We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borgovico Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Engadina(Como)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metropole Suisse Hotel(Como)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$651
US$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Due Corti(Como)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$393
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Meuble(Como)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Borgo Antico Hotel(Como)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
282
287
63
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
287
63
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationspanish restaurantquiet streetcomo san giovannismall hoteldecent breakfasttown centrearriving by traincomfortable hotelexcellent hotelroom was spaciouswithin easy walking distanceminute walkwould stay here againrecommend this hotelsingle roomcold cuts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

All the good things people have said about this hotel are true. Lino is one of the kindest hosts ever. Nothing is too much trouble and his English is excellent. The train station is close but if you have heavy bags watch out as there are steps down and then of course, up on return. It is about 10 mins walk to town and it took us a while to find the quickest route to Piazza Cavour. It is through the pedestrian path on the left half way back to the station- but watch the traffic - there is one crossing with no lights.

We had room 310 which was very nice and looked out to the inner courtyard. The wifii worked excellently well - no trouble with it at all. The bathroom was super clean and the shower very good. Breakfast was good too- coffee made freshly.

I agree with the comment that a light over the desk wouldbe a good idea.
And yes do try the restaurant next door for a great Italian experience.

I would definitely stay here again. Just for the lovely warm welcome!

Como is noisy town- no doubt. You couldhear thetrains but only if the window was open and the aircon off. By the way the air con was very good too.

Room Tip: Yes I would recommend our room 310 . Superior doubleThere are few steps- up or down even if you use the lift.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I was very pleased with this hotel and would gladly stay there again. First, the staff were great. They were very helpful, responsive, and friendly. The location is good, just a short walk from the train station and a few blocks from the main attractions in the city. The neighborhood is not the greatest but it's not bad, and there are good local restaurants close by. My room was clean and modern, with a modern updated bathroom. The hotel also provides free internet. The breakfast was one of the better layouts I had while in Italy, with eggs, meats, and cheeses to go along with the typical cereal and pastries. The staff will happily make you an espresso or cappuccino to go with breakfast. My one caution is that if you are a solo traveller try not to get room 103, which has a view of the stairwell. Oh, and it needs a light over the desk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kichenhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I along with another couple stayed at Hotel Borgovico for two nights in June. We were very pleased with our accommodations, which looked as if the hotel had been recently renovated. Everything was clean, the bathrooms large and there was an adequate buffet breakfast. The staff was wonderful. Lino speaks very good English, and he is so helpful and friendly. He helped make our stay very enjoyable. He recommended a restaurant a few door down from the hotel, which was excellent. It was so good, we ate there two nights. As we were driving, another plus was we were able to reserve a parking space in front of the hotel. Our room was on the front, but we did not hear any noise from the street. I can definitely recommend this hotel. The price was very reasonable, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TN_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The room was quirky, nicely designed (certainly in comparison to the rooms in several other hotels we have seen in Como), very clean, and with plenty of space. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helped us out excellently with any queries we had during our stay. We would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were surprised to see that the reasonably priced Hotel Borgovico was rated number 1 for Como on TripAdvisor, since there seemed to be some better located and more impressive hotels available. We spent quite a long time researching and price checking every hotel in Como and found that the better located and "more impressive" hotels, e.g. the Barchetta Exclesior, appeared to be over priced and subject to very mixed reviews (which shouldn't be the case with pricier hotels - if we are paying more, we expect more).

Hotel Borgovico may be more reasonably priced because it does not have a lakeside view, and is slightly out of the centre. Como is not a massive place, however, and you can easily walk to the centre, including the lakefront/ferry port, in 10 minutes (we found a shortcut on the second day). It is particularly well located for people arriving by train (like us) since it's just a short walk (in one direction) from Como San Giovanni station.

In all other respects, there is no compromise. The rooms are clean and comfortable and a decent size. Although we were street side, we were not disturbed by any ubiquitous Italian scooters or other traffic noise. Check in and check out was smooth. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but a reasonable cold buffet breakfast choice and reasonably attentive staff. There was a slight irritation in that the front door needs to be opened by staff to admit guests but since this increases security, this is not really something to complain about.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Borgovico, and would recommend it to others. Como itself is a beautifully enchanting place and a great base for exploring the rest of the lake.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews