We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B with "5 star hotel" services”
Review of Pozzo di Mezzo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pozzo di Mezzo B&B
Ranked #32 of 311 Bologna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This excellent B&B offers beautiful rooms & bathrooms with all modern conforts (heating/air conditioner), is tastefully decorated, has a huge garden and nice common outside areas. But in addition to that it offers all the 'pluses' of a 5-star hotel: mini-bar, excellent breakfast with a lot of variety, new and daily renewed towels, bathrobes and slippers, free parking, internet access, an i-pad where you can consult during breakfast your favorite foreign news (my husband loved that!)....etc. My husband and I travelled by car and we thought that the location, a little out of the center, would require that we use it, but...surprise...a close walk-by there is excellent bus service - so we left the car parked during the days we stayed there - we felt freed and relieved that we did not have to drive around. It's nice to move in the city of Bologna by public transport but at night retire to a more quiet neighbourhood and not having to suffer the inconveniences of being in the downtown (noise, small space, etc). Above and beyond all this the personalized service of the owner is really amazing - she's really well organized and gave us thousands of good tips and advices - I was there exploring business opportunities and she even helped me with that. Great place - all they say is true. 5/5 rating for us

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatochatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to this area in 2 years and one of the main reasons for doing so was to stay in Pozzo di Mezzo. There is nothing i can fault about it but plenty i can say in relation to a visit. The location is just outside the city centre which and may not suit everyone but we found it to be perfect. in the morning you can step outside into a beautiful garden with views of the countryside from the bottom of the lane. The rooms are so clean and the outdoor space perfect for a drink in the evening. You can access the town very easily by bus and have several good restaurants within walking distance - our favourite was Marcos. Yes the breakfast may be a little "expensive" but in life i believe all is relative - you get what you pay for and in this case the breakfast is beautiful. It is also possible to book without breakfast should people find cost an issue.The perfect bit of my title is probably rounded off by the owner Francesca - you could ask for nothing more, she greets you so warmly (with a glass of wine too) she provides information, makes telephone calls if required and books taxis, restaurants etc. Nothing is too much trouble and she is so genuine. On our most recent visit my husband was ill - she took me to the chemist, translated the circumstances, allowed us to book out late (really late!) and even prepared a special lunch for my husband when he was ill. People who rent accommodation really make a difference - she is one in a million as is Pozzo di Mezzo

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emarNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent two nights at Gabriela and we had a great time. It was very cooled outside so we were glad that the heating worked well. The bathroom facilities are very modern and high standard. The one downside was that we could hear the guests in the room next to us talking. The breakfast is a bit expensive but lot's of chice fresh from the bakery. The garden is certainly a highlight as well as the extremely friendly host.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Pozzo di Mezzo for three nights over Easter, and arrived late at night on the Friday. Francesca the wonderful owner stayed up to let us in and show us to our room, which was just adjacent to the main house and looked out onto lovely shaded gardens. The room was simple but tastefully decorated and was spotlessly clean. In the morning we woke late and Francesca brought us cappuccino as we sat in the sun. Amazing.

We discovered, over the course of the weekend, that we nearly preferred Pozzo di Mezzo to Bologna itself.

Nothing was too much trouble for Francesca (she drove us to the pharmacy one morning in the pouring rain) and her breakfast is pretty special and definitely recommended. She had loads of recommendations for things to do in Bologna - eating out, bars etc - but unfortunately lots of Bologna was closed for the Easter break. Makes a refreshing change from the impersonal service you get in lots of city hotels.

All in all, very, very recommended.

One other thing: All'osteria Bottega on the south-western fringes of the old town made for a brilliant lunch one day - was full of locals - but gets really busy so best book if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StateRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Enough good things can't be said about this hidden jewel. Why crowd yourself in the city when you can bed down in a little property nestled away from the city center (yet a very convenient walk to the bus stop)? Francesca, out hostess, was a joy and takes pride in taking care of her guests and showing them how to enjoy Bologna. The rooms are clean and we'll kept, parking is available on site, and you wake up to a view of the sun rising over green hills, perfect! If you are a couple or just need to escape the typical and enjoy some real Bolognese hospitality, stop reading and reserve now.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoemonIshikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent a long weekend at Pozzo di Mezzo and it was fantastic. Owners were a delight, I'm still telling people about the bacon waffles! Plenty to do around the area. We're hoping to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilbert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Had an amazing short break here with the family to celebrate my husbands 30th and we couldn't have hoped for a more hospitable host or a more comfortable and relaxing place.
Francesca even woke very early to prepare us a fantastic breakfast on a day when we were heading out for a trip at 7am.
Charming and peacful.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank slrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Navile
Bed&Breakfast Arcobaleno
Bed&Breakfast Arcobaleno
#35 of 311 in Bologna
134 reviews
Bologna Inn
#13 of 311 in Bologna
195 reviews
Porto
Ramo Rosso
Ramo Rosso
#40 of 311 in Bologna
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mua'
#27 of 311 in Bologna
167 reviews
Saragozza
B&B Carosello
B&B Carosello
#21 of 311 in Bologna
31 reviews
Santo Stefano
B&B Chez Moi
B&B Chez Moi
#12 of 311 in Bologna
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pozzo di Mezzo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozzo di Mezzo B&B

Address: Via del Pozzo 41, 40141 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Savena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range: $104 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious brick-house, located in Bologna City, is furnished both using contemporary and ancient furniture. It is to be appreciated by who is looking for a delicate elegance and an exquisite hospitality in a warm atmosphere. The place is surrounded by Bologna’s hills, hidden in its private park, in a very relaxing position. Private parking. Accessed with electronic devices that allow the return at any time. Various types of very well-kept room, which have a separate entrance from the garden, all with private bath, offer Individual air conditioning/heating, Free wi-fi, tv, Nespresso coffee machine, Mini-bar, towels top quality Italian brands, Hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and slippers. Our delicious buffet style breakfast offer a luxurious breakfast experience with particular attention to organic produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Pozzo di Mezzo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing