We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent 3 star”
Review of NH Ancona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Ancona
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ancona
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel probably used to be a 4 stars, but in fact it is clearly a 3 one.I had a tiny room with a single bed, shower and bathroom were tiny too... Overall it is far to be bad, but don't expect anything very classy and nice.

For those who have appointments at the port the location is pretty good, you are just in front of it, but it is not too noisy. One other thing: you can park your car for free just in front of the hotel, always a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

On arrival the room was so smelly we had to open the windows, however as it was quite cold it simply wasn't possible to leave them open. The room is a good size, but seems expensive for what it is. I don't think its 4 star, but its not a terrible hotel, its just very average. Walking distance to city centre. Best part was the wonderful sunset :) The WIFI is located in the lobby and is the slowest "fast broadband" I have ever used - definitely dial up speed. But free, so hard to complain on that level. However, frustrating that it only lasts 30 mins since its so slow it takes a while to do anything and you have to keep asking for more passwords and time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Terribly overpriced, payed 130 Euros for the smallest room ever. Seems as if it was refurbished and had a good clean since the early 70ies. not very clean either. were charged 70 euros for a dinner of inedible food, a disgusting salad bar, with vegetables far from fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

For a 4 star hotel it does not meet any of the criteria. Outdated hotel rooms, slow service, 2 Euros to call a Taxi for you. Probably one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. There are better local hotels in the area. Also they say they are next to the train station, they are not, definitely need a Taxi with the steep hill to get there

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

After having a lovely holiday my Wife and I took a chance on this hotel even after reading negative reviews. The room that we got was very small for the price we paid euro 165 which was a total rip off. The noise late at night was very very loud in the coridoor outside our bedroom. Prices for food and drink was excessively high in comparison to other Italian hotels. This hotel certainly does not live up to it's sometimes high rating. We will never stay there again and will be recommending it to any of our friends. Free wi fi is advertised, but if you want to use it in the bedroom you have to pay for it. It is free in the lobby for 30 mns and is quite slow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin186597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel is certainly in need of a good update.
I was in Ancona for a conference and had difficulty finding a hotel in the centre of Ancona, m TA booked this as it was our only option.
We arrived at Ancona ariport and hoped there would be an information centre to help us, there wasn't, so we noticed the local bus and asked if we could get to the hotel on the local bus, he said yes, so on we hopped, we ended up being dropped off at the bottom of thehill, the hotel is at the top of the hill, so my work collegue and I had the not so fun job of getting our luggage up the hill, short story get a taxi!!!
The reception staff on check in were not helpful at all, but we did come across other staff who were extremely helpful.
The rooms are old but clean, the included breakfast was pretty good,we did not eat any other meals at the hotel. Wifi is available in the lobby for 30 minute intervals.
If you want a hotel close to the centre of town then this is a good option.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The best thing about this hotel is its name. We arrived and were immediately told off for leaving our car outside - there were no available spaces anywhere near the hotel but the reception staff weren't that helpful in suggesting where we might park. The lift is like a zinc coffin, don't use it if you get claustraphobic in lifts. The rooms were tiny, nothing special, just about clean enough but worn.

The hotel has a lovely terrace - overlooking the silos on portside. Food was OK but the staff are hardly racing to be hospitable. One gets the impression that they expect the guests to stay one night for the ferry and never to return so are not inclined to make too much effort.

I was actually quite shocked that this was part of the NH chain. I have stayed in several NH hotels and this does not deserve to carry their name.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mad194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ancona hotels
0.1 km away
SeePort Hotel
SeePort Hotel
#3 of 18 in Ancona
436 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Palace Ancona
4.3 km away
Hotel Europa Ancona
Hotel Europa Ancona
#6 of 18 in Ancona
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Passetto
Grand Hotel Passetto
#8 of 18 in Ancona
339 reviews
8.9 km away
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
#1 of 4 in Portonovo
468 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#11 of 18 in Ancona
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Ancona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ancona

Address: Via Ventinove Settembre 14 | City Centre, Port, 60122, Ancona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Ancona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ancona
Price Range: $104 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Ancona 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Ancona is set in the heart of Ancona's shopping district, just 200 meters from Corso Garibaldi and the cathedral, and across from the Calamo Fountain and Mole Vanvitelliana--host of many prestigious events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Ancona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancona Jolly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing