We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-08
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-07
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$69
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-08
Hotels.comUS$79
PricelineUS$80
TravelocityUS$79
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
338
455
172
53
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
338
455
172
53
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station cinque terre superior room early train breakfast was included five towns base elevator cappuccino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019

I'll start with the positive: like the title says Great Location, an only 1-minute walk from the train station. Also, a couple of minutes walk to the pedestrian Via Fiume where you can find lots of restaurants, gelaterias, souvenir shops, etc. The breakfast is great, lots to choose from. Our room was ok (size wise), the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was really nice. The staff at the restaurant, the bar and the lady at the reception were very professional and I would like to thank them for making us feel welcomed.
Now the negative: Unfortunately the hotel has very small parking and you need to reserve a parking stall in advance ( we didn't know that, unfortunately). The front desk staff ( well the two older gentlemen ) need more customer service training in my opinion.
Overall a good experience.

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank Misumikee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for your great review and your nice words about our Hotel. We apologize you did not know it was necessary to reserve the garage in advance, on our website we specify it but we'll make sure to do it more clear.
Also thank you for your report about the staff., reviews like yours are helpul to grow. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2019

The hotel is right across from the railway station and so very convenient for catching a train to the Cinque Terre and other destinations; but it is also only a 5-10 minute walk from the main shopping and restaurant area and the various museums, and also from the bus stop for Portovenere. I stayed in a superior room, which consisted of a reasonable-sized bedroom, small dressing room with couch convertible into a bed, and very large and modern bathroom. The bed was a little hard but still comfortable. The room was very quiet except for the occasional sound of the plumbing in the night, and looked on to a courtyard. The air conditioning was effective, though a bit noisy. Breakfast was a buffet in a rooftop room with great views and offered a reasonable choice of hot and cold options. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the public areas and outside of the hotel were smart. The hotel is currently undergoing a major extension next door, so in the daytime there is quite a lot of noise from the builders, but this does not start too early or finish late and we were out in the daytime anyway. The only drawback to the hotel is that it is not well set up to cater for people in wheelchairs or with serious mobility problems. One young man in a wheelchair who checked in on the last day found that the only lift was too narrow for his wheelchair to enter and it took a convoluted procedure involving several members of staff to find a way to get him to his 3rd-floor room. Moreover, it is necessary to climb quite a lot of stairs to reach the breakfast room and it was not clear that there was any alternative.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ak0usila0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Thank you very much for your rewiew.About the disabled custome that you saw we can tell you this.The hotel has a room for disabled customer at the ground floor but in this period due to ongoing work is unfit.The customer booked the room on booking site and we could not warn him.Our lift is approved to guarantee access to a whellchair for the disabled however his wos larger.About the brekfast for disabled they can do breakfast at the bar situated at the ground floor of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2019 via mobile

Avoid this awful place. Yes it’s relatively central in La Spezia, but the interior is knackered. Faded but no glory. The rooms are small and miserable and ours had a damp patch fading through from the bathroom. The hotel is situated on one of the noisiest streets in the city but has crappy noise insulation and we asked to be moved but no dice. No refurbishment seems to have occurred in the last few decades but building work is going on next door... Finally, the staff were sullen and unhelpful.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EstebanVerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

We are very afraid that your room not wos like you aspected.We propose you a deluxe room one of the 7 room at the 5 floor,the new and the more beautiful room of the hotel,but you didn't answer us.We hope to give you a better hotel stay next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and it was just great. Ariana at the front desk took such good care of us. She made sure our twin beds became a double. She printed out rail schedules for us. She recommended restaurants and always asked us how we spent our day. The convenience to the train station and the pedestrian area makes this a perfect place to stay in La Spezia. Included buffet breakfast was like the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joannef213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Dera Joanne, thank you for spending some time posting a review about our Hotel and mostly thank you for your nice words, they make us so happy. We hope to see you soon and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2019

Our room was on the 6th floor, the only room. The elevator only goes to 5. It was a lovely room with a fantastic view and the sound of the church bells in the background. Breakfast was excellent. Location is excellent. The bar is expensive!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
mariagabriellal9, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for the wonderful review about our Hotel. It makes us so happy. We hope to see you soon and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews