We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A B&B with "5 star hotel" services” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pozzo di Mezzo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bologna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pozzo di Mezzo B&B
Ranked #29 of 281 Bologna B&B and Inns
Gatochatter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A B&B with "5 star hotel" services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This excellent B&B offers beautiful rooms & bathrooms with all modern conforts (heating/air conditioner), is tastefully decorated, has a huge garden and nice common outside areas. But in addition to that it offers all the 'pluses' of a 5-star hotel: mini-bar, excellent breakfast with a lot of variety, new and daily renewed towels, bathrobes and slippers, free parking, internet access, an i-pad where you can consult during breakfast your favorite foreign news (my husband loved that!)....etc. My husband and I travelled by car and we thought that the location, a little out of the center, would require that we use it, but...surprise...a close walk-by there is excellent bus service - so we left the car parked during the days we stayed there - we felt freed and relieved that we did not have to drive around. It's nice to move in the city of Bologna by public transport but at night retire to a more quiet neighbourhood and not having to suffer the inconveniences of being in the downtown (noise, small space, etc). Above and beyond all this the personalized service of the owner is really amazing - she's really well organized and gave us thousands of good tips and advices - I was there exploring business opportunities and she even helped me with that. Great place - all they say is true. 5/5 rating for us

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatochatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to this area in 2 years and one of the main reasons for doing so was to stay in Pozzo di Mezzo. There is nothing i can fault about it but plenty i can say in relation to a visit. The location is just outside the city centre which and may not suit everyone but we found it to be perfect. in the morning you can step outside into a beautiful garden with views of the countryside from the bottom of the lane. The rooms are so clean and the outdoor space perfect for a drink in the evening. You can access the town very easily by bus and have several good restaurants within walking distance - our favourite was Marcos. Yes the breakfast may be a little "expensive" but in life i believe all is relative - you get what you pay for and in this case the breakfast is beautiful. It is also possible to book without breakfast should people find cost an issue.The perfect bit of my title is probably rounded off by the owner Francesca - you could ask for nothing more, she greets you so warmly (with a glass of wine too) she provides information, makes telephone calls if required and books taxis, restaurants etc. Nothing is too much trouble and she is so genuine. On our most recent visit my husband was ill - she took me to the chemist, translated the circumstances, allowed us to book out late (really late!) and even prepared a special lunch for my husband when he was ill. People who rent accommodation really make a difference - she is one in a million as is Pozzo di Mezzo

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emarNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent two nights at Gabriela and we had a great time. It was very cooled outside so we were glad that the heating worked well. The bathroom facilities are very modern and high standard. The one downside was that we could hear the guests in the room next to us talking. The breakfast is a bit expensive but lot's of chice fresh from the bakery. The garden is certainly a highlight as well as the extremely friendly host.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Pozzo di Mezzo for three nights over Easter, and arrived late at night on the Friday. Francesca the wonderful owner stayed up to let us in and show us to our room, which was just adjacent to the main house and looked out onto lovely shaded gardens. The room was simple but tastefully decorated and was spotlessly clean. In the morning we woke late and Francesca brought us cappuccino as we sat in the sun. Amazing.

We discovered, over the course of the weekend, that we nearly preferred Pozzo di Mezzo to Bologna itself.

Nothing was too much trouble for Francesca (she drove us to the pharmacy one morning in the pouring rain) and her breakfast is pretty special and definitely recommended. She had loads of recommendations for things to do in Bologna - eating out, bars etc - but unfortunately lots of Bologna was closed for the Easter break. Makes a refreshing change from the impersonal service you get in lots of city hotels.

All in all, very, very recommended.

One other thing: All'osteria Bottega on the south-western fringes of the old town made for a brilliant lunch one day - was full of locals - but gets really busy so best book if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StateRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Enough good things can't be said about this hidden jewel. Why crowd yourself in the city when you can bed down in a little property nestled away from the city center (yet a very convenient walk to the bus stop)? Francesca, out hostess, was a joy and takes pride in taking care of her guests and showing them how to enjoy Bologna. The rooms are clean and we'll kept, parking is available on site, and you wake up to a view of the sun rising over green hills, perfect! If you are a couple or just need to escape the typical and enjoy some real Bolognese hospitality, stop reading and reserve now.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoemonIshikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent a long weekend at Pozzo di Mezzo and it was fantastic. Owners were a delight, I'm still telling people about the bacon waffles! Plenty to do around the area. We're hoping to go back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Had an amazing short break here with the family to celebrate my husbands 30th and we couldn't have hoped for a more hospitable host or a more comfortable and relaxing place.
Francesca even woke very early to prepare us a fantastic breakfast on a day when we were heading out for a trip at 7am.
Charming and peacful.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank slrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Borgo Panigale
Fondofrancia B&B
Fondofrancia B&B
#66 of 281 in Bologna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
B&B Elegance
#166 of 281 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navile
Bed&Breakfast Arcobaleno
Bed&Breakfast Arcobaleno
#18 of 281 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Santo Stefano
B&B Chez Moi
B&B Chez Moi
#12 of 281 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Central Avenue B&B
#25 of 281 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pozzo di Mezzo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozzo di Mezzo B&B

Property: Pozzo di Mezzo B&B
Address: Via del Pozzo 41, 40141 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Savena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 281 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious brick-house, located in Bologna City, is furnished both using contemporary and ancient furniture. It is to be appreciated by who is looking for a delicate elegance and an exquisite hospitality in a warm atmosphere.The place is surrounded by Bologna’s hills, hidden in its private park, in a very relaxing position. Ability to reserve the entire house olso for privat party/event. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing