We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy attic flat with big terrace overlooking the hills, the town and the sea”
Review of B&B Ulivo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Ulivo
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy attic flat with big terrace overlooking the hills, the town and the sea”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Went with one other friend and we stayed in the attic flat above Federico's own house. The flat included a bedroom with (what I think was) a queen-sized bed, a little kitchen/living room area, bathroom and terrace overlooking the hills, town and partially the sea. Federico and his wife Laura were extremely friendly - they picked us up from the train station and drove us to the house, and they gave us a free bottle of their homemade limoncello to enjoy after we got back from dinner in town.

Two 'negatives': 1) I'm about 6'3" tall, and the ceiling inside the attic flat was much lower than that in some places (the ceiling was at a slant, so I could stand comfortably on the higher side of the room). This was a slight annoyance, but in a way it made everything more 'cozy'. 2)The shower/tub was also fairly small and the shower head required holding by hand, and with no shower curtain/door, it took some clever maneuvering to avoid drenching the whole bathroom with water.

Overall, though, it was a great place to stay and despite the two 'negatives', the price, location, terrace/balcony, and friendliness of the owners ensure that I would readily recommend it to any two folks going to Monterosso.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This little house is in one of the most amazing spots in the world with the best views of the Cinque Terre coastline. You need to be prepared to walk up a steep hill from the old town, but the smells of the fruit and olive grove, the sit on the balcony afterwards the amazing views will make it all worthwhile. We stayed for four nights as part of a 10 week holiday and would have to say that this was one of the highlights of our trip.

The apartment is basic, but pretty well equipped and Federico is informative and helpful. He even transported us to and from the railway station on arrival and departure. The only thing the apartment could do with would be a washing machine.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfamily67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed here for two nights, best thing about this property is by far the amazing views. The host picked us up and dropped us off at train station, was very gracious and helpful regarding info about the island. The house was very clean, and no AC was not a problem at all as I was previously worried about. I wish there was a wifi network in the house. The walk to old town Monterosso is very pebbly, it was raining and with sneakers I almost slipped walking down. I would not walk down there in anything other than sneakers or hiking shoes. The walk back uphill is rather strenuous and after doing it once we opted to take taxis back from the town to the house, which run 7 EUR. I thought the decor of the house could be updated some, maybe the walls painted to give it some more charm, but then again at 95 EUR a night you can't expect everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caesar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed at one of the rooms in Old Town Monterosso. It was a room with a lot of character- a 400 year old church! The owner was very friendly and made our stay very comfortable. The room had AC which was very nice in the hot month of August. We were about a 3-5 minute walk from the beach and right in the town. The location was perfect! The only problem is the door to your room is right in the main entrance to the building so you can hear when everyone comes and goes. It gets a bit noisy at night and in the morning if you are trying to sleep. I was woken up a few times. Other than that, it was great. Very modern and clean unit- very comfortable with some great character. The hot water runs out pretty quickly, but is to be understood with a 400 year old church! The room came with a TV, kitchen (with a fridge, etc) and a hairdryer. We loved our stay in Monterosso and it was so nice to be able to pop back to the room if we forgot something. I would always suggest staying in Old Town vs new Town- so much more personality and character! We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaryninSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Federico was great. The house was tidy. The views were absolutely amazing. I even found a cold beer in the fridge upon arriving (bonus!). I consider this place a little slice of heaven amidst the olive groves overlooking Monterosso and a bargain to boot. I definitely recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzmanfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

frederico and family are wonderful, picked us up in square, view of sea from kitchen window,terrace nice place to drink and unwind, cooking facilities, breakfast provided but you make own coffee. can't say enough good things, carried suitcase up and down steps took us to square when we left. the family is lucky to live in such a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerwen-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinderhook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This place is unbelievable. The views of the ocean and mountain side are stunning! The house sits off a windy road, high up in the hills overlooking the old village of Monterosso. It is walkable to both villages but the hills are farely steep. The house is surrounded by olive trees, grape vines and lemon trees. The deck outside the bedroom overlooks the hillside down to the water/village. The hosts (Federico and his wife) picked us up and dropped us off at the train station. They are great people with a lot of pride and history for the village of Monterosso. They speak English well and will do what ever they can to help you enjoy your stay. We had a great time and will be back some day to the B & B Ulivo.
The town of Monterosso was beautiful. All the villages had their own character and must be seen. The hike between the villages and the ferry ride are also a must. Bring a camera and good shoes! Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe60899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.3 km away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
392 reviews
2.0 km away
I Lecci di Soviore
I Lecci di Soviore
#45 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
8 reviews
0.0 km away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#8 of 158 in Cinque Terre
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Villa Caribe
Villa Caribe
#32 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
44 reviews
0.3 km away
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi di Sole
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi ...
#43 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
66 reviews
0.3 km away
B&B Verdeacqua
B&B Verdeacqua
#44 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ulivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ulivo

Property: B&B Ulivo
Address: Via Molinelli 87, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay in our B&B you will have the possibility to spend an awesome vacation among an authentic family of Monterosso.You will have at your disposal a bedroom with double bed, a large living room and a private terrace from which you can enjoy a nice seaview. 300 mt. far from the seaside and 500mt far from the train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Ulivo
b&b Ulivo Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
B&B Ulivo Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing