We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must when in Trieste”

Trattoria alla Speranza
Ranked #5 of 931 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$36
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 8, 2018

First of all, the food is insanely good. Not a fancy place, in fact the opposite. But they are producing world-class stuff, including the pasta with seafood, the meat plate appetizer, in fact any of the pastas are out of this world. Wine selection was good. Service was terrific. The family takes care of you there. Of course, they brought us grappa to drink on the house. Stuff is lethal, although their dark grappa was very good as firewater goes. It's a bit of a hike from right down at the harbor where we stayed but well worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WBreskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la bellissima recensione . A presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 438 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We have visited the restaurant at several occasions, mainly for family reunions, last time the previous weekend. Food was delicious, the service very friendly and amusing. Great value of costumers relations. Highly recommend to fish lovers.

1  Thank Tamara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Me and my husband went there for dinner. We were pleasantly surprised by the choice of wine and food - which were both delicious. Since we live near it wasn't our last time here.

Thank Rita_Bede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la bellissima recensione...a presto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

This is a great neighbourhood restaurant - worth the €10 taxi ride from the centre.

The seafood pasta and meat course were both delicious, there's lovely local wines and really excellent service (plus complimentary grappa at the end - very dangerous!) it's also incredibly good value. I'd recommend!

Thank HopefulTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione..a presto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

This is a real family business - slightly out of town (a 10 minute cab ride, no more), but worth it if you want to eat somewhere with a welcoming atmosphere, which does simple, well-cooked food. Also worth appreciating the honesty with which dishes that might contain frozen ingredients are identified on the menu - this must be the case for almost every restaurant on the planet, but isn't often flagged. The prawns I had were well cooked and tender, while the Milanese was exactly what I was after. My girlfriend (whose crab pasta was superb) and I both enjoyed the delicious spinach side dish, and the excellent wine. Well worth going out of the way for.

1  Thank cwp_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione.. A presto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria alla Speranza also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Trattoria alla Speranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing