We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worth It for the View Alone!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ferry

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheFamily...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth It for the View Alone!”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of four (two adults, two teens) spent four nights here back in late August. We had never been to Lake Como and chose this apartment for the beautiful views that it appeared to offer and the fact that it had enough space to accommodate our family. We were not disappointed! A lot of time was spent sitting on the balcony and just watching the ferries come and go in the harbour a few hundred metres down below...with the lake & the mountains in the background.

Varenna itself is a gorgeous little town hugging the lake...with easy walking/strolling routes from one end to the other. A couple of us also walked to the neighbouring town to find the source of the Fiumelatte, apparently the shortest river in Italy. It's quite bizarre to find the source of this rushing river up the hill in a small, seemingly calm, pool of water.

Varenna and this apartment are also super-conveneint for exploring the other towns on Lake Como. The ferry terminal is only a five-minute walk out the door...with constant ferries to various places around the lake. In addition, the apartment is only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station, from which we did an easy day-trip to Milan...no transfers required. There were a number of restaurants right close to the apartment so we didn't even feel the need to traverse to the "other half" of Varenna for dinner. We particularly enjoyed sitting outside & eating at l'Orso Cafe Hostaria watching the goings-on in the harbour.

The apartment itself was quite spacious with a double bed and a twin bed in the bedroom...and a double sofa-bed in the living room. For the most part, the apartment was clean & airy...with the windows providing a nice breeze through the place at night. For some reason, the kitchen had a bit of an odd musty smell about it...something we couldn't quite put our finger on...but it didn't permeate the rest of the apartment. The lack of a shower curtain in the bathtub was the one annoying feature of the apartment as it was virtually impossible to have a shower without either going through various contortions and/or getting the rest of the bathroom wet.

Luigi (the owner) was very friendly and helpful upon our arrival.He met us in the harbour area when we arrived in our rental car and showed us to the apartment, explaining things to us for our stay. The one niggling issue was in the timely return of our deposit after we returned home...although in the end it all worked out.

For those arriving by car, the best alternative is the public car park. Although this multi-storey car park is at the complete opposite end of town from the apartment (around a 20 minute walk), it worked well just leaving our car there for our four-day stay and taking the ferries (and train) to where we wanted to go.

An enjoyable stay in Varenna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location & view
Liked least: Shower; smell in kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyang001
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air.”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Everything was true to its pictures. It was a very spacious 1 bedroom apt located in the most convenient spot close to all things and literally steps from the Varenna-Esino train station and the ferry that could take you the the surrounding cities. The view s from the apartment were surreal, absolutely breath taking. Also words can not say how nice the owner Luigi was. He helped give me directions from Florence to Varenna and even waited 2 hours for me at the train station after I missed my 1st train. The people in this area were just the friendliest people. My only disappointment was that I only was able to stay 3 days. I defiantly plan on coming back for a summer excursion!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetalumaP...
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accomodation!”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Varenna. Our daughter is studying abroad in Florence and we went over to travel with her during her Fall Break. We found the apartment to be very comfortable and the views are outstanding. Luigi met us at the train station and got us all settled. He also gave us great tips on things to do and restaurant recommendations. We enjoy wine and cheese out on the deck in the evening while watching the sun go down. It was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Clean and spacious -- gorgeous views!
Liked least: No shower curtain.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe R
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful views, clean apartment, helpful owner”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We would definitely stay here again and think it's the perfect place for the budget.

The apartment is really clean and modern and smells fresh, and very light with the balconies and windows. It also feels safe and secure to come back to at night. Luigi was helpful with all communication and meeting us - I hope your cold is better!

It was a really quiet place to stay overall, residential either side of you, apart from late night music on the Saturday night.

The location is great. We had dinner at Cavallino under the vines twice in the week. L'Orso was good for morning coffee and late night bottles of water. The ferry is on your doorstep so you can take a trip to another village and go straight back to the apartment for a rest before dinner. The walkway (with red bannisters) along the lake front only takes about 5 minutes for gorgeous ice cream - Riva and Passerella, the second opened late enough to have one after dinner :-) And loads more nice restaurants to try.

Varenna is such a lovely place, prettier than the other quieter places, and so much quieter then Bellagio! It was perfect for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; clean, fresh, modern and safe apartment; helpful owner
Liked least: Varenna doesn't have a lot of food options for self catering
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel G
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This apartment is in a wonderful spot with amazing views over Varenna from all the windows. It has everything you could need for your stay and Luigi was so helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fantastic place to stay!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Varenna is, in my opinion, the most beautiful of all the mid-lake towns. This apartment is right in the heart of Varenna, close to the ferry terminal & train station for easy access to other places & an easy stroll from many cafes, restaurants & gelato shops!!

There is a couple of small shops selling grocery type items, a pharmacy, post shop etc etc in town.

The apartment owner met us at the train station & made us feel most welcome; giving us all the local knowledge we required to find our way around. I highly recommend this apartment as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clauds179
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and well-equipped apartment”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled to Varenna as a group of 5 friends to stay in this apartment on Lake Como and we were not disappointed. Luigi was great telling us lots of tips of where to go and what to do and met us at the train station, the apartment was a 5 mins walk away with the most incredible views of the lake. Located right near the car ferry stop and away from the main centre was perfect. It is only a 5-10min walk to the main Varenna town and this side felt quieter and was perfect for us. The apartment was well-equipped with all necessary kitchen utensils/cooking equipment, wifi, clean towels, linen. Close to a few places to eat as well. Overall it was very clean and comfortably slept 5. The sleeper couch mattress was very hard which was the only negative point. Would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views and location
Liked least: Very hard mattress on the sleeper couch
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing