We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
44
82
21
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
82
21
6
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We had to come here on an emergency, so we arrived at 1AM. The staff was very friendly. The room was bloody cold, even with the heating on at full power. In the morning we asked for an extra radiator, and they provided it, which made the situation a lot better. They explained that we had a "corner room" and apologised it. Anyway, no real complaints: if we had to stay longer than one night, then we would have had a warm room. All in all, we think this is a very nice hotel, and we would definitely recommend it. Very good breakfast too!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPinSvezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuliana S, Direttore at Hotel Iris, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel.
It is good to know that you liked the hotel, our buffet breakfast and that you found our staff nice and helpful.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience regarding the room heating. In fact the room you had is usually a bit colder than other rooms, because it is located at the end of the building, in a corner position. We are relieved to hear that thanks to the extra radiator the situation has improved.
The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are our number one priority. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Next time we will make sure to reserve you a more comfortable room.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Only spent one night and booked last minute. Great location and easy to find from the motorway exit and ample free and secure parking which we needed. Dog friendly which was great, our room was spacious, clean and had a nice terrace too although without view. Friendly staff. We did not have breakfast but I walked the dog in the morning to the seafront and picked up fresh pastries and coffees in a nice local shop and enjoyed them on the balcony. Free bottles of water (nice touch), close to a few restaurants and the seafront, recommended.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheDivingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuliana S, Direttore at Hotel Iris, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Iris Hotel.
It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff nice and helpful.
Taking the cue from your comment, we are pleased to confirm that pets are welcome in all our rooms, except Superior rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2015

We visited Genoa for a couple of days and chose this hotel because it was good value with free secure parking that meant we were not forced to drive in the city.
The consequence wa that we had to get a bus in and out but this was no real hardship.
The hotel was only yards from the sea front and we enjoyed walking along it and eating at a reasonable restaurant right on the sea.
We changed rooms on arrival to one with a balcony which actually was cheaper than the one we had booked.
The air conditioning was first class throughout the hotel which was very important while we were there when temperatures were over 30C.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful.
Foolishly I left the sidelights on our car on for enough hours to run down the battery. No problem - the receptionist who spoke good English tracked down a mechanic with a portable battery which got us going for only 20 Euro.
I had stated my need for gluten free food and each morning they laid on a special tray for me _ impressive attention to detail.
As for access, the hotel had arranged large signs for drivers at every junction for at least a km around, which was great. It is close to the autoroute which runs parallel to the coast.

This is not a flashy hotel but very good value and recommended.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank Happiness802944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuliana S, Direttore at Hotel Iris, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at our hotel.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that you found our staff nice and helpful.

We whould like to take the cue from your observations regarding our breakfast buffet, to point out that the hotel provides celiac menu with gluten-free certified products.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Genoa.

With warmest wishes,


Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights.

Pros: nice, sound blocking windows and tapparelle; awesome shower head, plenty of pillows; air conditioning; close to beach access; friendly staff; free wifi

Cons: mediocre breakfast; room decor fairly old fashioned; found one small insect and one ant in room in first 24 hours

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2015

We selected this hotel because it offered a convenient location (close to train and bus lines), on-site parking, and free wifi. All were true. Then it turned into so much more. The room was very neat and clean and had a king size bed and fridge. Wifi was fast and reliable. The staff spoke great English, very helpful since we speak no Italian. They recommended a great restaurant, provided several maps with instructions on how to get where we wanted to go, and lent us adapters for our US appliances. When we were too late for breakfast, they gave us (free) cappuccinos and pastries to bring to the room later. All that would merit a 5 from us.

The above-and-beyond service related to a mishap. My husband fell while running and cut his forehead. The people at the desk directed us to a pharmacy. Then when we thought it was more serious, one of the staff members drove us into town to a hospital, about 15 minutes away. Who else would do that?

To the folks at Hotel Iris, thank you so much! Grazie!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancykeuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuliana S, Direttore at Hotel Iris, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay at our hotel.

It was wonderful to read that you found our service outstanding from the moment you arrived to the moment you left. It is always lovely to hear that a guest has enjoyed every part of the hotel. We work hard to make each and every guest's stay special at The Iris.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Genoa.

With warmest wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews