We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Scogliera
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Wow... This place is amazing! My wife and I just got home to Santa Barbara and I'm finally sitting down to write some reviews. Were both well traveled people and we know a good thing when we see it, let me tell you, this is a good thing! The room is super clean, the bed is quite comfortable (sometimes hard to find in Italy), and the owners Palo and his mother are the nicest people you could ever meet. We stayed in the single bedroom and it literally is a front row view of the Med, the windows open up right over the water, it was gorgeous... We stayed for two nights at the end of March in the off season, we had the whole town to ourselves, the weather was in the mid 70's, total beach weather, it was perfect. I've heard the vibe here is quite different during high season though... If your adrenaline junky like me there's a good 40 foot cliff jump right outside the room, I'd usually start my day off with a morning espresso / cliff jump session! When we arrived Palo brought us some home made limoncello from his orchard which was really good! Palo and his mother are very welcoming kind people who have lived in the village (Riomaggiore) their whole lives, you couldn't ask for better hosts. Overall, if your looking for a place to stay in Cinque Terre look no further, don't even think, just book, trust me!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

We just returned from Rio Maggiore (March 2012) where we stayed for four (4) nights at La Scogliera. It was 'magical!' We have traveled a lot, we read all of the reviews and our first reaction was, 'wow, this place is a LOT bigger than we anticipated!' Sure the steps are significant, but you should have known that if you're coming to Cinque Terre!!! Sadly, only the Via Del "amore is open, but all towns can be accessed by train. We still purchased the park card (10 Euros for one day, 19 for two) because, between the trains, the path, and the shuttle buses, it was at least an even 'wash,' and was far more convenient than hassling with individual tickets). The apartment is lovely! The view - to die for! There is a wonderful little grocery store just as you exit the tunnel that had everything we needed. We would have a simple breakfast in our apartment, eat out during the day, wherever our journey took us, and make dinner in the evening. One night, we got a grilled tuna steak to go from a place up in the town center, (10 euros, and he included two fresh, hot baguettes of wonderful bread!) and we added a salad we made - best tomatoes we've EVERY had!!! - and some pasta we cooked up with sauce bought from the same little store... best meal in Italy!!)

Paulo was wonderful!! His dear Mama made it down to our apartment at the beginning! They gave us some wonderful homemade Gruppo - the lemon liquor, and he brought us a bottle of red wine from their vineyard, but we brought it home and haven't opened it yet. (local wines in that same grocery store were under 3 euros and fantastic!!!).

On our 3rd day, Paulo rang the doorbell and excitedly came in with a UPS package. In it, he revealed his plaque from Trip Advisor - only two were awarded for Cinque Terre!! I took a photo and told him I would post it on Trip Advisor. He was so proud!

He does a GREAT job, and it is a WONDERFUL place. The bedroom is great - a comfortable full size queen bed and a very unique Murphy bed double - decker 'bunk bed' combo that we didn't need, but would be perfect for two kids, or two additional adults. The bathroom is quite large, with hair dryer. Every room has a window with the amazing view. If you're going to Cinque Terre - stay here!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SMT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed during the offseason in march. We traded sun and fun for fewer crowds. The apartment was clean, the shower hot and the view from the balcony priceless. The proprietors are lovely As per prior reviews there are a lot of stairs to and from la Scogliera and quite a descent from the parking area. If coming by car, consider finding a safe place to park in La Spezia and taking the train to Riomaggiore. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wlbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at the apartment 194 Salita Castello in early January 2012 as La Scogliera was occupied.

Cinque Terre is definitely a must-visit if you are traveling in Italy. Due to the flood in Vernazza and Corniglia, we only managed to walk the Via dell'Amore from Riomaggiore to Manarola. We also visited Monterosso al Mare by train for Euro 2 per person/way and they were then still in the midst of clearing up the debris after the unfortunately flood.

When you get out of the Riomaggiore train station, walk up the slope that is just in front of the station. Having built on the cliff, the walk uphill to get to the start of the staircase leading down the cliff is about 1KM. After which, you descend the cliff by walking through a few flights of steep steps. Pack as light as possible as it is really tough to lug heavy luggage down these steps.

When you reach Agostino/Paulo's house, the apartments are just a few more steps further down. All in, it took us about 30 mins to walk from our apartment to the train station with a 17Kg luggage per person.

The room is definitely cosy and comfortable, facing the beautiful sea. Let the photos speak for themselves. The sweet grandmother provided us with a bottle of Limoncello, which we really loved!

While no breakfast is provided, it is not a problem as you can purchase your breakfast supplies from Coop at Riomaggiore or Manarola. The coffee machine in the room provided us with a good cup of coffee and that was good enough for us. Since we only stayed 3 nights in Cinque Terre, we were fine to do without Internet connection.

Also, do try out the restaurants in Riomaggiore and Manarola, absolutely delicious home-style Italian cooking!

Definitely recommend couples on honeymoon, family, friends and anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery to check out this place!

Room Tip: Whether the apartment 194 or La Scogliera, they both offer splendid views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KuroroMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It was very easy to reserve the apartment by email. The view is priceless. The apartment with a kitchen was very clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable. The shower worked well. The mother, sons, and grandchildren were all very pleasant to deal with.

We prepared most of our meals. There are coops within walking distance where you can buy food and wine.

We stay for 4 days and found plenty of hiking and exploring to do. Don't let last fall's flood deter you from visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dotcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The location of this room is what sets La Scogliera apart from anywhere else we visited in Italy.
It is set into the face of the cliff, straight above the water. The attraction is the amazing position and the view, don't expect hotel type services. Our stay here was a real highlight of our trip to Italy, so the following is only offered as advice. You need to go to the owners apartment to collect the key and none of the family speak much English, which is not a problem, just be aware.
The room is very comfortable and clean, though there are no hotel services included like breakfast or internet connection, which is the first time in our five weeks in Italy and Turkey. There was however a really good espresso machine in the room. Because the whole town of Riomaggiore is built into the hillside, there are a lot of steps to get from the station to the room, so you need to be able to carry all your bags.
There is undoubtedly more "hotel like" accommodation in Cinque Terre, but we absolutely loved everything about our stay here.
Because of the floods last year, much of the walk between the five villages is closed. When we were there in late February only the walk between Riomaggiore and Manorola was open but they appear to be working on repairs to the rest of the trail. We still really enjoyed strolling around both these villages and enjoyed beautiful meals in both.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Agostino and his mother, Maria went out of their way to make us feel welcome while visiting Riomaggiore. The apartment's location and view is amazing and we loved feeling more at home then we ever could in a hotel or B&B - preparing your own meals will do that! :-) We enjoyed fresh local picnic items and wine alongside beautiful sunsets on the balcony and the setting couldn't have been more lovely. The apartment itself is pretty standard - the bed is squeaky and the bathroom a wee bit small, but who really cares when you are in such a gorgeous place?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.4 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
1.9 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
614 reviews
0.4 km away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Salita Castello, 174, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing