We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry we didn't stay longer - wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Parma Stendhal
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Parma
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“sorry we didn't stay longer - wonderful”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a real first class hotel. Everything is elegant and tasteful. Our room (166) had a great balcony and was so easy to get to - just walk up the stairs if we didn't feel like taking the elevator. Great wi-ti, new flatscreen, double vanity spotless bathroom (although the shower pressure was very weak.

From the front door, you are only across the road from the entrance to the archaeological museum, which we really enjoyed (closed on Monday), 4 euros. When you leave the museum, turn left, walk across the small bridge and you'll find yourself in a beautiful park similar to the tree lined parks of Paris. The town itself is beautiful.

Don't expect good bread here - it's pretty bad -dry and tasteless - no butter served along side.
I'm sorry, I digress.

Breakfast was plentiful, and the coffee was strong. They even froth the milk you get with it. Now that's going the extra mile.

Front desk spoke great English. Garage was easy and less expensive than others around

This place is terrific and should be number one (I think the uncomfortable beds are bringing down the rating). I really can't think of anything else to complain about. So, if you are going, you are going to love it. If you get a balcony room they have metal shutters that close like a garage door with the press of a button to keep out noise and light.

Room Tip: Get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChampagnePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    338
    89
    37
    11
See reviews for
95
352
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Good 4**** hotel, right on the center of the town of Parma. Easy to reach, but difficult to park (they told us there are no free spots in the area). the hotel has an underground parking area though (but this costs you 15 euro per night).

Reception was good and fast. Rooms are nice, beds are comfortable if you like them on the hard side. Breakfast was sufficient, including fresh fruits. When you get there on a quite moment, it might take a while before you see someone to ask the coffee.

Only minor remark is upon leaving, we call reception for the bell boy, and after 15 minutes of waiting (the hotel was absolutely not busy at all), my patience ran out, and I went for the trolley myself. The girl at the reception was upset with the bell boy because he did not attend the call, and excused multiple times for the bad service.

Walk out of the hotel, under the arches, and you are on the main square of Parma, and very near to the old historic center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Yes the beds are a bit firm but the rooms are exceptional and the balconey from ours was huge with relaxing chairs and table that we found comfy enough to dine in when we didn't feel like going out. Refridgerator, huge bathroom with shower for two, bidet, dancing space and brand new flat screen tv. Close to everything including the train station - we travel via Eurail..... and a privacy/safety screen that lowers to keep you safe and away from the sounds of the streets.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewecountry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is very centrally located and you can walk everywhere in the main city from it. The breakfast was really good and fresh and the hotel is clean. The only thing was our bed which was soooo hard and my husband ended up with a sore back!! Apart from that though it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysmumBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great location, handy parking next door. Charming traditional rooms, good size, modern bathrooms, air conditioning, wonderful breakfast room and offerings, friendly and welcoming staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St-Ives-Crown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Its very central and across from a lovely part of town. The old buildings across the road have a market in them on some days. The reception was very professional and friendly. The rooms are in good condition with a great shower. Had a late night drink and although the barman was moody and full of attitude it made me enjoy the G&T even more.

The breakfast is good with every choice you could need, and the coffee is good and strong. One tip is the lift opens on both sides so don't face the way you got in the lift and wonder why the doors are not opening as I did.

Good value hotel as well

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haggisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Spent 2 nights here on a tour of Emilio-Romagna. The location is great - close to the center of town, and the rooms were clean, good beds, large (by European standards) and nicely-furnished. The breakfast offered a wide variety of foods, both traditional breakfast food as well as Italian favorites - meats, cheeses. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parma hotels
0.6 km away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 49 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.2 km away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#2 of 49 in Parma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Styles Parma Toscanini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Button
Hotel Button
#3 of 49 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 km away
Starhotels Du Parc
Starhotels Du Parc
#12 of 49 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#10 of 49 in Parma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Parma Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Parma Stendhal

Property: Mercure Parma Stendhal
Address: Via Giambattista Bodoni 3, 43121, Parma, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Parma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Parma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Parma Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Parma Stendhal is located in the heart of the old town, opposite the Palazzo della Pilotta and just 328 yds (300 m) from the station, and serves an extensive buffet breakfast. Rooms are furnished with wooden period furniture and have TV with cable channels and free WIFI. The hotel is 437 yds (400 m) from the cathedral, a 5-minute walk from the European Food Safety Authority headquarters and approx. 10 mins' drive from the airport. An onsite car park is available subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Parma Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing