We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much the traditional grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Very much the formal, traditional grand hotel but with amiable, helpful staff. The bedrooms bathrooms and public areas were spacious and beautifully furnished exactly as you might expect. Food and service of high standard and charged accordingly. However, the large indoor and outdoor pools were looking tired and would benefit from a spruce up to be commensurate with a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were so excited to finally get to Lake Como and thought we had carefully selected a great hotel. The views and location were awesome. As much as I would thoroughly recommend a trip to this area, I would advise travelers to find a greater value in a hotel. The prices in this hotel were just too high to the point of gouging. Our room was average, but nothing special for the price .

As world travelers, we know what a tourist trap is, and we thought it would be responsible to pass this along.

To be fair, we did eat dinner in the "casual" restaurant, and the quality of the food was good, as was breakfast. It was just not worth the price tag.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank for your stay at our property.
I am sorry to hear that although you enjoyed the location and some of our service, you were not completely satisfied.
Our goal is to have as many happy clients as possible, but this much depends on personal expectations and mood especially when visiting an historic hotel such as ours.
Thanks to our Guests we have built a reputation by catering to an international clientele for over a century and this goes well beyond the mere price of the accommodation.
We are receiving accolades from major travel magazines, such as Conde Nast Traveller and Travel + Leisure, who base their ranking an guests report.

Your comments have been taken into great consideration and we will certainly try harder to do even better.
As a matter of fact we are currently working on the Restaurants, we will continue to have our Mistral Restaurant, but relocated on the main terrace, while opening a new restaurant called La Goletta, which will be a more casual restaurant, serving local and regional Italian food.

I sincerely hope you will enjoy your next visit with us

Antonio Calzolaro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Lake Como & Bellatrix are as close to perfection as one can get! We loved the Hotel and even though it is somewhat dated this only added to the charm. We found all the staff and especially the concierge to be extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We had a lovely lake view 3rd floor deluxe room with a double balcony.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get a deluxe lake view room --- worth every penny!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The only positive point I can make about this hotel is the location and its setting.
It is overpriced, the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. The breakfast is shocking. For a 5 star deluxe hotel I do not expect to pay 9 euros for freshly squeezed orange juice. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in for the price that I paid. I will never RETURN!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nathenmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Firstly, Bellagio is fabulous and well worth visiting, but recommend you stay in one of the other hotels in this beautiful town.This hotel is very over-rated and hideously expensive and everyone who works there has an inflated opinion of themselves and their workplace. The fabulous pool by the lake that you'll see on their website was so cold it was more a plunge pool and we saw only 2 very brave children attempt to swim in it for 5 minutes. The hotel reception area was cramped and unimpressive and the staff struggled to speak English. We were shown to our room via some dark cold corridors, and it felt we had arrived at a convent. The room we had was on the 3rd floor with a high concrete balcony and we had to stand on a chair to see over! It was a bright sunny room and the bathroom was nice and there was a window that opened to the balcony/lake which you could see if you were tall. Furniture was pretty and modern but only basic facilities in bedroom. We ate in the restaurant and it felt like being in a corridor. We could hardly see the lake for the strange window arrangement. The waiters were imposing and the menu brief and uninspiring and extortionately priced. Everyone in the restaurant that night were very elderly (and rich no doubt) and we wished we had gone out to a local restaurant instead. The indoor pool was ok but a little neglected, used mainly by children. The head bar waiter was particularly arrogant and got cross when he couldn't provide a Cinzano for me! I obviously I should have chosen a drink they actually had. We went to the restauant at 8pm but the waiters were huddled together having a meeting and the place was closed! We hoverred around until they felt fit to open it about 13 mins later. We felt all the time that we were imposing on their lives. We did take up their private boat hire and were chauffered around Lake Como for over an hour by a knowledgable local captain who did at least try with his English. Lake Como is absolutely spectacular. We will return, but definitely not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank truthtime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights end August with my wife. First time in Lake Como and Bellagio. One word describes it all: Magnificent! Drove rental car from Milan to Como town, then followed beautiful narrow road to Bellagio; very very nice.

Villa Serbelloni clearly met our expectations. Enjoyed room on 3rd floor with magnificent view of the lake. Go for a room with lake view; it´s basically why you´re there in the first place.

Staff is very friendly; food in excellent! Sure, there are cheaper alternatives in Bellagio, but nothing else even comes close to offering the same grandeur and atmosphere!

Room Tip: Go for a lake-view room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Good welcome, lovely superior room, above average breakfast, expensive for pool lunch but good quality, very good gastronomic dinner, pleasant music and dancing, excellent bar staff, very good concierge, spot on with restaurant reservations, wonderful views from the hotel and so peaceful. Just great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.6 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,098 reviews
21.3 km away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
758 reviews
2.9 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $643 - $1,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing