We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lowest point of a wonderful trip”
Review of NH Ancona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Ancona
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Ancona
New York, N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The lowest point of a wonderful trip”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

After arriving in the port of Ancona I shouldn't have expected that there would be a decent hotel in the vicinity but the Tripadvisor reports I had read before booking led me to be optimistic. When I arrived in the worn out , run down, stark lobby of the Jolly my expectations were completely dashed and the condition of the faded hallway leading to a room that must not have been updated since the fifties, that ressembled a monk's quarters in fading green with a soiled, worn wall to wall carpet confirmed my impressions. Tried to use the internet they advertised but though it didin't connect and though I protested they charged me 5 Euros for it...If you arrive by boat from Croatia, keep going!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    353
    231
    113
    57
See reviews for
101
176
65
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Very friendly staff, knowledgeable about surrounding area. Great views of the sea, should offer Happy Hour buffet in outside terrace. Good breakfast and dinner. Close to city center. Have travelled to other NH hotels in Spain (Madrid, Barcelona, Sevilla) but this hotel does not appear to be modern like these other hotels. Ancona needs to be refurbished because looks old! Had though a very enjoyable stay and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsurfone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Stayed here one night prior to a ferry trip. The front-desk staff was very helpful with the many questions I had regarding the area. While she didn't speak English well, we communicated in Spanish relatively well.

The room was nicely appointed with a window view of the harbor down below. The refrigerator is stocked with overpriced articles but I've never been desparate enough to pay 3 Euros of a small water from one of these so its just expected... Good bed. TV with many channels. Nice bathroom with complementary toiletries. The only drawback to the room was the very strong smoke smell. If not for that, the room would get a "4" instead of a "3".

Breakfast was good with many fresh pastries, very good coffee, juice, yogurt (very fresh, not old). I would say a bit about the standard hotel breakfast you can expect in Europe.

All in all, the front desk staff was what made this hotel good, plus the very good rate I received on the internet from a 2nd party booking site. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Overpriced and pretty awful, could not wait to leave. It was out of season but I have never eaten such bad food in Italy, avoid the restaurant.

  • Liked — It was open and we had no where else to stay
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank crazycockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ancona hotels

Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

This one was rough.

My fiance and I still laugh about how bad "The Grumpy Hotel" was, even two years later. The staff was icky (translation: absent, disinterested, often downright rude) and that wasn't a welcome reception when we climbed up a virtual *mountain* to reach the danged place to begin with. If you're going to stay at this hotel, I do not recommend walking from the train station with lots of luggage. You'll be sad if you do.

We were to take the boat from Ancona to Split, Croatia the next day, which is why we stayed at the Jolly Hotel. It's incredibly close to the boat, which is great.

If you are tall, beware! The hotel is old and the doorways are *low.* My fiance is 6 feet tall and he banged his head so many times coming in and out of the room/bathroom...I felt so bad for him. After the sixth head-smack, he was so grumpy that we gave the place the nickname.

The room was pretty dirty, the sheets were like cardboard, and the breakfast was so-so. I wasn't expecting that much, I really wasn't -- but the hotel was pretty bad and I'd definitely look for another place to stay if I find myself in Ancona, Italy again. I don't think I probably will.

  • Liked — It was close to the boat that would take us away from Ancona.
  • Disliked — It's a toss up between the stiff blanket and the small doorframes that kept abusing my fiance.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WriterMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

An small town hotel.
Old rooms and premises Great view of the harbour (yiakkk).Expensensive and for sure not 4 stars maybe 2,5.Must have a car to move around as its far from the center but near to the harbor,If you plan to catch a ship is recomended.breakfast is good.Reception people neutral.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sv1dkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandol, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2006

This hotel is not worth a 4* rating. The room I had was very small. Problems with hot water pressure, I did have my shower with cold water only. No one at the desk did care about that. Rates (135$) was really too high in regards with the service, room class and overall old fashioned aspect of this hotel. Though the situation is good, car park at night is very uncomfortable due to lack of park lots and the road ramp to access the hotel is busy with irrespectuous drivers who park anywhere without consideration for others... Wifi access is good but expensive... At the bar, we had to wait more that 20 minutes to get a lousy drink, but, surprisingly, it was served with lots of good appetizers !! Breakfast was of no interest at all though at international standards and average quality. At the desk and everywhere, young attendants and waitress where warm and welcoming but older managers and pursers where irrespectuous of clients and very unprofessional... This hotel looks like a 2* now based on a former 70s palace !!

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ancona hotels
0.1 km away
SeePort Hotel
SeePort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Ancona
401 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Europa Ancona
Hotel Europa Ancona
#4 of 18 in Ancona
311 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Palace Ancona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Passetto
Grand Hotel Passetto
#6 of 18 in Ancona
323 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#10 of 18 in Ancona
398 reviews
8.9 km away
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
#1 of 4 in Portonovo
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Ancona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ancona

Property: NH Ancona
Address: Via Ventinove Settembre 14 | City Centre, Port, 60122, Ancona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Ancona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Ancona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Ancona 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Ancona is set in the heart of Ancona's shopping district, just 200 meters from Corso Garibaldi and the cathedral, and across from the Calamo Fountain and Mole Vanvitelliana--host of many prestigious events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Ancona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancona Jolly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing