We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most beautiful place ever.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ferry

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PatKellyP...
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place ever.”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We totally loved staying here. The views out every window are off the charts. This unit certainly has everything you need. They met us at the train station and delivered us to the unit. The location is totally perfect. We are hating to leave. Truly is the best.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchlgrnvl
Carmel Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful rental on Lake Como”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having travelled extensively including 6 times to Italy and once previously to Belagio, Luigi's "Ferry Apartment" stands above the rest as far as location, comfort, and value. The apartment is much nicer than pictured and recently very tastefully remodeled. It is light, bright ,spacious, and well appointed and supplied.

There are beautiful views from 2 decks and every window looking over Varenna and Lake Como. The apartment is well located above the ferry terminal and within easy walking distance of the entire town. Except for the noise of the ferries it is quiet and comfortable. It is without air conditioning and heats up in the afternoon, but is well ventilated by the doors and windows.

Varenna is a short ferry ride to Belagio where there is more shopping, but having stayed there in the past, I see advantages to Varenna as it is less crowded and equally or more beautiful with it's preservation of Mid Evil cobblestone, stone walls and structures.

I can't say enough to recommend this wonderful apartment located in one of the most beautiful places in the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
North West England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a dream”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Varenna is stunning and the apartment is fantastic and together they are a dream.
The scenery in Varenna is fabulous and the people are lovely and very helpful.
The apartment has everything you need and the view from the balconies are the best.
I would recommend Varenna and this apartment to anyone, just brilliant.
We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carkencol...
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and location”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a trip to Tuscany and 4 days in Varenna at the end to relax. This condo has beautiful views from both balconies and a great location! Luigi met us at the train station and took us to the apartment and gave us very good recommendations for dining and sightseeing. The pictures did not do the view justice - the lake is just beautiful from the balcony and every morning was spent there with coffee and every evening with a glass of wine before dinner. There are very good restaurants just a few steps away from the apartment and more a short walk to the town center. Varenna is a perfect place to stay on the lake - much quieter and less touristy than Bellagio and easily accessible by train and by the ferries. We even took the Bernina Express to St. Moritz from town for a beautiful day trip in the Alps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: The beds were very firm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grsteve
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideal and beautiful location”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is in an ideal location, centrally located and equal distance, short walk from the train and ferry stations. The living room/kitchens area has two balconies, one with a view of the north end of the lake and one with a south view. The windows in the bedroom share a similar spectacular view. Luigi was great to work with and met us on time at the train station to take us to the property as well as make some recommendations for local shops and restaurants. After staying here we went to Bellagio but I found Varenna to be so much more beautiful and charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: I liked everything about the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFamily...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth It for the View Alone!”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of four (two adults, two teens) spent four nights here back in late August. We had never been to Lake Como and chose this apartment for the beautiful views that it appeared to offer and the fact that it had enough space to accommodate our family. We were not disappointed! A lot of time was spent sitting on the balcony and just watching the ferries come and go in the harbour a few hundred metres down below...with the lake & the mountains in the background.

Varenna itself is a gorgeous little town hugging the lake...with easy walking/strolling routes from one end to the other. A couple of us also walked to the neighbouring town to find the source of the Fiumelatte, apparently the shortest river in Italy. It's quite bizarre to find the source of this rushing river up the hill in a small, seemingly calm, pool of water.

Varenna and this apartment are also super-conveneint for exploring the other towns on Lake Como. The ferry terminal is only a five-minute walk out the door...with constant ferries to various places around the lake. In addition, the apartment is only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station, from which we did an easy day-trip to Milan...no transfers required. There were a number of restaurants right close to the apartment so we didn't even feel the need to traverse to the "other half" of Varenna for dinner. We particularly enjoyed sitting outside & eating at l'Orso Cafe Hostaria watching the goings-on in the harbour.

The apartment itself was quite spacious with a double bed and a twin bed in the bedroom...and a double sofa-bed in the living room. For the most part, the apartment was clean & airy...with the windows providing a nice breeze through the place at night. For some reason, the kitchen had a bit of an odd musty smell about it...something we couldn't quite put our finger on...but it didn't permeate the rest of the apartment. The lack of a shower curtain in the bathtub was the one annoying feature of the apartment as it was virtually impossible to have a shower without either going through various contortions and/or getting the rest of the bathroom wet.

Luigi (the owner) was very friendly and helpful upon our arrival.He met us in the harbour area when we arrived in our rental car and showed us to the apartment, explaining things to us for our stay. The one niggling issue was in the timely return of our deposit after we returned home...although in the end it all worked out.

For those arriving by car, the best alternative is the public car park. Although this multi-storey car park is at the complete opposite end of town from the apartment (around a 20 minute walk), it worked well just leaving our car there for our four-day stay and taking the ferries (and train) to where we wanted to go.

An enjoyable stay in Varenna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location & view
Liked least: Shower; smell in kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyang001
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air.”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Everything was true to its pictures. It was a very spacious 1 bedroom apt located in the most convenient spot close to all things and literally steps from the Varenna-Esino train station and the ferry that could take you the the surrounding cities. The view s from the apartment were surreal, absolutely breath taking. Also words can not say how nice the owner Luigi was. He helped give me directions from Florence to Varenna and even waited 2 hours for me at the train station after I missed my 1st train. The people in this area were just the friendliest people. My only disappointment was that I only was able to stay 3 days. I defiantly plan on coming back for a summer excursion!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing