We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,499)
Filter reviews
1,499 results
Traveller rating
987
407
78
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
987
407
78
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal sangiovesebreakfast roomle muragarden roomcharming hotelsmall gardenlovely courtyardminute walkbreakfast is servedring roadcity centresmall hotelold citymain piazzaroom was largequiet streetbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,499 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

This lovely hotel is located just inside the historic city walls, making it easy to drive to, and well located for sightseeing in the old town. The staff is incredibly helpful and welcoming. They are very responsive and speak multiple languages including English, French and Italian. We were able to leave our car in front of the hotel for our entire stay for a reasonable price which was very convenient. The hotel's rooms are spread between several historic buildings and ours was just a few doors down from the main entrance. Our room was spacious with a couch, table and chairs, mini fridge and bath on one floor and a spacious bedroom with sky lights in the loft above. Our windows looked out over some other rooftops and trees. Not exactly a view room, but lovely and quiet. There were also some shared outdoor spaces and a barman in the breakfast area in the late afternoon. Breakfast was plentiful and included the traditional Italian selections of meat, cheeses, tomatoes, rucola, hard cooked eggs, pastries, coffee, espresso and tea. Wifi worked well and if you needed it there is a computer station in the lobby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or go again. We enjoyed our meals at Al Sangiovese and Le Mura recommended by the hotel. Al Sangiovese is more traditional and was our favorite. We also discovered Sfoglia Rina in town. The have all types of fresh pasta. You can eat in or take it out cold or hot. We ordered it hot to go and it made for a great lunch!

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out across several buildings. Contact the hotel directly if you have questions.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyCrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your lovely words, they encourage us a lot to work harder day after day.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bologna and look forward to welcoming you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in the small back streets south of the centre, and is a collection of houses grouped around a central, very pleasant courtyard. It's a bit like an Oxbridge college, with staircases rising at random in unexpected places. This may dictate the modernity of the room you get.

The staff are universally helpful and efficient. The breakfast is adequate but a bit limited.

It's a ten to fifteen minute (flat) walk to Piazza Maggiori, depending on your fitness level. There is nothing of much interest on the way, although you can watch the lawyers dashing in and out of the central courthouse for caffeine fixes.

I would have given maximum marks, except that our room was on the shabby side of shabby chic (but clean and comfortable) with little bits and pieces that didn't work properly. But, as other reviewers say, it's charming and welcoming, so don't be put off in any way.

Two or three good restaurants within yards -- separate reviews posted for La Mira, San Giovese and Osteria 15.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidw187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

A lovely hotel,unusual rooms not the standard ours was large with a jacuzzi bath,very quiet,the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
The staff were helpful only problem was at breakfast it could get busy and difficult to find a table but the food was plentiful and delicious .

Stayed: May 2018
Thank susansY7042FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Responsabile reception at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for the review and we apologize for the breakfast waiting. Unfortunately, sometimes there is a littble bit of confusion, but we're going to manage the situation in order to reduce it. Otherwise, we're glad to know that you appreciated the room, the staff service and the food, we're grateful for your words.
Best regards,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

If you want the quiet atmosphere of an Italian villa in the middle of the city of Bologna, you have come to the right place! Beautiful garden patio, relaxed mood, excellent breakfast with great coffee, cakes and eggs, peaceful outdoor seating in the garden, great and clean rooms. I will be back. Perfect hotel for guests who prefer a personal, family-owned business over large, modern chain hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the patio.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Responsabile reception at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Guest,
we really thank you for your nice review, we're happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two night.
Great advantage of this hotel is it has secure parking which is hard to find in centre. Charged at 22 euros night is quite reasonable when you consider street parking is 9 euros anyway.
The hotel is larger than it appears from the front and is a really well run family hotel. Our room was large and quiet with large bathroom and nicely done out in more traditional style.
Breakfast was a good variety and very good.
Has a lovely garden for sitting in the sun!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Responsabile reception at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad to konw that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Even if it seems a little place, every day we try to make it great and comfortable for all our guests. We hope to see you again
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews