We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropole
Nearby Hotels
Imperiale Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$303
US$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Continental(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$189
US$183
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$192
US$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lido Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$144
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Miramare(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$403
US$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$215
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Regina Elena(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Anita(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blu di Te(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$327
US$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
468
272
63
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
272
63
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcinque terremain buildingbeautiful groundsprivate beachshort walksea viewnice poolbeach baritalian rivierastaff was very friendly and helpfulold stylelounge chairslovely hotelfavorite hotelold world charmlocation is excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I chose this hotel because it was offered with a very good rate on one of the booking websites. Because of a rail strike later in the day, we arrived at this hotel at 7.30am after an easy walk from the station. We were very grateful to be given access to our room straight away. It was in the annex but this was not a drawback - fully compensated for by the spectacular views across the magnificent bay. My husband watched all the movement of ships on the bay with great interest. We stayed here mainly to be able to visit Portofino, to which we caught a ferry. No hotel we saw in Portofino had such a good position as the Metropole.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I chose this hotel largely based on the Tripadvisor reviews - as always, Tripadvisor was spot on. I was at first a bit concerned that Santa Margherita was too far a commute from Cinque Terre, and debated staying in one of the five villages. In hindsight, Santa Margherita - and the Metropole specifically - were the perfect base from which to see the five towns, which require no more than a day trip.
Santa Margherita Ligure is a charming town, with a lot more to offer in both ambiance and options than any of the small villages of the Cinque Terre - the ambiance of the Cinque has been stamped out by hoards of tourists, though they are still worth a day trip.
The Metropole is a fabulous hotel, with consistently friendly staff, reasonable rates, spacious rooms, an ample buffet breakfast, a stunning pool and situated perfectly on the Santa Margherita bay, within easy walking distance of numerous dining options and bars, and a <5 minute walk to the train station (with frequent, direct trains to Cinque Terre).
You can also reach Portofino by foot, a stunning 5 kilometer walk or run along the coast.
The Metropole, and Santa Margherita, were highlights of my trip to Cinque Terre. I hope to return again, and again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank SBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We drove from Lake Como to Santa Margerita Ligure and found this hotel beautifully positioned on the sea. We got a sea view room with a large sun deck/ balcony looking right at the ocean. Room was smallish but comfortable and in a separate building to main hotel. best thing was it was only a ten minute walk to town and some of the most amazing restaurants in Italy, namely Antonios and L'Insolita Zuppa. A ferry ride to Portofino (overrated) and great ocean swimming in front of hotel. The pool was small but very inviting, breakfast was complimentary and adequate. The train station was a 5 minute walk away and we suggest a visit to Comoglia, where you should take a swim and browse the funky shops. We had a car and only didn't use it once in our 4 day stay, but needed it to drive back to Milan for our flight to Sicily. It's not necessay here.

Room Tip: a sea view will make it more enjoyable
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent four nights here staring the 18th October. The hotel is in a good position, close to the station and a three minute walk downhill into town(not a steep hill). The reception is light and airy and the hotel has a car park alongside at a cost of €12pd. We left the car in our walks around the town, as it's a nice stroll even to the far end of the bay.

The junior suite we had was junior, i.e. a bit small. The sitting or lounge area was more of a corridor and we didn't use it because of the size. Most suites, junior or otherwise, that we have stayed in have had a TV in them and a bit of room to walk around. This suite had neither. The room itself was clean and bright with a great view over the bay and harbour.

Breakfast is served in the main dining room, buffet style and offers a good selection of cheese, meats etc for the continental breakfast. There was one heated tureen offering bacon and scrambled egg, which was OK.

Overall a good place to stay and although our visit was at the end of the season, the hotel was still fully staffed and they provided smiling service. Value for money was a bit overpriced, but Italy, especially in this area, is expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, although it might be extra.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lifeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We were traveling to / from Santa Margherita Ligure by train to visit the Cinque Terre and surrounding Riviera towns, so proximity to the train station was important.

The hotel is located literally 2 minutes from the train station (exit the station, walk down the tiny hill on the left and the hotel is across the street). The location is excellent - right along the water and within minutes of the town center where there are many wonderful shops and restaurants. La Lampara and Ristorante Dal Baffo were great.

Our room (401) was located in the annex, Villa Porticciolo. The room was very clean and best of all, there was a HUGE terrace that looked out to the ocean. There was a table with chairs as well as 2 loungers. The room was on the ground floor but offered a great amount of privacy. The common areas and hotel grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We loved the private beach area! The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a nice selection of pastries & cakes, fruits, eggs & bacon, yogurts, cereals, hams & cheeses.

This was really a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ilovecookie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews