We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glass Hostaria

Glass Hostaria
Ranked #433 of 12,155 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$76
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Description: Glass Hostaria restaurant in Rome’s Trastevere quarter is an eye-full for lovers of superhot modern design. Set in one of Rome’s oldest, most atmospheric neighbourhoods, Glass Hostaria’s fabulous high-concept dining space with its soaring ceilings, open staircase, part-glass floor, sleek seating and stunning gold-filled niches contrasted with raw brick pillars and original beamed ceiling has won accolades and international attention. The Italian menu under the direction of Cristina Bowerman is an inventive balance of then and now, with dishes like starter of foie gras with caramelized bananas (yes, that’s right) and brioche, first course of risotto with oysters, crème fraîche and crunchy artichokes, second course of pork filet with quinoa, smoked tomatoes and orange sauce, and dessert of chocolate cake with rosemary ice cream. The tasting menus are good value and the wine list has over six hundred labels on offer. Hire of this venue would make a superb site for stylish launches or sophisticated parties. The service is excellent and, after dinner, Glass Hostaria turns into a wine bar, so you can linger on and on.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Everything at this restaurant was truly perfect. From the wonderful service to the incredible food. Staff were so accommodating, approachable and friendly despite our prior reservations that this place may be a little too 'fancy' and perhaps snobby. We were pleasantly surprised that although the food and wine are of the highest class, the atmosphere is really very down to earth. Everything we ate there was beautifully presented and we agreed that it was, by far, the best meal that my partner and I have ever had.
Yes the prices are quite high but this is not somewhere i would go regularly. I was celebrating my 21st birthday when we went so the prices were fine for the occasion and, we thought, were fair for the service and food quality received.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    225
    100
    66
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A taste wizard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We ate here twice in two months and took the full nine course tasting menu both times.
Atmosphere is modern and relaxed, service is capable and friendly, and relaxed as well. Chef Cristina Bowerman, who has worked in various parts of the world, enthousiastically recognizes returning customers. She is a wizard with taste combinations.

Every course is absolutely original work of culinary art. The second time already 5 of them had been changed. Sensational compositions of taste, served in a mimimalistic way on wonderful plates. For example the cured sea bass with sichuan pepper, edemame, green apple and horseradish granite brings tears to one's eyes, with a Quartz Sauvignon as the perfect wine with it. The dessert: yogurt semifreddo with verbena oil and sprout, fortunately continued from last time, is an equal explosion of taste.
Expansive and top notch wine list. Prepare for not having coffee, but great petit fours all the same.
We will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bati64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The highlight of our visit to Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This restaurant is the equal of many charging similar or higher prices in London. I enjoyed our visit so much and it was a soothing haven away from the frantic life of Rome.

The building is stylish as you would imagine and located in buzzing Trastevere, so perfect for a pre-dinner drink. We opted for the 65 Euro tasting menu and were thrilled with our choice. There was another, more expensive tasting menu but we preferred the options on the first one and often struggle to finish tasting menus.

Everything was elegant, stylish and relaxed, including the incredibly attentive service in impeccable English. Welcome drinks, bible of wine (I needed quite a lot of help with choice) and nibbles all provided. What I particularly liked about wine choice was that I was pointed in the direction of a cheaper bottle than I named my price range, rather than slightly more expensive. Not the usual experience.

As often happens with tasting menus, although the portions are vey dainty, I was stuffed by the end of the meal. I really liked the option to choose your own dessert at the end. There was nothing we ate that I didn't think was fantastic but I particularly enjoyed the sumac encrusted lamb. It is not what you might call traditional Italian as it references Asian and Middle Eastern cooking but this does not detract from the experience.

At the end, the chef came round, which was a lovely touch. I hope we conveyed to her just how much we enjoyed the experience. Especially the bill, which translated to about £134.00 when I got the credit card bill in the UK. In my opinion, that's pretty bargainous for Michelin dining. If I were ever in Rome again, I would definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food in an elegant decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you are looking for good and original dishes in Trastevere this is the place for you.
The menu varies with the season with a great attention to the ingredients and to the preparations. The staff is attentive and professional, they can give you good suggestions for the wine (they have a good list of Italian wines) and for a final decision among the many attractive offers in the menu. Desserts are wonderful and the atmosphere delightful!.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moorriiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bencomum
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was fantastic food.I'm used to trying Michelin starred places and I really appreciated the menu here. A real pleasure.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bencomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Hostaria also viewed

 

Been to Glass Hostaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing