We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Surendraj...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment ”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely apartment located in central Varenna but literally 3 min walk to the lake. Very well furnished and well equipped with amenities. Marilena was extremely helpful in picking us up from the station (at 9:30 in evening) and dropping is back and also explaining various things about the town and the apartment. Thank you for making our stay comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole D
Castle Hill, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment with everything in Piazza San Giorgio in Varenna”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Our seven day holiday in Casa Maddalena in Varenna was everything we could wish for. Marilena is an amazing person - so warm and welcoming. After meeting us at the railway station Marilena drove us around Varenna and pointed out various points of interest and useful things such as where to buy groceries, the bank, restaurants and where to buy the best fresh fish. Marilena lives on the floor below and is extremely helpful and provided all the local knowledge we needed regarding restaurants, activities and using the local ferries to experience the wonderful towns around the lake.

The apartment is in a great position overlooking Piazza San Giorgio, with a view of the church, restaurants and day to day activities of the friendly local people. This apartment is very clean and has everything you need - it has large rooms, free wi-fi, satellite TV, fully equipped kitchen plus washing machine. Lake Como is very beautiful and we enjoyed our ferry trips to the various beautiful towns on this lake.

We woke every morning at 7 am to the sound of church bells. In the week we were there we watched a wedding at the lovely church, attended a wine and food festival in the square as well as open air cinema one night. Walking to and from the ferry dock along the lakeside walk is breathtaking - spectacular scenery, lots of buzzy restaurants, exquisite local arts and crafts shops and you can also take cooking classes.

Even though we were leaving on an early morning train Marilena drove us to the station. Marilena and her lovely Casa Maddalena made our stay unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overlooking the lovely Piazza San Giorgio and ferry trips on Lake Como
Liked least: Leaving Marilena and Casa Maddalena
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A welcoming place to stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Marilena was very helpful and her apartment is homely and comfortable in an excellent central location. We were met at the train station and after our week's visit driven back there again. Everything we needed was provided, it is all scrupulously clean and I have no hesitation in recommending this as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy g
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent casa maddalena”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

this is a lovely apartment, very very clean, big rooms and has everything you need, kettle, iron. hairdrier, washing machine. wifi. balcany, marilena is brilliant. very helpfull, she really goes above and beyond the call of duty to help make a good holiday a great holiday. very helpfull info in the apartment on ferries, trains, resturants, bars ect.... the apartment looks over san georgio square, beautiful church (where we got married) marilena has great english. i would highly recommend varenna and this apartment, this was our second stay here and wont be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: going home :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterhoey...
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in a glorious apartment in one of the best parts of the world”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This very roomy and comfortable apartment in the heart of beautiful Varenna, overlooking the town piazza, is owned by the delightful Marilena. She met at the railway station, drove us around Varenna, pointing out various sights of interest, and delivered us to the apartment. Marilena gave us a thorough introduction to an apartment which has every useful appliance plus WiFi. It was spotlessly clean, bright and airy. Living in her own apartment downstairs with her two beautiful cats, Marilena was always at hand (but never intrusive) to give advice, etc. We also enjoyed the happy sounds from the shaded piazza, particularly the tolling of the church bells. On our departure she took us and our luggage in her car to the railway station.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of apartment and helpfulness of owner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gypsy1and...
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Introduction to Italy”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As the previous reviews state, this is a lovely place to stay. Being greeted at the station by Marilena puts this rental into its own special category in terms of service. We have spent the last two years travelling and staying in furnished rentals and while many were lovely, two stand out in terms of helpfulness from the owner and this is one of them. We didn't cook but the kitchen looked well stocked as Marilena has stocked the entire apartment with everything you could possibly need. By overlooking the town square, you are truly immersed in all the activities of the town and there were several concerts and movies while we were there. Many thanks Marilena, we will have many happy memories of our time in Varenna, made all the more special by you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Marilena
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichy1
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent reunion”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have recently returned from a repeat visit to Maddalena House in Varenna, on Lake Como, and found that it more than matched the happy memories of our previous stay.
Marilena met us at the station as she does for all her guests, but this was a reunion. She immediately took us shopping for staples in Bellano- this time we knew the routine and had our shopping list ready. Fresh fruit and vegetables were available locally, also meat including sausages, the delicately flavoured lake fish, cheeses, pasta, wines, dried mushrooms and much more. This allowed us you to sample the joys of Italian cuisine and eat outside on the tiny balcony. If you do not wish to cook yourself, Marilena can recommend the best restaurants.
On arriving we discovered that Marilena had repainted the apartment, put in a new easy to understand washing machine and while we were there she replaced the sofa bed. There is also a new cat, Trudi, but he is very private, unlike the older, more confident Tartufina.
Do not go to Varenna if you do not like church bells. San Grigorio, one of the four historic churches in the Piazza has a tall bell tower with four magnificent bells. These bells ring out at various times of the day, but not at night. They toll slowly, individually in sequence for funerals and joyously all at once for weddings.
Marilena took us to the fish hatchery where several species of lake fish are hatched, raised and grown until large enough to be released into the lake. They take two years to mature and the local fishermen fish every day except Sunday- the shop opens around 7am- so hurry to buy this fresh fish as it disappears rapidly.
Varenna is central to:
1. Ferry trips to Bellagio, Menagio, Lecco, Collico and Como, the major towns on Lake Como. If you want to enjoy the atmosphere and scenery you can take the slow ferry.
2. Walking to Fiumelatte (where the world’s shortest river roars out of a hole in the mountain), Perledo, Gitana, Bellano, Vezio, and Vezio Castle above Varenna or find the old Saints trail (sentiero) and follow the signposts. These walks will lead you all over the countryside.
3. Trains from Varenna to Milan allow you to use the Italian rail system to explore further. Or take the train from Varenna north to Tirano on the Swiss border where you can catch the Bernina Express to St Moritz and return- a must for train lovers and one of the world’s great train experiences.
4. If you want to buy Italian silk to bring home to have made up, rather than ready made in the shops, we suggest you visit Seterie Trombetta, Piazza San Fedele 1, Como. They had a wonderful range of offcuts of silk rather than buying the 40 metre whole bolt.
5. Also take some time climbing up and down the many stepped streets of Varenna leading to and from the Lake and enjoy the houses and views as well as taking the lakeside walk which leads you to the ferry terminal. You can visit the Monastery garden or view it from above on the road.

Marilena is a wonderful, charming and unobtrusive host, but if you want any information or advice- just ask.

Stayed at Maddalena House, Varenna, June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the property within Verenna
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing