We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wished we had stayed longer”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Corine A
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wished we had stayed longer”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We only had two nights at Stella di Rio, but we felt at home almost straight away. We arrived earlier than expected by train, so the lovely lady in the shop below the apartment called Michila for us. Her mother greeted us and helped us settle into the apartment. The apartment was very well appointed, with a welcome basket of goodies. We especially loved the expresso machine. Location on the main street was really convenient for accessing cafes and vege shop & walks.The train station is not far and we found that catching the train between the different villages was great for people with little time. Wished we could have stayed longer..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyNMA
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We are in love.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We just spent a few nights in Michela's apartment in Riomaggiore. Michela's Mama met us at the train station and helped us carry our luggage - which we felt bad for, as we were younger than her. As we walked, her husband and Grandson also met us.
Although there was a language barrier - we speak nearly no Italian, and they no English - we all got our points across and could see they were charming people.
The apartment was beautifully decorated in rustic charm. Lots of bits and pieces everywhere you looked, and yet no too many to look cluttered. Just what we would expect from a quaint little village home.
The apartment was only a few minutes up the Main Street, so it was a little noisy at night and first thing in the morning as shop owners received their supplies, but it was good for us. As our daughter is blind and uses a cane, the short walk from the train with our luggage suited us.
We were told the internet would not be good, but it was. Michela left a basket of ready to eat treats. Not what we are used to for breakfast, but that is why we are traveling, to try new things.
Plenty of restaurants and bars near by, and only minutes from the cute little harbour.
We are in love with the apartment, Riomaggiore and Cinque Terre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki F
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Picture-perfect apartment in the heart of Riomaggiore”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed in this apartment with my husband and two small children in August, peak season. Michaela was just a wonderful host, meeting us outside the village and directing us to a (free!) covered car parking spot (which we were very worried about ahead of time), and then helping us carry our bags to the apartment. The place is right in the very centre of Riomaggiore, which is quite amazing. The steps are extremely steep, so if you have any mobility issues, take note - however, we managed, even with very young children. The apartment itself is just beyond cute - Michaela has thought of every single detail. I wish we could have stayed longer! The décor is just adorable and there were toys left for our children, which made them so happy. There was also coffee and an espresso maker for us, and some free snacks as well as a "mini-bar" set-up with an honour system payment method. Michaela also left us all the information we needed for traveling between the towns of the Cinque Terre and texted us during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed.

Aside from the surprise of having a DJ below our window play very loud music until well after midnight on the Saturday night, this was just the perfect stay. And even the DJ was actually quite fun - he did an early set, and families and kids got into it and danced to the music in the (walking) streets. We even took our own children - 2 and 3 years old - down to dance in the street, a seriously lovely experience. Surprisingly, our kids didn't have trouble getting to sleep when the music started again later at night, so it only kept us up - and you know, we were in Italy, so we just drank a little more wine and enjoyed the atmosphere, watching out the window as the tourists and locals had fun.

I absolutely loved this stay and would highly recommend it. The music is only on Saturday nights - maybe Friday too? - and only in high season, I expect. The only other thing I would note is that the wi-fi was very patchy, but I don't think we anticipated outstanding connectivity in a small fishing village surrounded by cliffs. We would definitely go back, perhaps in the autumn months when the town is less crowded and less hot.

Thanks Michaela and Paolo, for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and decor
Liked least: DJ past midnight
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incerdible location and great hosts”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We drove into the Cinque Terre and were worried about parking options. Michela, our host, arranged to meet us at the village entrance and guide us to a covered parking spot, then helped us carry our bags to the apartment, along with her partner Paolo. Situated up a couple of very (I mean VERY) steep flights of stairs, the location is perfect. It is a couple of minutes walk to the train station or the water. We were there over a weekend in August, so very hot and peak season. You won't find AC anywhere like this, so we had to make do with fans. We also had to deal with a DJ playing tunes on the street below until after midnight on the Saturday but it all contributed to an amazing atmosphere. The apartment has everything you need, including food and drink at cost prices, plus a basket of free snacks. There are also plenty of toys for the little ones, so our 2 and 3 year olds were very happy. Michela also gave us copies of the timetables for the train, bus and ferry to the five villages, though both the ferry and train timetables are, well, Italian (which means they are not reliable). There were plenty of little markets to buy milk, food or whatever for the family and a couple of great takeaway places for fish, pizza and pasta that Paolo pointed out on the walk to the apartment. There is even an ATM right next to the building. MIchela even texted us during the stay to ask if we needed anything! We would go back for sure, but maybe outside of the hot months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Spotty wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson D
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Cinque Terre!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of five stayed in this apartment for two nights. The owner met us at the train station and accompanied us to the apartment. She shared all the details and gave us some great tips. She was very nice and responsive! The apartment isn't large, but it was comfortable. There isn't any air conditioning so it got a bit warm, but the fans provided helped a lot. Overall, the apartment was a great place to stay for our time in the Cinque Terre.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalla27
Medesano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Grazie di cuore non vedo ora di rivedervi Paolo e Michela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luriken
Montesson
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing