We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm, yeah not bad, yawn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of CDH Hotel La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CDH Hotel La Spezia
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mmm, yeah not bad, yawn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I thought this would be a pretty good hotel, currently ranked number 3 in La Spezia, but maybe its more about how ordinary the other hotels are in the area.
Lets face it, you're probably just staying there to head to Cinque Terre which is cool, so maybe the hotel doesn't matter that much, but the hotel has a fairly sparse feel. Like the floors in the rooms are tiled, which never makes it feel welcoming to me. More that they just want something thats easy to clean after guests. Not a bad location because just down the back 100m are shops and restaurants of the old town.
Staff were fine, internet was fine, bathroom was clean enough, so I guess it does the job of somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    276
    148
    50
    27
See reviews for
110
292
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our daughter had recommended this hotel when she visited the area and I can say we were not disappointed. Although it would have been nice to stay in one of the Cinque Terre towns, reservations were difficult to make because of limted availability. My One Hotel is only 10 minutes away from the train station which took us to all of the towns within minutes. The hotel is very modern and its cost is much less than those in the tourist areas. Breakfast was excellent, the staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was absolutely great with excellent air conditioning in the summer heat. We stayed four nights and one day we traveled to Torre del Lago the home of Puccini to visit the opera area. The hotel provided a central site accessible by train to this location. I would definitely recommend this hotel when visiting Cinque Terre..

Room Tip: Room had a deck attached to it which was a real bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultan, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel was clean and well maintained. Nothing spectacular. The staff was accomodating but not overly friendly.

We appreciated the convenient location within walking distance to the train station and ferries. It is also nicely located in the city center with tons of shopping and dining located just outside the doors.

There is a grocery store nearby, which is handy for stocking up on snacks, water, beer and wine. We emptied out the mini fridge and replaced it with our own purchases to save money. Worth noting - the fridge and air conditioner only work when your key is inserted in the slot so don't expect icy cold beverages waiting for you if you've been out all day.

The free wi-fi is a nice convenience once you figure out how to log on. Ask the front desk for help if you have any trouble.

The shower was small and it took some effort to figure out how to close the shower doors just right so water didn't leak all over the floor.

Breakfast is what we came to expect in Italy - pastries, cakes, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, cereal, and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welove2travel850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is in La Spezia, which is a 10 minute train ride from the closest village of Cinque Terre if this is what you came here for. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, so to visit the Cinque Terre and come back you will have to take the train every time. The Cinque Terre tourist organization at the train station hands out train schedules. Make sure to arrive early to get tickets for the train as there can be long lines and the machines often malfunction. Besides this you need to validate your train ticket before you get on the train. By not doing so we were fined as were other tourists, but nobody will tell you this. The hotel itself was small and nice. There is an elevator which will bring you a few levels down to the main streets of La Spezia and prevents you from a lot of walking. The staff was friendly and everybody spoke English. If I come back I would choose a place to stay in Cinque Terre, but this has more to do with location than the quality of the hotel. La Spezia itself was not very exciting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is a good hotel in a good location and was very reasonably priced. It was clean, well kept and the staff were friendly. We even got a discount for a night without any air conditioning, which was very much appreciated! We would compare this hotel to a premier in/travel lodge in the Uk. It has everything you need but no real extras. Well worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I booked this on the strength of the good reviews here - but can only think that I slipped through into a parallel universe on arrival, as my experience was anything but good. OK, you can overlook the design - somewhere between a prison and a hospital - and the welcoming committee (drills and builders on one side of the hotel) - but everything about the place screams cheap and shoddy! The walls seem to have been constructed from reinforced cadboard. We were slightly prejudiced as for the two days (of three booked) we were there the air conditioning wasn't working - even though we were told regularly that the technician was working on it! (He must have been very frustrated - all those hours' work and no result). But then the little things started piling up - such as the toilet seat not being fixed properly, no plug in the sink of my friend's room ( he nearly lost a ring down the hole) - bathroom fittings that - well, didn't quite fit and had clearly been installed by an amateur, poor Wifi, mobile phone and TV reception, a mysterious dirty and sticky patch on my toilet seat, a dirty shower head and shower doors that didn't quite fit and pinched your fingers as you tried to get them into place and, and, and... We weren't booked for breakfast so I can't comment on that. On the very small plus side - the hotel was reasonably quiet and well located and the staff were mostly polite. What was annoying about the whole thing is that it wasn't that cheap - and we didn't get what we had paid for!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GermanicusBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at the My One Hotel in La Spezia during our European holiday. Great location not far from the main railway station which was an excellent base for our daily trips to the Cinque Terre walking trails. The room was clean, spacious and comforatable with a balcony. Staff were friendly and readily available to assist with any request. Would definately return to the hotel when in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baldijd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.5 km away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CDH Hotel La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CDH Hotel La Spezia

Property: CDH Hotel La Spezia
Address: Via XX Settembre, 81, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CDH Hotel La Spezia 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CDH Hotel La Spezia is located 3 km from the highway exit "La Spezia", 2,5 km from the La Spezia Port and from 80 km from the G. Galilei International Airport of Pisa. Hotel has a free outdoor parking for a quick stop for luggages and a covered garage, reserved for hotel Guests. The railway station is just 3 minutes walk, to visit Cinque Terre. CDH Hotel La Spezia, located on one of the most beautiful cost of Italy, in the city center of La Spezia and Guests can visit the city, can go shopping walking. Free wi-fi internet connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your CDH Hotel La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My 1 Hotel La Spezia
My One La Spezia
La Spezia My One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing