We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fairly close to Bologna airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fairly close to Bologna airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very nice Hinn hotel fairly close to the Bologna airport.
Unfortunately very bad internet connections.
Nice breakfast though and very good beds.

Room Tip: no opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sefranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    444
    214
    60
    29
See reviews for
251
189
51
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The staff were as helpful as they could be considering only one of them on reception in the evening spoke English. I know we were in a foreign country but I stupidly assumed it would be a second language out there as it is in most places..wrong. We stayed 7 nights & the fact it was never below 25, the air conditioning could've been better AND stayed on as I learned one night it automatically turns off during the night & comes back on at 7am leaving you to sweat throughout the night & aside the lobby, there's no air conditioning anywhere else so by 9-10 am, the corridors are hot. You need to do your research on travel if like me you don't drive as it's 20 mins bus to Bologna train station. There is a shopping center over the road though not much available. Breakfast is Ok for the first couple of days but as it's the same stuff everyday, as you can imagine it does get boring quickly. The no free wifi in the lobby was annoying. The rooms however were nice & pretty large.I did like the big window. If you're hungry at night, there are vending machines on all floors & they'll happily change money for you at all times. It was an alright experience but I think my next holiday will involve being closer to everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel is very clean and the staff is also very helpful.
We were working at the fair (SANA) and we need to bake sth, first I saw the faces which were not very satisfied but than we solved everything. they baked for us cheese lollipops which were perfect.
I want to thank you mister who is working in the bar ... I don't know his name ... he is original from Asia. (I think)

The only bad thing is very expensive internet or maybe I am just spoiled with free internet connection in other hotels.

The location is perfect for business and for those who works at the fair.
They have a free shuttle bus to and from the hotel, departing just before the fair opens and coming back right after the fair closure ... they adjust with fair schedule.

Just across the street the is a shopping centre with some shops, like OVS, Coin, Dechatlon, Coop and others.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in front of the elevator or those when you exit on you left. In front of this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S0nny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed 7 nights in the hotel, so we had the ability for deep analyzing of the hotel.
Location is good, near a shopping center.
Car is a must.
2 hours from Firenze and Pisa, 10 minutes from Bologna.
The air condition did not work well and the room was very hot including the corridors. Only the lobby was with good air condition.
Breakfast - the same food was every day (was ok).
In one of the days a large group that stayed in the hotel finished the whole food and we had nothing to eat…
The lazy waiter did not do his job and only after few clients claimed, he brought some food but not everything. Even the tables stayed in a real mess.
The next day there was another big group but this time was a nice waitress (with short hair cut) who was excellent and hard working - She was diligent & perfect - Bravo!
No free Wifi at all – very disappointing.
No self service laundry (with tokens) - very disappointing.
No electric kettle in the room - very disappointing.

This hotel is good for maximum 3 nights stay no more.
A little disappointing if you compare it to other holiday inn hotels around the world.

Room Tip: In summer, ask for a room with good and strong air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomersNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is clean and very good positioned if you visit the Bologna Fair.
The big minus is the confort that this hotel offered for the price that you pay. No minibar / refrigerator in the room! And you really need because of the weather.
The breakfast is poor and the waiters are not very polite!
I will never return at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your comments. Because of the rules / policy of the Chain, all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the world cannot have in-room minibar. I would like to remind you that vending machines are available 24h in each floor.
I will investigate on breakfast buffet and waiters behaviour, instead. I would like to welcome again at the Holiday Inn Express hoping you can change your opinion regarding the breakfast!
Thanking for your support, I remain

Best regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This hotel keeps what you expect from Holiday Inn Express. Small but clean room. a shower which was powerful even in the morning when everybody was showering. The fair is still a good distance away, so trade fair bus or own car are still needed.
There is a huge selection of shopping malls incl. Decathlon and a mega-grocery within eye sight.
5 stars (not my usual four) for the excellent bed, and the fun+friendly staff.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eikoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 14 November 2010
Dear Eikoor,
thank you for your feedback. I will inform my staff immediately about your comment.
This is the best way to motivate everybody to do their job beyond all expectations.
Hoping to welcome again at the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera, I remain

Best regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
292 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Last summer this property was outstanding. Everything worked. It might be working again, but our stay was unlike last year's. First, the ice machine was broken. We were given two small plastic cups of ice, and told the hotel couldn't spare any more. For a property that is accustomed to North Americans, providing ice should be important.

Second, there was a huge tour group at the hotel. This property is used to tour groups, and it is a convention hotel. The breakfast was very busy with the tour group taking up nearly every table. When they left, it would be time for replenishment, but the staff set about cleaning up from the group. At dinner, the server told one of our group, a vegetarian, that the requested plate --a favorite-- had meat. It did not.

Our biggest concern is the apathy towards Priority Club members. There are parking spaces designated for members, but the water on the dresser was to be purchased at 1.20/bottle. They could offer the water, or free internet, or some other token to acknowledge Club membership.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenients that occurred during your last stay at the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera. We will try to improve immediately our service in order to satisfy our guests.
For your information we already ordered a new ice machine for guest's use but it will be delivered only after Sept. 03rd, because summer holidays. I will try to investigate about breakfast and dinner in order to solve waiter's behaviour, instead.
At your disposal for any further information you might require, we remain

Best regards
Alessandro Barlesi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Encore Bologna
#13 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Navile
Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
Savhotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
Address: Via del Commercio Associato 3, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#28 Family Hotel in Bologna
#34 Business Hotel in Bologna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera is an over-standard three-star hotel complex providing services well above those normally associated with its category. 156 bedrooms with large outdoor car park and a location in the centre of the trade-fair area and only a few minutes from the city centre, the Airport, the ring road or the motorway, and the destinations you want to reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera Hotel Bologna
Bologna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing