We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“really the BEST hotel :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maggiore
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really the BEST hotel :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is located not far from beautiful San Luca and it takes about 30min to get to the downtown on foot(or 5 min by taxi) and 10 min to get to the Marconi airport.
Check-in procedure didn't take much time, the receptionist was very friendly. I had a very nice view from my window, the room was clean and cosy. Minibar was extreamly cheap! The staff is excellent! All of them are friendly and efficient. Best Western Hotel Maggiore is a good value for money!
This is the third hotel I stayed in Bologna and it's definitely the best in Reno district!
Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    278
    61
    17
    4
See reviews for
106
143
36
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

At 150 euros per night (during a book fair) this was very poor value: I wish we had stayed at the airport or further out. It would be OK at half the price as a stopover, but little else. Lots of traffic noise guaranteed by ambulances to nearby hospital. Coffee at breakfast is - unbelievably for italy - worse than poor supermarket powdered instant. The functionality of the conversion to a hotel still has problems - we actually saw a chambermaid manhandle her cleaning trolley down the stairs rather than use the inadequate lifts. Our room was pokey and dark, and the poor lamps made it hard to read in bed. On the plus side, getaway is fast, a taxi taking just 5 minutes to arrive. And, as other reviewers say, there is a 13 bus nearby to the town centre: however, finding the 13 stop to take you back to the hotel is not so easy. Internet is free, and does work.

Room Tip: Use a cheaper hotel near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronansleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Madam and Dear Sir,

thanks for your message on Tripadvisor web site .
You are right : our hotel was built on 1965 and we cannot change this date but we have completly rebuilt the hotel inside , elevators included . It is technical impossible to use the stairs with our cleaning trolley so it is very strange what you have seen ....... we will investigate .
We are also very sorry for the coffee and the lights .... we will try to do better and we hope to have another opportunity to show you that " Feel at home " is not only a slogan for us !
Best regards
Angelo e Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
397 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed there for one night just before flying back home the next day. When we arrived we saw a ugly building but we were happily surprised by th inside and rhe friendliness of the staff. Very comfortable and cheap rooms and a good breakfast. Ideal for staying in Bologna on a budget. Free internet, free bikes to go to the city centre, nice little restaurant and helpfull lady at the desk who speaks fluent English.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We chose this hotel because of Best Western's reputation for value. We were not dissapointed. Good location just out of the centre, clean comfortable and very welcoming. The staff are all so helpful and friendly. The price included an excellent buffet breakfast with many choices. Free tea and coffe at any time with a kettle in every room. The best food we had on our entire trip was just 2 mins walk 'Trattoria Zita' a restaurant that was run by mother and 2 daughters and had been in the family for 70 years. True Italian home cooking. It was lovely after a hard day of site seeing to relax and only have to go 2 minutes to eat. Very highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldwaterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We chose the Maggiore in order to save a few euros after being in Venice as it was cheaper than the very central Bologna hotels and overall we were satisfied with our experience.

The hotel itself albeit is in a reasonable location, the number 13 bus runs regularily from the hotel into the centre taking about 10 minutes and costing 1 euro for a single journey (you can buy tickets from the hotel). The hotel is a similar distance to the airport. There is also a very reasonable local restaraunt just around the corner (recommended by the hotel).

The service was good and always friendly both at the reception and bar and the whole hotel was very clean and well kept.

The room and bathroom were well apointed the only slight issue we had was that we found the bed and pillows to be a bit on the firm side and didn't have the greatest nights sleep but that may just have been us!

Breakfast was good taking into account the cost of room and was generally plenty of everything with selection of cereals, juices, croissants, cheese, meats, eggs, pastries, coffee.

Overall the hotel was nice and definately served our purpose of a providing a cheaper, doesn't set the world on fire but would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

We enjoyed our 4 night stay here and would go back. The room was clean, quiet, reasonable and had free Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was very good and nicely varied. The location is a couple of miles from Bologna center which is easily reached by the #113 bus - take it to Plaza Maggiore. The buses run, both ways, every 10 to 15 minutes.
Claudia, at the front desk, was very helpful with touring tips and local restaurant suggestions. Two of which are:
Nonna Rosa Trattoria (Via Piave tel. 0516153921) about a 15 minute walk - full of locals and very good Bolognese specialties.
Ristorante Pizzeria Fraiese - 10 minute walk from the hotel - great pizza and inexpensive.
Downtown suggestions - Ristorante Donatello - Via Augusto Righi.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

warm/friendly reception/staff/assistance
english spoken
(good) breakfast included
the "small" touches and additionals all around that
let you understand and feel kind of family hotel
that really care about you and make your stay comfort
free/rooms I-net service
very reasonable price of rooms against value

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minimaxhaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Panorama Hotel
#38 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#14 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#28 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maggiore

Property: Hotel Maggiore
Address: Via Emilia Ponente 62/3, 40133 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Maggiore)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bologna
#22 Family Hotel in Bologna
#31 Business Hotel in Bologna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maggiore Bologna is a welcoming place and we deeply take care of our guests. Our aim is to make you "Feel at Home". The slender eight storey building which houses the hotel rises up in a very unusual place, a connection point between the city centre of Bologna and the Emilian productive areas, a lively and hardworking area rich in Italian excellences and multiculturalism. The hotel is in a central location, out of the controlled traffic zone, next to the Ospedale Maggiore, at 1.5 km from the historic centre (easily accessible by bus or by bike), at ten minutes from the airport, the Ducati headquarters, the Unipol Arena centre, next to important companies and important scientific and cultural centres such as the Opificio Golinelli and the MAST. It is easily accessible from the motorway and the main communications routes and we offer a free parking service. Core of our idea of welcoming are the central location, our friendliness and the attention to every detail. As well as wanting you to "Feel at Home", we also commit for a sustainable mobility. Among our facilities you'll find a free parking service, a shuttle service, a bycicle rental service, both for traditional bikes and e-bikes, bus tickets at our reception desk. Finally, we'll be very happy to give you information on events not to be missed and places to see in the city and province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing