We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location!”
other travellers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lillian C
Lincoln, California
1 review
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Most spectacular location with a view! Julia was a delightful hostess and very helpful. We especially appreciated her driving us to the train station when we left. Delicious breakfasts with a view and a great place to relax after a day exploring Bellagio and Menaggio. Very friendly dog, Alfie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Patio by the lake for relaxing
Liked least: Weak wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John4395
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“B&B”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Newly renovated old Convent on the edge of Lake Como and in the heart of Varenna. Julia has created a very pleasant B&B. Clean bedrooms with an adequate sitting room. The most outstanding part was breakfast on the patio of her beautiful yard sitting near the wall overlooking the lake with the Swiss Alps in the distance. Bar Molo was very close for an afternoon drink and snack. Julia's WiFi was not working, but Bar Molo's was free and sitting sipping a glass of wine while checking emails wasn't too difficult to enjoy.
Be sure to get careful directions to her front door, as it is tucked away and doesn't have any signage. Would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violet889...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Views of Lake Como”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately, we only stayed two days at this wonderful B&B because staying at the il Giardino Sul Lago in Varenna was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The B&B was clean and spacious, but the views were simply breathtaking. The first day we were there, it was cloudy and hard to see the Alps, but the second day was sunny and gave us spectacular views! Julie is a wonderful host who provided us with water, wine and a delicious tray of cheese & olives upon our arrival. We felt right a home and couldn't wait to explore. The breafasts were amazing. We were provided with fresh cheeses, meats, fruits, bread, etc. A lot of thought went into making guests feel comfortable.

The second day we were there, we took a ferry to Bellagio, which is also beautiful, but felt a little more touristy. The ferry's are a good way to explore Lake Como. If going to Lake Como, I would highly recommend staying at Giardino Sul Lago in Varenna. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Lake Como!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My friend and I had a lovely stay at Il Giardino Sul Lago. Julie was a warm host who even gave us a lift to and from the train station. We felt very at home, enjoyed the breakfast, clean accommodations, and best of all -- feeling like we had the very best private view of Lake Como from Julie's garden. Varenna was the perfect base for exploring the area...so picturesque and relaxing. I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiJor...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Varenna”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Beautiful rooms.
Great location.
Good breakfast.
Fantastic lakeside garden.
Extremely pleasant and helpful hostess.
There is no central heating, but electric heaters are available.
Varenna is an excellent base for a holiday in Lake Como.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fan1420
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best view in Varenna”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Totally enjoyed our stay. The view is breathtaking and the owner Julie and her daughter Sophie (and Alfie the dog) were so nice and generous. The only negatives for me was I could not get on the internet and on our last day we found spiders in the bathroom & hallway. Made me glad we were leaving. That being said the breakfast was perfect and Julie allowed us to stay later than checkout so we sat on the patio overlooking the lake and read our books for a while. She also provided us water and beer to enjoy. Our time in Varenna was so relaxing. Perfect way to start our two-week vacation traveling around Northern Italy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwblack
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us (two couples) stayed in a two bedroom unit for two nights in early October 2013.
The suite was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The owner, Julia, was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was awesome!! A great selection of cheeses pastries. The view and location were super - on the lake front and about a 10 minute walk to the ferry. Staying at Il Gardino sul Lago was a treat to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, breakfast and friendliness
Liked least: finding the place from the ferry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2013
Thank you, your opinion means a lot and I loved meeting you all, Alfie and I wish you a very happy holiday season !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing