We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could be so much more....but it aint!”
Review of Hotel Villa Flori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Flori
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It could be so much more....but it aint!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The exterior of the property is nice, the outside dining are at the waters edge is....nice.
But, the hotel has more of a northern europe feel ( Germany, The Netherlands) and there's nothing wrong with that it's that I was in Italy and wanted an Italian feel to the space.
The front desk is a tad disorganized when it comes to guests requests.
The food served was, well, it was edible but that's all. And the coup de gras was the traffic noise and a relentless thumping of our room from trucks driving by. Reminded me of a motel on the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottCarenJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    156
    63
    30
    17
See reviews for
54
228
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice in the last ten months and I'd stay there again as well. It is located directly on the lake in Cernobbio about a mile and a half to the center of Como. It's a beautiful walk to town (20 minutes) for those who don't mind the exercise. Internet was complimentary on my most recent trip (March 2012). I took a cab there from the train station and didn't have any daily parking charges. The food is really good and the staff was helpful (the bartender was awesome!). I had great service at all times (contrary to other reviews on here). Considering that most of the nicer hotels in the center of Como are noisy and $400 a night or more, The Villa Flori is the best deal I could find and it is right on the lake as well.

Room Tip: Any room that faces the lake will have an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6steelstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is probably the most overpriced hotel we have stayed in for some time. It used to be a slightly tired hotel that friends recommended, but it has now been refurbished and the prices raised to match. It is not just the room rates, which you can judge for yourself, but all the little extras which soon add up. Of course, you do get amazing views from well-appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony, but what you don't see from the publicity is that it is on a main road which is very noisy and some distance from alternative restaurants and bars. You're probably better off staying down the road in Cernobbio.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I am afraid that I have to agree with some of the previous reviews and despite this Hotel have some ambition, it fails to deliver in any possible way. Rooms are overpriced for what they offer, small and noisy ( the hotel is located on a busy corner), with ridiculous toiletries and poor linen and no International TV-channels. Parking is charge 25 Euros per day and Internet connection a ridiculous price per day. You have the feeling that you are disturbing with your presence and staff is really unfriendly. I took here some clients and really regretted. The only good note is the restaurant, good food, good wine list and the manager is nice and professional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Weddinginrome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in October, and loved it all. Our room was gorgeous, the view was just like the pictures you see, and we were surprised by bonus fireworks on our second night (a Sunday).

Some of the other reviews have criticized poor service, and honestly, we just didn't have that experience. We got a corkscrew from the bar...we got ice from the bar. We were greeted coming in and out every day. Just nothing like the other reviews, but also understanding that our expectations may have different than those that were disappointed.

Overall, it was a high point in our trip, and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregfew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel in September. It's a quiet hotel but our room was near to the road, it wasn't a problem if you close the verandah doors. People here complained about the service, it wasn't that bad, the Filipino porter is very helpful. The front desk staff are ok but maybe that's the Italian way. Don't forget to walk up the road for 20 minutes to Villa D'este for pre-dinner drinks, it's not very expensive and the view is marvelous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Yes, they renovated but they failed to change their dismissive, disdainful attitude. Just came back from three nights
in their 398 E/night junior suite which had no robes, slippers, turndown service, and when you called the front desk you got attitude. 25 E/per day for parking, 8 E per day/wifi, and the most pretentious restaurant staff ever. Interestingly, the entire hotel staff seemed to be quite unified in this "inhospitality."

This stay was at the end of a three-week tour of Italy. We stayed at B and B's, a Relais hotel and an airport hotel. Villa Flori was the only one that made us feel unwelcomed and glad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regal328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
1.9 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.9 km away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
21.3 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
22.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Flori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Flori

Property: Hotel Villa Flori
Address: Via Cernobbio 12, 22100, Como, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Flori 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Flori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flori Hotel Como
Hotel Villa Flori Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing