We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, lovely and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa delle noci

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax...... the gate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
relax......
the gate
garden
garden
bicycles
acetaia family of traditional balsamic vinegar of Modena
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Modena, Province of Modena, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
1600egirl
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic, lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we made to feel welcome and we felt so at home. We were greeted by lovely Roberta, who showed us around the accommodation. She has thought of everything it was spotlessly clean and provided everything for a comfortable stay. We were provided with a wonderful breakfast spread as well as extras we did not expect such as home made cider, wine, chocolates and a cherry tart. In the freezer we were treated to a choice of three liquors (we brought some) and in the cupboard a sample of their home made balsamic vinegar (we brought some of that as well!) Roberta’s husband kindly showed us the night before we left how they make it.

My parents did the Venice trip arranged for by Roberta and enjoyed it. We also visited Parma, Modena, Ferrara and Mantova (in the villa you will find lots of leaflets and information of places to visit) the Lamborghini and Ferrari museum.

Free wifi came in handy as we were able to look up the best places to park etc before programming the sat nav! We found the sat nav to be invaluable whilst here as we decided to go everywhere without touching the motorways (fed up to the hilt with them back home in London) as we wanted to see local villages on the way.

We cooked at home a couple of nights but on the other nights we ate at the same restaurant. They did fantastic pizza’s (for 6-7 euro’s), pastas etc down the road that Roberta recommended we had to drive because of the time of year as it got dark early but in the summer you can walk there in about 35min. There are other restaurants that Roberta has menus for but we were hooked on this place and to top it off it was so reasonable and the food was excellent.

We were soo sorry to leave this wonderful place in the countryside but we are already planning our return next year.

If you would like a fantastic, lovely and relaxing place to stay whilst see the rural Italy then look no further than this place you will not be disappointed. This place is so lovely and homey I wish I could live here tomorrow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David & J...
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the loveliest places we've ever stayed in. Roberta was a wonderful host and made us feel really welcome. She supplied meats, cheeses, breakfast goodies, yoghurt, coffee, milk, home made liqueurs and much more for us. What a great way to begin our stay. The house was spotless and beautifully presented. There are two outdoor eating areas (bbq) and a stunning pool. This is a great place to base yourself with a car. We visited nearby Modena, Ferrara, Maranello, Vignola and caught the train to Bologna. Roberta also organize visits to see prosciutto and parmesan cheese being made. A wonderful experience. We also had a traditional lunch at nearby Acetaia Pedroni because Anthony Bourdain had eaten there. The food was really delicious and featured balsamic vinegar in every course including the ice cream. We also visited Roberta's husband's acetaia in their loft. We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend Casa Delle Noci.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenbryan...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

hello, Casa delle noci could not have been better from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. A thirty minute drive from the airport is all it takes and as we stepped from the car Roberta was there to greet us and show us around the amazing property. You have the whole top floor of the building (Roberta and her family live in the house opposite) very spacious with three bedrooms( one with a large on-suit bathroom) a large living room, kitchen with everything you need including dishwasher etc the kitchen cupboards are stocked with more than enough for all your breakfasts also pasta sauce, cheese and ham and Roberta had left fresh fruit from the orchards and vines surrounding the property( apples figs plums black and green grapes) also Roberta had made a fruit tart and left a bottle of the local lambrusco, chocolates, home made cider and three types of liquor all made from there own fruit. The swimming pool was excellent, quite large but not too deep which was good as my daughter is only 8 and not a brilliant swimmer. Within a twenty minute drive of the house you have the Ferrari factory and museum, Lamborghini, ducati pagani and maserati also the old city of modena and bologna and more. There are lots of cheap pizzerias gelateria ( one we went to had over sixty flavours of ice cream all made on the premises) and very reasonably priced restaurants all ten minutes from the house. If you do want to treat yourself, in modena you have Osteria Francescana, 3 michilin stars and voted the third best restaurant in the world. Roberta also arranged for us a tour of the local parmigiano and prosciutto manufacturers and Robertas husband giorgio showed us where and how he makes his own homemade balsamic vinegar. It was my daughters first holiday abroad and she loved every minute of it, i think we will be back to stay at casa dell noci and see Roberta and her family again very soon. Glen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, couldn't pick one particular thing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda475...
Gulf Shores
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great vacation home!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled with my sister and her husband to northern Italy. This was a GREAT HOUSE with a beautiful pool. Centrally located to the areas we wanted to visit. The house was large with air conditioning, three bed rooms that were attractively decorated and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast food and wine and beer. What more could you ask for. Oh yes a very gracious owner that was available for question and recommendations! Would stay there again in a hart beat!!!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenak_1...
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a lovely apartment owned by the most welcoming lady imaginable”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband and our friends for a week in August. The photographs do not do this justice. The apartment is spotless, has everything you could need supplied by a wonderful lady who went out of her way to make us welcome and comfortable throughout our stay.
The apartment is in a beautiful peaceful setting within easy reach of a number of interesting places. We traveled to Bologna, Venice and Florence. More locally the town of Modena is lovely too You do need a car to make the most of your stay and reach shops etc, A word of warning,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, if you haven't been to Italy before, most places have traffic restrictions in the town centre with cctv monitoring your progress and hefty fine if you stray into the area! watch out for 'ZTL' areas.
If you don't want to travel then a day by the pool which is set beside the orchard (from which we were welcome to pick fresh fruit) is a relaxing option.
The added touches from Roberta made our stay an excellent experience. Chocolate on each pillow, a freshly baked fruit tart with a bottle of local Lambrusco waiting on the table for us together with a well stocked fridge, plenty of towels and toiletries are just an example of her attention to detail.
Roberta is a lovely lady who is always willing to offer advice about local amenities, directions, weather etc or just have a pleasant chat during the day. She has the gift of being available without being intrusive and we could not praise her highly enough. She even recommended and booked a wonderful restaurant for us to celebrate my birthday. (Osteria 5 Sensi in Modena - lovely food typical of the area)
The apartment is airconditioned and very spacious, the beds are very comfortable - better than many hotels we have stayed in! We all loved the colour changing shower head in one of the bathrooms!
Roberta's directions were excellent - we traveled from Milan but think flying into Bologna would be a much better option.
Roberta's husband Giorgio's hobby is to make the acetico balsamico typical of the area, he was happy to explain this lengthy process to us, showing us his attic room where it is made, he gave us samples which were amazing, the balsamic we buy is nothing like this wonderful concoction.
We would all recommend this holiday apartment very highly and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we felt at home in a peaceful relaxing setting
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy, friendly, with everything you need for a perfect holiday!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed here in July/August, including two teenagers. The apartment is incredibly comfortable and well appointed, including wifi and bikes. It is set in the country, but within easy reach of shops in Modena and Bologna and the nearby hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family's dog!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place I have ever stayed while in Europe - better than hotels!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The title makes us sound snobbish, but we have traveled from the States to Europe at least a dozen times in the past 10 years and stayed in good hotels, bad hotels, good flats, not so good flats, and bed and breakfasts. Casa delle noci is by far the best place we have ever stayed and Roberta and her family are among the nicest owners we have ever met.

We had a whole house - 3 bedrooms, two baths, huge kitchen and living room. Comfortable, CLEAN, quiet, well-stocked pantry and refrigerator of breakfast foods and snack items, even two bottles of local wine as a welcome gift. A major bonus was the pool which was crystal clear and refreshing especially since it was very hot. Also air conditioning in the bedrooms and living room!

Roberta and her family have the adjacent house and respected our privacy. When we would arrive after a full day of touring the countryside, if she was outside, she would give a smile and wave, but not be intrusive. We typically would chat when we saw her and she would eagerly share ideas and listen to our adventures. We learned a lot.

Roberta went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The first night as we were relaxing on the patio, she baked us a special bread and served it with local meats and cheeses. It was awesome!

She also booked two tours for us - Parmesan cheese tour was excellent and informative, and the wine tasting - out of this world. Her husband even gave us a tour of his private balsamic vinegar production hidden in their attic!

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying with Roberta if you are looking for a comfortable and convenient home base for northern Italy. You will need a car to get to her place, but it is only a 20 minute drive to Modena where you can catch the trains heading west and north, or a 40 minute drive to Bologna for trains east and south.

We found absolutely nothing negative with our stay with Roberta. It was fantastic and should we ever go back to northern Italy, we will definitely book our stay with her!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing