We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Vatican Museums
from US$25.70
More Info
from US$35.76
More Info
from US$60.43
More Info
from US$66.59
More Info
Reviews (38,952)
Filter reviews
38,952 results
Traveller rating
23,980
8,066
3,696
1,667
1,543
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23,980
8,066
3,696
1,667
1,543
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sistine chapel guided tour skip the line in advance map room vatican website raphael rooms own pace buy your tickets three hours works of art long line take your time wait in line dress code st peters visiting rome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8,518 - 8,523 of 38,952 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

We took a guided tour which was well worth the money. We learned a ton of historical information, as well as the many stories behind the pictures, rooms, and buildings. We were able to go through in less than 4 hours, and the crowd was really my too heavy in the afternoon. St Peters was the highlight!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank K7158JOrogerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

The Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel are fantastic to see. So glad we went. I had read about the 2 to 4 hour waits in line but decided to give this a whirl with my family of four anyway. We did not book a tour and we did not book our tickets in advance. We said no to the hawkers trying to sell us tours while we waited in line. We went early in the morning on a Thursday. We were in line at 8:00am and the line was not huge yet. The entrance opens at 9:00am. At 9:00am we entered, went through security, then upstairs to buy our tickets *Note, our kids, one is14 and the other a 19 year old university student are half price if they show student ID* and then we were in. Walking through the museums. Yes, lots of people, yes, tours are good if you like that, but we got in on our own with no hassle and not much wait time. When we left in the afternoon, the line up was long (and hot). Early in the morning, it was cool and shady.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 493lesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

The roof of the entire museum like most basilicas are outstanding detailed and one wonders how on earth it was done in their time age. However, the rest of the museum after our opinion was boring because of the repetiveness of the same art. During the end we almost ran for the exit because it felt like we have already seen everything 10 times. In addition, the massive queues and amount of people there i will advise you to pre-order tickets, go without a guide and visit early or late. Also, do not(!) Listen to a word any salesman says as the will decieve you into upgrading your pre-ordered ticket or into buying a tour tour.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Jørgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

We used the omnia pass giving us quick access.

If you are considering the audio tour guide I would throughly recommend purchasing the device at a cost of 7 euros each gives you an indepth description of everything you see.

Thousands of rare artefacts and paintings.

Be prepared for a lot of walking so comfortable shoes are a must

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Celebrated my daughter's 19 birthday in Rome with a visit to the museum. Wonderful. Beautiful tapestries snd cieling paintings. Well preserved artifacts. Worth the skip the lne tickets.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Jesjoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews