We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,445)
Filter reviews
1,445 results
Traveller rating
733
579
107
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
579
107
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via roma small square side street opera house old town main piazza central location hotel is excellent breakfast staff bunk beds stayed at this hotel for nights good size walking distance the air conditioning family room wonderful stay three nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,445 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018

This stay was a miserable experience. I booked this hotel, paying twice what I would normally pay, because I had business and needed to sleep before an early morning flight to Paris. However the music from outside the hotel at night (starting around 22:00 and onward) was so loud and close that the windows were rattling. The hotel had these wooden window slats on the glass windows which made much noise from the music. I tried to call down to the front desk to ask for a different room or to see if there were ear plugs, but the phone did not work. So I got dressed and went downstairs, and nicely asked for assistance. This is where the problems began. The hotel refused to move me (there was another affiliated hotel a block away), and did not have any ear plugs. They said the music was "not their problem." Although I appreciate the fact that the hotel itself was not making the noise, it is common practice to have ear plugs for guests in such situations.

Avoid this hotel if you can because it is awful and unprofessional. I stayed in places all over Italy for much less money and this was the worst stay of my whole trip.

Questo soggiorno è stata un'esperienza miserabile. Ho prenotato questo hotel, pagando due volte quello che pagherei normalmente, perché avevo affari e avevo bisogno di dormire prima di un volo di prima mattina a Parigi. Tuttavia la musica di fuori dall'hotel di notte (a partire dalle 22:00 in poi) era così rumorosa e ravvicinata che i finestrini stavano scuotendo. Ho provato a chiamare alla reception per chiedere una camera diversa o per vedere se c'erano tappi per le orecchie, ma il telefono non funzionava. Così mi sono vestito e sono andato al piano di sotto, e ho gentilmente chiesto assistenza. È qui che sono iniziati i problemi. L'hotel ha rifiutato di spostarmi (c'era un altro hotel affiliato a un isolato di distanza), e non aveva tappi per le orecchie. Hanno detto che la musica era "non il loro problema".

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Direzione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Plus City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Mr. CDE82,
we are really sorry to receive your review.
We would like to apologize for the music inconvenient, we can understand your position, but honestly music was not so loud and not in our street, but in Via Roma. There was a shop new opening event authorized by the municipality.
http://www.ilsecoloxix.it/p/genova/2018/09/12/ADfAbkeB-negozi_apertura_vinicio.shtml
We cannot propose you any room change as we were fully booked; anyway your room was higher floor, nothing would have been changed from 6th to 7th (last floor).
Reception staff tried to explain you that this event was not under our responsibility, not that we did not care of you.
It’s no our practice to have ear plugs as we are in a pedestrian street and our rooms are soundproofed.
We know people have different sensibility to sounds, but nobody of our 120 guests complained about it.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
With our best regards.
Fabiana Bagnoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

The staff at this hotel are excellent. They are polite, cheerful, helpful and very efficient. The location is perfect for us, in the centre of the major attractions and offering good communications. There is a restaurant called Pesciolino which is inside the hotel offering very good food and wine - if perhaps a little expensive. When we visit Genoa again we are certain to pick this hotel.

Room tip: Probably higher up and at the back
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaleBazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We stayed here for one night after we disembarked from a cruise we took. The location was perfect! We could walk all over the city without issue. The hotel itself was very clean, comfortable, and peaceful. The staff went above and beyond to help us. They held onto our luggage prior to check in, and after we checked out while we had time to kill before our flight. They directed us to their favorite places around the city to see. The wellness center on the bottom floor was excellent and very clean. It was a relaxing way to end the day after walking all over the city and enjoying such a beautiful place.

My only critique would be to not have people cleaning or doing work in the hallways prior to 8am. It did get loud in the morning when we were still sleepy, I believe some work was being done on our floor.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Savannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring and enjoying all facets of Genova. The reception was cordial and the valet parking much appreciated (as generally parking is a problem in Genova).
Excellent breakfast and a quiet and clean room! Coming again to Genova we ´certainly would stay there again!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hartmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We just spent 2 nights at BW plus city hotel, the location is excellent, as were all the staff. Highly recommend the breakfast, wide choice of food, drinks and great service.
It is a modern hotel with reasonable sized rooms, many good restaurants very near.
We will certainly stay here on our next visit to Genoa, it was comfortable, quiet, good location and great staff at a reasonable rate.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews