We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place :)”

Galata Museo del Mare
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.41*
and up
Genoa Aquarium, Tropical Garden, Panoramic Lift...
Ranked #18 of 291 things to do in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Very nice place :)
Please do not miss the Boat,
The kids from 17-5 years enjoy the exhibitions :)
one child is free of charge from the three!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Marton33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"maritime history"
in 26 reviews
"audio guide"
in 25 reviews
"full size"
in 13 reviews
"four floors"
in 10 reviews
"top floor"
in 19 reviews
"real submarine"
in 9 reviews
"life size"
in 8 reviews
"immigration experience"
in 5 reviews
"excellent museum"
in 7 reviews
"italian immigration"
in 3 reviews
"christopher columbus"
in 17 reviews
"roof terrace"
in 5 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 6 reviews
"modern times"
in 3 reviews
"english explanations"
in 5 reviews
"modern museum"
in 4 reviews
"andrea doria"
in 4 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Hello,

We were at this Maritime Museum and we loved it. The downside is that they have a real submarine that you can visit but the kids below 4 years are not allowed. Anyway go and visit it, because you will not be disappointed.

Enjoy!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank mugurnedelciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

A very detailed and absorbing museum, if you are interested in all things maritime; naval history and warfare, seafaring, Genoa and the sea, exploration, migration, even sea myths and monsters. Some of the earlier sections are not so well lit, and a few of the exhibits are not translated, but the detail and interactive sections make up for this. The sea myths and monsters was especially interesting and the accompanying text a very smart cultural studies approach. I would allow for a lit of time. The visit is 13 euros, which sounds a lot but I think it is worth it - you can visit a submarine for an extra 6 or so euros, but that ain't for me.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We visited the museum under my other half's insistence. As someone who is not particularly interested in boats I warn all others alike me that this is not for you. This is 3 hours (at a quick pace) of model boats, paintings of boats, information about boats and a couple of life size boats. Even the view on the top floor did not make it worth it. 3 stars as despite my thoroughly not enjoying it, my other half did. The U Boat at the end took us approximately 5 minutes to pass through (not sure how people are spending half hour in here it's an in out job) but that part I must say was genuinely interesting.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We loved the museum, especially the interactive parts like the galea and the emigration "trip" It is classic and innovative at the same time

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank J0an75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galata Museo del Mare also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Galata Museo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing