We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant ”

Ristorante da Nello
Ranked #130 of 2,120 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1948 Da Nello Restaurant means "good food in Bologna"
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Excellent busy restaurant. Food was fantastic. This is a very popular restaurant that has fantastic specials. The grilled porcini mushrooms were fabulous. So good we ordered a second plate. The homemade pasta were really nice. We had fish for our entre which was very fresh.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank mjs642017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic experience the waiter was an absolute star he entertained us with the right amount of banter was very knowledgable about the menu and the wine choices. We asked for his suggestion and how refreshing it was to be pointed towards a great wine that was far from the most expensive on the menu. Five stars

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

Outdated and over priced, the food was bland . We had a shrimp cocktail that had some shrimp in a pool of thick mayonnaise and some chopped cabbage for 15 euro !!! I have had better dishes in McDonald's. Cover charges the most expensive we've payed so far 3.5 euro. The famous pasta was basic and in inspiring. And the scallop with mushroom look and tasted like vomit.

Don't waste your time and money

Bologna has so much more to offer that
This stuffy old TRAP...

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank alexandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We found worm in our risotto, waiter did not even apologize ... staff did not care. Very disapointed and would not recommend!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

Our host from our B and B managed to get us a table on a Saturday evening (early). We arrived at 7:15 to an almost empty place. By the time we left at 9pm it was heaving with a very long queue outside.

We had smoked goose breast and deep fried courgette flowers as starters - both very different but equally delicious! Followed by kidneys with mash and fresh porcini mushrooms in a Genovese sauce. Both delicious. We had the rice cake which had a lot of amaretto in it (yummy) and the warm chocolate Charlotte which was a bit too sweet and sickly for my taste. The waiter was delightful - very helpful and knowledgeable about which wine to choose.

It felt like a very traditional Italian place with a great mix of a few tourists and lots of locals who enjoy good food.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Millie5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante da Nello also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Ristorante da Nello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing