We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and it was a better than expected. Easy to find by car or train with a small parking lot. Best to park car and forget about it. The grounds were beautiful and staff very friendly. We stayed in the annex and loved it. A short walk from the main hotel, the room was basic but large and clean with nice size bathroom. Would stay in the annex again if we return, liked the sea view and gardens outside our room. Location was terrific, easy access to restaurants, ferry, train and bus. Great location for an early morning run or walk. A healthy walk to Portofino from the hotel and an easy ferry ride to San Fruttuoso Abbey (another pleasant surprise).. Very well priced for the area. Stayed three weeks in Italy and this was a very pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcwn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    243
    59
    18
    7
See reviews for
130
387
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I chose this hotel because it was offered with a very good rate on one of the booking websites. Because of a rail strike later in the day, we arrived at this hotel at 7.30am after an easy walk from the station. We were very grateful to be given access to our room straight away. It was in the annex but this was not a drawback - fully compensated for by the spectacular views across the magnificent bay. My husband watched all the movement of ships on the bay with great interest. We stayed here mainly to be able to visit Portofino, to which we caught a ferry. No hotel we saw in Portofino had such a good position as the Metropole.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villaga, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I chose this hotel largely based on the Tripadvisor reviews - as always, Tripadvisor was spot on. I was at first a bit concerned that Santa Margherita was too far a commute from Cinque Terre, and debated staying in one of the five villages. In hindsight, Santa Margherita - and the Metropole specifically - were the perfect base from which to see the five towns, which require no more than a day trip.
Santa Margherita Ligure is a charming town, with a lot more to offer in both ambiance and options than any of the small villages of the Cinque Terre - the ambiance of the Cinque has been stamped out by hoards of tourists, though they are still worth a day trip.
The Metropole is a fabulous hotel, with consistently friendly staff, reasonable rates, spacious rooms, an ample buffet breakfast, a stunning pool and situated perfectly on the Santa Margherita bay, within easy walking distance of numerous dining options and bars, and a <5 minute walk to the train station (with frequent, direct trains to Cinque Terre).
You can also reach Portofino by foot, a stunning 5 kilometer walk or run along the coast.
The Metropole, and Santa Margherita, were highlights of my trip to Cinque Terre. I hope to return again, and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank SBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We drove from Lake Como to Santa Margerita Ligure and found this hotel beautifully positioned on the sea. We got a sea view room with a large sun deck/ balcony looking right at the ocean. Room was smallish but comfortable and in a separate building to main hotel. best thing was it was only a ten minute walk to town and some of the most amazing restaurants in Italy, namely Antonios and L'Insolita Zuppa. A ferry ride to Portofino (overrated) and great ocean swimming in front of hotel. The pool was small but very inviting, breakfast was complimentary and adequate. The train station was a 5 minute walk away and we suggest a visit to Comoglia, where you should take a swim and browse the funky shops. We had a car and only didn't use it once in our 4 day stay, but needed it to drive back to Milan for our flight to Sicily. It's not necessay here.

Room Tip: a sea view will make it more enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent four nights here staring the 18th October. The hotel is in a good position, close to the station and a three minute walk downhill into town(not a steep hill). The reception is light and airy and the hotel has a car park alongside at a cost of €12pd. We left the car in our walks around the town, as it's a nice stroll even to the far end of the bay.

The junior suite we had was junior, i.e. a bit small. The sitting or lounge area was more of a corridor and we didn't use it because of the size. Most suites, junior or otherwise, that we have stayed in have had a TV in them and a bit of room to walk around. This suite had neither. The room itself was clean and bright with a great view over the bay and harbour.

Breakfast is served in the main dining room, buffet style and offers a good selection of cheese, meats etc for the continental breakfast. There was one heated tureen offering bacon and scrambled egg, which was OK.

Overall a good place to stay and although our visit was at the end of the season, the hotel was still fully staffed and they provided smiling service. Value for money was a bit overpriced, but Italy, especially in this area, is expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, although it might be extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lifeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We were traveling to / from Santa Margherita Ligure by train to visit the Cinque Terre and surrounding Riviera towns, so proximity to the train station was important.

The hotel is located literally 2 minutes from the train station (exit the station, walk down the tiny hill on the left and the hotel is across the street). The location is excellent - right along the water and within minutes of the town center where there are many wonderful shops and restaurants. La Lampara and Ristorante Dal Baffo were great.

Our room (401) was located in the annex, Villa Porticciolo. The room was very clean and best of all, there was a HUGE terrace that looked out to the ocean. There was a table with chairs as well as 2 loungers. The room was on the ground floor but offered a great amount of privacy. The common areas and hotel grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We loved the private beach area! The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a nice selection of pastries & cakes, fruits, eggs & bacon, yogurts, cereals, hams & cheeses.

This was really a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilovecookie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

my wife and i stayed on october for 4 nights.it was our first time in this area and booked this hotel based on this web site.
the hotel is in an old building and the maintenance is o.k.
the staff and it's service was excellent !!
we ate dinner once and the food was great.
the breakfast buffet was o.k.
the hotel garden is very nice.
you must take a room with a balcony with the sea/garden view because the road on the oher side is very noisy.
october is great for visiting this area because it's off season so you can get everywhere by car, even to 5 Terre.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yossixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 km away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Property: Metropole
Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing