We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay with friendly service”
Review of B&B Ulivo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Ulivo
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed in the B&B Ulivo attic apartment for one week in September and it was fantastic! The apartment sits on top of a hill, so there are a lot of steps to get there, but we kind of liked that it wasn't on the main strip - and the views from the windows and balcony were amazing! Who are we kidding, that exercise up the stairs was much-needed after days filled with pasta, focaccia & gelato, mmmm! B&B Ulivo had everything we needed and more, a large bedroom, a comfortable living area, a simple kitchen (complete with breakfast table), a clean bathroom, and a beautiful balcony. The apartment was very clean and well taken care of. And all this for a very reasonable price!

But the best part by far was the service. Federico, Laura and family were absolutely amazing hosts from the moment we arrived to the moment we left! Our train arrived into Monterosso in the middle of the night but even so Federico picked us up just outside of the train station so we wouldn't have to climb the stairs with our bags (phew!). Throughout our stay they were always happy to give us local suggestions on where to eat (or where not to), and what to see/do. Federico even shared one of his favorite pasta recipes with us and gave us some of his homemade olive oil to help make it. Over the course of the week we had many great conversations and they were always eager to hear what our day consisted of - it was lovely!

There was no internet access but it was no problem....for the few times we really needed to connect Federico let us use his computer. Overall it was a great place to stay - a local vibe, good value, fantastic hosts. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rozeecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed there 8 days in sept 2011. .Praticaly inaccesible if you walk,.very remote area and lot of steps.Up in the mountain. We were misinformed at beginning by owner when we made reservation., We had epidemy of ants all over bedroom..and beds. We called 3 times owner who was not showing up..Apparently it was because we were using body cream. Initially they refused to change drapes and towels after epidemy of ants because apparently they offered us a better price for long stay ...Unacceptable.This is not a B&B , no breakfast...No communication...no internet access,(We Got internet access from downtown) no phone no radio,no TV,nothing.
We were supposed to be picked up at train station...They were not there....With no mobil we could not reach them. WE asked help from straff at restaurant.
Owner was more anxious to get his cash that provide service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaston111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed with Laura and Frederico for 4 nights at the end of September in the attic flat in their house. As other guests have said, the ceilings are low in parts but we coped (just a couple of bumped heads!) We had a lovely stay. They are a lovely couple and picked us up and dropped us off at the train with our luggage. The fridge was a great bonus (to chill wine for the return from walking) and breakfast goodies were provided so you could get up and eat whenever you want. The terrace is a perfect spot to relax after a fantastic day's walking. A great place to stay in a fabulous part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraAllison88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in the apartment on Via Genova and it was beautifully renovated and immaculate. Federico's mother (adorable woman) greeted us and gave us a tour. The best thing about the apartment was that it provided a less touristy, more local experience.

While the lodging was superb, the best thing about our experience with Federico was the service. After a long drive from Florence (with a rental company issued navigation system that consistently failed to get us to our final destination), Federico found us (I was lost and at my wits end), took the rental car off my hands and parked it safely (and for free) for the res tof our stay. At the end of our time in Cinque Terre, he brought it back! It was a godsend and so wonderful!

You will not regret booking with Federico!! We had an incredible stay thanks to him!!

Room Tip: The Via Genova room lacks a view but is very close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights after spending 3weeks in Turkey . We were picked up by Federico from the train station late at night . What a great spot waking every morning to the view across the villages. We found the path a bit steep coming up in the heat but the local buses stopped right outside the house . The view certainly compensated for the walk. We swam a few times at the beach which was very welcome after a days walking.There were many good local restaurants and we even found a bar to watch the All Blacks beat the French..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in Frederico's little house in the hills for 4 days and loved every single minute. It was our favourite place over a 2 week holiday. The view over the town is fantastic from the extremely large terrace leading on the from the bedroom. What could be better!!

The walk into town takes about 10 mins down hill but there are so many paths to follow that it never gets dull. The big 12km Cinque-terre walk is not for the unfit but great way to explore the area.

Fully funtional kitchen with all you need to enjoy leisurely dinners and breakfasts on the terrace area. Restaurants/bars in town in great supply.

Would highly recommend staying here !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalieh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed in Frederico's attic room for several days in April. It was such a lovely space, but not for tall people or people who object to lots of steps to get home (I believe we counted a couple hundred). The terrace was perfect. I did find it a bit weird to be staying in someone's house, however.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smfuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0 km away
Alle 5 Terre
Alle 5 Terre
#17 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
91 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.8 km away
I Coralli
I Coralli
#35 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
83 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ulivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ulivo

Address: Via Molinelli 87, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $77 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay in our B&B you will have the possibility to spend an awesome vacation among an authentic family of Monterosso.You will have at your disposal a bedroom with double bed, a large living room and a private terrace from which you can enjoy a nice seaview. 300 mt. far from the seaside and 500mt far from the train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b&b Ulivo Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Bed And Breakfast Ulivo
B&B Ulivo Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing