We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Go along to a performance if you can

A wonderful building in Piazza De Ferrari, where we were lucky enough to attend a free concert by... read more

Reviewed June 11, 2018
Bon444
,
Dorchester, United Kingdom
A regal yet contemporary venu for opera

This is an exciting place to see opera. Sadly, the original theater was mostly destroyed by bombing... read more

Reviewed January 6, 2017
CBarNyc
,
NYC
Read all 193 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Genoa
from US$38.80
More Info
from US$30.60
More Info
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
105
65
14
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
65
14
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 193 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Completely rebuilt and refurbished, Carlo Felice is a good example of theatrical architecture and interior design. One of few excellent opera houses in Italy, its playbill is a treasure trove for all lovers of bel canto and more. Ballets and instrumental concerts also feature in it, including top stars such as David Garrett (15th April 2016).

2  Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2014

We went to see Carmen. Instead of setting it in a cigarette factory in Spain with bandits in the hills, it was set in a Cuban cigar factory with followers of Che Geuevara and Castro in the hills, with old posters and a Cadillac as props. The music was good and a couple of the singers were excellent.This matinee performance was for schools with left over tickets sold to the public. There were groups of children aged from about 9 to 17 and they loved it! What's more they were well behaved throughout the three-hour performance.

1  Thank bumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you are planning an Opera tour of Italy dont forget to see this "state of the arts" facility.
I went there for the Verdi's Otello in Januray 2014. Simply the best Opera performance I have seen in Italy in that period.

Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I happened to go into the theatre during our recent visit to Genoa to enquire about their operatic programme. There were no suitable performances for our dates, but the very helpful lady in the information office recommended we attend that evening’s free performance by the symphony orchestra, with guest conductor Maurizio Billi. I don’t know how often free concerts are given, but there was another free afternoon concert three days later. The patrons appeared to be mainly residents of Genoa who queued about an hour before start time. We had no difficulty getting excellent seats.
The interior appearance of the theatre is quite disappointing. It struck us as being pretty utilitarian. However, acoustically it was perfect, and the seating was comfortable.
The performance, lasting almost two hours, included relatively well known pieces by Verdi, Tchaikovsky, Bellini, Ponchielli, Rossini and Borodin – an excellent sampler even if you’re an unsophisticated concert-goer!
When in Genoa I strongly recommend that you check out the programme at Teatro Carlo Felice.

Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to see and hear Verdi's La Traviata. Although I thought I was ordering the tickets well in advance, I was wrong and we had high seats. Even with the less than the best location, the performance was greatly enjoyed. Bravo.

2  Thank FrankColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews