We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Brilliant find, stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Re di Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Re di Roma
Ranked #139 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 721 helpful votes
“Brilliant find, stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We couldn't find any negatives with Re Di Roma, the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good english, we were served tea with delicious biscuits after checking out, free wifi and internet in lobby, rooms tastefully decorated and comfortable with a balcony, and the location is dead quiet yet within easy reach of the hustle and bustle of Rome (by metro, 2mins walk).

Couple to this was the fact the hotel was a relative bargain and there are numerous restaurants and a McDs 8mins walk away, and there's simply no reason to look anywhere else when in Rome!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    522
    72
    5
    3
See reviews for
219
683
42
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was base for a 3 day whirlwind trip of Rome. Great little hotel with among the friendliest staff I have ever met. Room was nice and clean. Small bathroom but it had a tub! There were some very personal touches that went a long way.

It was raining one day and they had left an assortment of umbrellas at the front desk...pick one up, go sightseeing and bring at back at the end of the day! Our checked bags didn't show up and the front desk staff hounded the airline and the baggage handling office with phone calls every day, and gave us progress report when we came back in the evening.

Metro stop Re di Roma is a 5-7 minute walk, and then you can pretty much travel to any major sight within 30 mins max.

And the room was less than $100/day. What a deal!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProverbialYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I recently stayed in the Re Di Roma for 5 nights for a city break to Rome. Having received overpriced recommendations for other hotels in and around the city, I decided to do some research of my own, set a budget and then checked the reviews for the hotels I could afford. I stumbled across the Re Di Roma and it seemed too good to be true, but I decided to take a chance and went for it and i'm so glad we did!

There is a train that goes directly to the Leonardo Da Vinci airport and for €8 you can get to the hotel very easily. You have the option of taking the train to the Termini, then get on the metro to the Re Di Roma stop which is literally at the end of the street or alternatively, get off at Tuscolana and it's a short walk to the hotel.

The hotel itself is very boutique-like, stylish and modern, it really is quite pleasant and quite a contrast to the rustic, historic city of Rome.

We checked in and got shown to our room which was on the 1st floor. The room wasn't huge but it was big enough for us, there's plenty of storage space, a mini fridge, complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and the safe is free to use. Breakfast is provided on a morning consisting of fruit, yoghurt, bread, meats, cheese, pastries and cereal as well as tea, coffee and juice.

Rooms are equipped with sky television but most of the channels are pre-set to Italian, however, if the information box has a language option, you can change it to English and still manage to watch things!

The road outside the hotel is fairly busy so if you go to sleep at night I wouldn't advise opening the window if you're a light sleeper but the rooms have air conditioning to help with this!

There is a box for each room behind the reception desk so you can leave your room key there if you don't feel like carrying it round everyday and the staff are really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshireWeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is very modern and well furnished, our room was basic but very clean and provided everything we needed. The only negative we can think of is there are no English channels included on the TV and the walls of the room must be quite thin as you could hear the people next door, however it was not really an annoyance at any point. Fresh towels were provided daily and the breakfast was a basic continental but perfectly adequate. The staff were exceptionally helpful and were more than happy to offer advice about navigating around the city. The hotel is about a 2 min walk to the metro which we used regularly as it is about a 20 min walk to the Colosseum and about 30-40 min walk to the city center. If you do walk in to the city look out for the san giovanni basillica en route...its a magnificent church to wander around! We bought a three day ticket from the tobacconist shop opposite the hotel which gave us complete access to all the buses, trains and trams whilst we were there. We also made use of the number 87 bus which runs from a road nearby (about a 10min walk from the hotel) and took us close to campo de fuiri (near piaza navona) in the center of the city past the Colosseum. They do not run as regularly as the metro however and can be busy so watch out for pick pockets! The hotel provides a map of the city which we used consistently throughout our trip and can also arrange tours etc.They can also arrange transfers to the airport, however we got the train direct from fumicino to tuscolana station which was about a 10 min walk from the hotel and had no problems at all. I would avoid getting the fast train to the termini and changing there to get the metro to the re di roma stop as it is incredibly busy and you have to negotiate a lot of escalators! If you get the direct train aim for the corridor seating along the train rather than the seats of 4 as its easier to keep your luggage with you without getting in the way! It costs 8 euros each way for the train and you cant use the travel card for the Rome transport on these trains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vickie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed two nights at this very clean, modernized hotel an a quieter neighborhhood a couple of miles southeast of the main city center. Hotel Re di Roma is about 1/2 a block from the Re di Roma metro station on the A line and very easy to find if you exit through the Via Vercelli access tunnel. As you exit the terminal, the hotel is half way up the street on the left side. Just look for the building with the red trimmed windows and red front door. Since the hotel is located in a residential area, nearby dining choices are few. Ask the front desk for directions to Baldus restaurant. It was recommended to us by the lovely front desk person Alora and is only 2-3 blocks away. I whole heartedly second her recommendation.
Back to the hotel. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, free wi-fi, substantial continental breakfast servered every morning with a good selection of the basic pastries, fruit, yogurt, meat and cheeses and a coffee machine that will serve anything from hot chocolate to cappaccino to "American" coffee. They have a nice lounge area by the front desk and a small bar area if you would like a pre-dinner cocktail. Excellent and attentive staff, clean, modern, spacious rooms, quiet location (except for the occasional ambulance or police siren) close to public transportation with easy access to anywhere in Rome and best of all an excellent value for the moderate room rate. I highly recommended Hotel Re di Roma as they live up to their terrific reviews on TripAdvisor and all other positive website reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steveo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed hear for three night. Beds-firm, breakfast-standard continental, room-clean, location-right next to a metro station which is about 8 stops from the vatican and hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the colosseum, Shower-very good, just what you need after along day sight seeing. Staff-pleasant and fluent in english and very good at recommending places to visit and eat. Prices-good value especially for location and that it's ROME!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, free wifi with a great connection on my iPad (there is a computer in the lobby as well). Fair breakfast. The beds were good and the bathroom was normal. The rooms were renovated. Far from tourist points, but only a 2min walk to the metro station. Not attractive neighborhood. Would stay here again, fair price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Chroma Pente
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#108 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#90 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re di Roma

Property: Hotel Re di Roma
Address: Via Vercelli 21, 00182 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#79 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#106 Business Hotel in Rome
#113 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Re di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Re di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Di Roma Hotel
Re Di Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing