property: Independence Square
Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,557 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Independence Square 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing