We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect haven in a beautiful town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa dei Poeti

'La Casa dei Poeti' - The House of the Poets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'La Casa dei Poeti' - The House of the Poets
You enter through a small private garden... Under the patio...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
'La Casa dei Poeti' - The House of the Poets
You enter through a small private garden...
Under the patio...
The entrance with the stairs to the upper floor...
The sitting room, on the right side of the entrance has a fire place... and an old 'lampara&quo
... and the access to the patio.
The dining room with the entrance to the kitchen.
Dining room with the doorway in the background.
The master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with, on the left, the door to the bathroom, the library and the radio.
First bathroom
The bath
The small terrace in front of the master bedroom continues with the balcony adiacent the other room.
Access to the two twin rooms.
The first twin room with two beds, one is suspended.
The first twin room
The last of the twin rooms, with two suspended beds.
Breakfast in the little garden
A bust partially hidden by the 'Parthenocissus tricuspidata'.
From the higher terrace you have the view of the ancient campanile of S. Apollinare.
The door from the dining room to the kitchen.
The kitchen.
The door from the kitchen to the little garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ravenna, Province of Ravenna, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AMBPGH
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect haven in a beautiful town”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The photos don't do the apartment justice. It's a quiet, peaceful haven with plenty of living space, and is perfect as a base to explore the wonders of Ravenna. Manuela was very helpful and on hand immediately to sort out a minor emergency we encountered with some uninvited wildlife. If the weather had been a little kinder we'd have made good use of the roof terrace, as it was the view from up there was lovely. The apartment is well stocked with reading material and the art works are all interesting and make it feel like a home rather than an impersonal hotel.
There is a Co Op just a few minutes walk away for fresh bread, fruit and veg and all cooking ingredients, the town with all it's restaurants and cafes are also just a few minutes away. This place couldn't be more convenient.
I'd highly recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
It's been a real pleasure meeting you, Anne- Marie. I'm happy you had a nice time in Ravenna and the house, of course ;-)
Manuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoit L
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A wonderfull house in downtown Ravenne, a few steps from city's wonders. A perfect welcome by Manuela, touring the different rooms so nicely furnished and equipped. You really feel at home at Casa dei Poeti. A convenient supermarket is 200m away, and the area is full of restaurants and bars. The garage for the car is in a parallel street: you can explore Ravenne by walking...we only wish we could stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quietness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodBishop
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My experiences with accommodation during this holiday, which took in Bologna, Parma, Ferrara and Ravenna were mostly very good, with the exception of one night in Bologna. But the Case dei Poeti was just stupidly good value for what is a beautiful house. The price worked out as 300 euros for three nights. For a three-bedroom house! The house would be perfect for one couple and another couple with a child or two. It has two bathrooms and the bedrooms are at either end of a corridor. Two bedrooms of the three are linked. The master is at the other end of the house and opens onto a balcony. There's a lovely balcony and the courtyard is just perfect. It's right in the middle of Ravenna but still quiet at night as it's tucked behind a building. The kitchen was nicely equipped. The living room really feels very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Insane good location, amazing price
Liked least: It's impossible to find anything bad
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewD64
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home, tastefully decorated and furnished with original artworks.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the house. It is much bigger than we expected. It is very tastefully decorated and furnished with many original artworks. The courtyard garden is a little oasis and the large terrace is great if you want to catch the sun. Air on is in all bedrooms, which in a hot July was a must. Manuela was an excellent and lovely host. We highly recommend.
Ravenna is beautiful with some world.class attractions. It has many excellent restaurants and bars. There are also excellent beaches nearby that do not get too crowded even in peak season.
One word of warning Mosquitos. Be prepared even during the day in shaded areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and design in the house.
Liked least: mattress a bit firm for our personal taste
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSizer
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accom ideally situated in central Ravenna”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I’ve just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Casa di Poeti with my husband and children (aged 12 and 15). The house was perfect for us, centrally located in the historic part of Ravenna, an easy ten minute stroll from the train station and with lots of space.

The house is full of appealing artwork and curios, at the same time as being very clean, fresh and uncluttered. It feels like a peaceful oasis in the city, and has two private terraces, one with lots of shade, and one with full sun, the latter reached via a vertiginous spiral staircase. There is also a small private garden/terrace at the entrance to the property. The air con in the bedrooms was much appreciated as it was very hot indeed during our stay.

Ravenna is a pretty ideal holiday location in my opinion. It has historical sites, interesting boutiques and plenty of eateries on your doorstep. At the same time as being a 'real' place, a positive thing in my mind, it is has a relaxing laid back holiday atmosphere and it’s easy to access the beach and other places.

We relied on the train service, which worked out fine, but a car would perhaps let you explore the area more fully. Via train we visited Bologna, Ferrara, and local beach resort Cesenativo which was really pretty. By bus, we went to the beach at Marina di Ravenna which has plenty of bagni (one with a pool - Lucciola) but not a huge amount more. The bus service is pretty good, with a stop near the house, and I think the journey took about 20 minutes. We didn’t get round to visiting Lido Adriano which seems to be a much more developed beach resort than Marina di Ravenna and also near.

The kitchen at Casa di Poeti is well equipped, and we ate in some nights, with supplies we bought at the Coop supermarket just around the corner, or a little deli a couple of blocks away. Both offered ready prepared fresh meals to heat up at home. There are also some lovely pastry shops and Gelateria in the city, our favourites being Ferrari and Papilla. Of the restaurants we visited, Ca' de Ven was a highlight.

In short, my family and I would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernari
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“At home in Ravenna”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa dei Poeti is a wonderful home in the middle of Ravenna. Inside, all is peaceful and quiet. Outside, you are in the middle of the ancient city, close to nearly all the World Heritage sites. There are two floors, several rooms equipped with beds and many places to choose from when sitting outside, even a spiral staircase to a small rooftop terrace.

We found the house to be well-equipped (though no bottle of wine, as another visitor mentioned). Although we were late, there was a friendly welcome and a lot of personal recommendations. Casa dei Poeti is very private; whenever we unlocked the front door on the street, we felt as if we were entering our very own “Italian home”.

Drawbacks: Parking is a bit of a challenge, since you can only park at a garage a block away and need to wait for the attendant whenever you need the car or have to drop it off. It can be time-consuming. The shower volume can be maintained if you keep adjusting it, but the area is very small, so flooding the floor is inevitable. However, these are just small problems and part of the individuality of this place.

We found not to have enough time to see everything we wanted in and around Ravenna with a 3-night stay and would recommend taking more time if you are really interested in the history and the sights.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best houses we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa dei poeti feels like a beautifully appointed home rather than a holiday let. The owners met us when we arrived and were accessible if we needed them during our stay but were never intrusive.

The house is located in the historic centre of Ravenna within easy walking distance of all the monuments and restaurants,.yet is in an utterly peaceful and safe position..

We came to Ravenna by train from Bologna and were easily able to walk from the station following Manuela's accurate instructions.

You enter the house through a shared hallway which leads to a tiny private courtyard garden from which you get access to the house itself

Once inside you find the rooms tastefully furnished, the beds very comfortable, the kitchen and bathrooms equipped with all you need for a holiday stay. (If you were being picky you could wish for a slightly more powereful shower).

We were a group of friends in our seventies who came to Ravenna to see the mosaics and thoroughly enjoyed coming home to the casa after a day of culture.

This house put the finishing touch to a great holiday. Book it if you can.

Frances Mulligan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tasteful furnishing and decor together with the ultra convenient location
Liked least: The rather feeble shower
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;