We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty place to enjoy a drink or coffee with a great view but average food”
Review of Bar Il Molo

Bar Il Molo
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 28, 2017

We had a dinner and a breakfast at Bar Il Moro while in Varenna. This is such a pretty spot with a great view of the lake and pretty white chairs everywhere and very busy but sadly for an Italian restaurant, the food at dinner was only average. Our waiter was nice but almost a bit too polite and melodramatic.
Because it was so pretty we decided to see if the breakfast was better the day we left and I am glad to say it was.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SalientInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2017

There are 2 restaurants outside on the terrace side by side. We weren't aware . Bar 11 Molo was as good as the other beside it. Excellent Pasta salad pizza. The service was fast and the waitress was friendly and spoke good English.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joycep883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We recently stayed in Varenna for a week and visited Bar Il Molo almost daily. The food is very good and reasonably priced. It's a wonderful place to be in the evening at sunset for a drink and to take in the wonderful view (the seating is lakeside). We were there in October and they even provide blankets for the chili nights. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is good. It was our favorite place to eat in Varenna.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roxanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

We stopped in for dinner on a cool October evening, as the restaurant sits right on the edge of Lake Como, providing a stunning view. All tables are outside so you need to dress warmly in fall. The menu had several pages of pizzas so we had pasta and margharita pizza.

While the pasta was great, the pizza was fantastic. Thin crust with some carbonization on the bottom, it was crisp and delicious. The tomato sauce was rich but not too thick and with the cheese ijust slightly charred in a few spots, it made for a wonderful meal.

Service was good, English was spoken sufficiently for us to converse.

We would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great pizza and pasta with a view.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

I chose this restaurant for the VIEW of the lake, since it seemed to have the best view of all the nearby restaurants.

But, the excellence of the food surprised me. The HUGE plate of bruschetta was excellent and tasty. The strawberry gelato with cookie was perfect.

Our friendly server spoke English well, and the prices were lower than I would have expected in a lake-front restaurant.

We visited on a weekday, since we heard the weekends are very crowded.

This restaurant is a reasonably short walk to the ferry dock. In October, I recommend the speedboat; it was wonderful, but I could envision it being too hot/stuffy in the summer.

Our visit to Via Carlotta was disappointing, having visited Palazzo Borromeo on Isola Bella a few days ago. If I had to do it over again, I would have skipped Via Carlotta and visited Bellagio instead.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 179cynthiaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Il Molo also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Il Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing