We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great panini” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Ristoro

Gran Ristoro
Ranked #6 of 1,942 Restaurants in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Righi
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great panini”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Great italian panino bar. Genuine italian panino (sandwiches). Reasonable pricing, good value. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elliott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    266
    47
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint cezaire sur siagne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The original sandwich bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Go if you love bread and like having a choice of fillings in ur sandwich. Enjoyed our porchetta tonnato. It was a long (30 minute) wait when colombo has the same and more fillings available. Both places are good value,6euro for two sandwiches and two cokes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Voyagermundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
638 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,227 helpful votes
“Genoese Palate Required!...and a strong jaw!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Ok, I must confess, being an American, I just can’t understand the Genoese’s/Italian’s obsession with the Gran Ristoro! This tiny, historical shop, sits under the medieval porticoes street at # 27 in Porto Antico, just behind the beautiful Palazzo San Giorgio. Here’s the drill…get in LINE! There seems to always be a line every time I walk by, but just two doors down is the same kind of Panini restaurant, “Bar Colombo 92” with loads of tasty looking ingredients in the window and no one in line! So Gran Ristoro serves Panini only, a sandwich with a thick, crusty, chewy bread and you get to pick out all the fillings/ingredients/ meats/cheese/mixtures (kind of like a USA Subway!) from dozens of small containers in the window or the displayed meats. There must be over 100 choices! From what I understand there are plenty of shops around serving the same thing, but the bread and ingredients here are the very best. It’s apparently been featured in magazines and newspapers and has a very loyal following. For me the bread was so chewy, I nearly dislocated my jaw and there was so much bread, I hardly tasted the ingredients! I tried Bar Colombo 92 but don’t have a Genoese palate and couldn’t tell the difference, except I didn’t have to wait in line! You can also get drinks there and they offer outdoor seating, if you are lucky enough to find a spot to sit…I would recommend returning to the port area and eat looking out over the water. OK, it’s something that if you are visiting, need a quick fill up and want to try a true Genoese snack; give it a go! But when you wake up with jaw pain, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bread and ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

this is the place to go when you're looking for a delicious "panino". Take care that the place is so successfull that a lot of low quality imitation are now opened in town.The gran ristoro is the original one and only one really worth a visit.
The outdoor seating are just in front of the place where Marco Polo wrote his "milione"

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank utz_paolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

you will not find anything like IL GRAN RISTORO . . . . . . this is the best place for a great PANINO in Genova.
Just try it

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank js1975ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gran Ristoro also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Gran Ristoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing