We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Consider Varenna as a place to stay on Lake Como.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Riva

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BL_Cx2
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consider Varenna as a place to stay on Lake Como.”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were pleased we chose to stay at Varenna. Luigi met us at the train station to guide us to the apartment. It would be difficult to find the apartment without guidance. Luigi provided us with information about the apartment, how to get around, where to eat and anything else we needed to know. The apartment is in a great position. It looks directly over the lake and is in easy access to all that's happening. Overall the apartment provides all that is needed. The hot water in the shower was a bit dodgy and we were also concerned that we might overload the electrical system. In terms of ranking we would choose a 41/2 for position and a 31/2 for the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Dodgy hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bickleton
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming and in a great location!”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Very clean, well set up apartment with a great balcony right on the lake shore. Check in was easy, tips form the staff on things to do and see were helpful. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhatMikeS...
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casa Riva is Magic”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

You'll be overwhelmed by the magic of Casa Riva. The home is situated front and center of the quaint town of Varenna. Our host Luigi went far and beyond what was expected of him.

The apartment is too good to be true. Right out the balcony was the most picturesque view of the lake you could imagine. Every morning captured something spectacular whether it was the snow capped mountains, the serene and tranquil site of ducks paddling us by, or a rainbow connecting the adjacent towns.

The apartment had a perfect mix of modern appliances and Italian elegance. The ambient lighting provided by the afternoon's golden hour is the perfect time to sit out on the balcony and take in all the beauty while enjoying a glass of wine.

We couldn't have asked for anything more.

In addition, check out the shop below the apartment owned by a charming and sweet gentleman named Giorgio. His store has an amazing assortment of Italian works of art, clothing, handbags and trinkets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view from the balcony.
Liked least: We really loved everything. Nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clh575
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location and Apartment is Excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our stay in Varenna. This apartment is perfectly located on Lake Como overlooking an area where families feed the ducks and swans every evening. The apartment has every thing you need for a relaxing stay. Luigi welcomed us to Varenna and gave suggestions on restaurants nearby. The balcony seats two very nicely and is a good place for coffee or wine when the weather permits. Highly recomment.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband & I spent just over a week in beautiful Varenna. Luigi & Giorgio are absolute gentleman who go out of their way to ensure guests have a good holiday. The apartment is perfect & the view,oh my God,that view!! I can only concur with all that has been said previously.! Thank you both most sincerely & we definitely will be returning!
John& Charlotte.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: hard to say!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaseNTamz
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful View and Perfect little apartment”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were lucky to find this unit for our stay on Lake Como

Luigi was a fantastic host and picked us up from the train station and showed us around the unit. He made sure we had everything we needed and how to contact him and gave us great recommendations for meals. When he was unable to find us a taxi back to the station he came and picked us up.

The unit itself is just perfect for a short or long term stay. My husband and I were there for 7 nights while our 19 YO daughter came and stayed for 3 nights with us and we had plenty of room for us all.

The view is amazing and changes everyday with the weather. It is a beautiful stroll over to the ferry to view other little villages. We were personally very happy we choose to stay in Varenna it's not as busy as some of the other villages and found some very beautiful restaurants. I would highly recommend the take away pizza (which we did most nights) I can't remember the name of the pizza shop but they were amazing people who made some pretty awesome pizzas.

I would highly recommend staying at this unit for one of the best views without having to walk up multiple hills

Thanks to Luigi for sharing with us his wonderful place and being a wonderful host. Would definitely stay again if we ever venture back to Varenna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing to unlike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel55515
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“5 Star Location , so is Varenna”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The apartment was as described , all the necessary elements to make your stay comfortable .
Luigi was very helpful in fact he went out of his way to ensure our stay was great Grazie molte Luigi & Giorgio .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing