We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Hotel Mirabello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirabello
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 3 July 2008

I selected this hotel for our trip to Lake Garda mainly because of the location, the price and the positive reviews that it had on this website. I was not disappointed.

It is true that the hotel is a good half an hours walk from the historic centre of Sirmione, and the ferry port, however if you can't face the walk, there's a bus service running past the hotel. It's also just a few minutes walk from Columbare where there are bars and restaurants as well as a bank and supermarket and access to the lake. Also, it's possible to get the bus to Desanzano from the stop near the hotel. From here, we got the train to Venice and Verona.

We had a good-sized room on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the lake at the front of the hotel. You could also see the lake from the corridor facing the back of the hotel on this floor as the hotel is on a narrow part of the peninsular. It wasn't a problem for us that there was no lift, although it might be for some, especially with heavy luggage. Our room was basic, but clean and the hotel also has a nice pool and bar area.

We found the food to be of a good standard. Breakfast is buffet style with a large choice, even at the end of the service. Dinner is three courses and ordered from a menu the previous evening. Although the food is fairly basic, we found it to be varied and it always seemed to be freshly prepared.

I was pleased with my choice of hotel and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilliplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    40
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We stayed here for five nights in July 2007. I booked this hotel after reading some positive reviews and the main reason was basically that I wanted a good price hotel with a decent location and a pool....not to easy to find in Sirmione. However, the price we payed was definetively reasonable but we did not get the room we had hoped for. I had requested a room facing the lake with a teracce, but as I (can only blame myself) mixed up the dates this room was not available when we got there. We got a smaller room facing the pool with a small (very very small) balcony. We never managed to stay on the balcony as there was no shade and it became to hot to breathe out there. There was no fridge in the room, which would have been a good thing as you need cold drink when it's like 40 degress in the sun. The room was very basic with no efforts made to make it comfy or cozy. The breakfast was a kind of boring buffé, if avoidable don't pay for it and go somewhere else. However, the staff was kind and helpful.

To sum it up, you do get what you pay for. We minimised the time spent in the hotel, which was not really a problem because you want to spend as much time possible in old town of Sirmione and on the varm cliffs out on the sirmione cape (go there for sunbathing and swimming!!!!).

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap stay and not expecting amenities such as fridge, 24h AC, bathrobes, hairdryer, toilertires and a nice balcony. However, if you do go here make sure to book one of the rooms with teracce overlooking the sea - this could definetively save your stay!!!! A good priced hotel, 20 minute walk to the center (not really a "stone's throw" as prpomised on their web page) with reasonable clean rooms.

I would aim for a higher priced hotel next time, if the budget allows it!

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — small room, small balcony, no fridge
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK- ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We stayed here for a week in September 2007, and enjoyed our stay here. It was the end of the season, but the Hotel was constantly in use. The pool area was nice, the food & dining room were pleasant, and our room looked onto the lake (across a busy road). There is a small, but very nice bar/lounge area, for relaxing in.
We asked for, and received, a change of room, and got the good Lake view. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk, alongside the Lake, into Sirmione, and on the bus route for MIlan, Venice, Verona, and other lake-side towns.
Sirmione is beautiful, but can be VERY busy, during the day.
There are several restaurants nearby, if you fancy a change, but don't want to walk into Sirmione. The rooms all have heavy, wooden shutters, which darken, and quiten the rooms at night.
I would rate the Hotel as a 2 to 3 *, but it was clean, well postioned, and a good base for a Lake stay.

  • Liked — Lake side location
  • Disliked — Distance from night-life
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JULIE-RAWLINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights only, but it was not very good experience. You can see "No Smoking" signs in the halls, but it smelled like everybody was smoking there. The room fortunately did not have this smell, but there was an ashtray in the room. They have central air conditioning system which they turn on and off on a schedule. So in October it does not work despite the fact that it may be needed on any especially warm day. Overall the hotel left an impression of a cheap Motel 6.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare,ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

As this hotel was only 2star i really wasnt expecting much but to my surprise it was like arriving in paradise!The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful.although a good 20min walk outside sirmione there is a gorgeous port across the road with a lovely snack bar and restaurant which were great value for money!THe hotel was lovely, good breakfast, swimming pool, private beach and pier, aircon, large room, tv.only negative is the lack of an elevator.we were very lucky with our room on the third floor with 2 gigantic balconies over the lake!i put some pics up to take a look. overall a fantastic hotel in a beautiful place and i would definitely go back!

  • Liked — view of lake
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank fpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

We booked a late cheap holiday (due to terrible weather in England!) but we did not expect to get what we got! The hotel was very clean and the staff (family) were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were on the third floor (no lift so we could eat more pasta and ice cream as there were about 60 steps!)) and the views were amazing. The room was clean and adequate. There was TV with English Sky News and the airconditioning was on from 5.30pm to 8.00am (we think during July and August only).The shower room, although small, was also very clean. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the evening meal was freshly prepared. Don't expect gourmet but it was more than adequate. The situation of the hotel is excellent. Bus stop just 1 minute from the hotel or a lovely 20 minute slow lakeside walk into Sirmione. We would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. As we said do not expect 4 star luxury or gourmet food but you will receive a warm welcome and a clean and pleasant environment.

  • Liked — friendliness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We have just returned from a stay at the Mirabello. What a wonderful position overlooking the lake . Our room was on the third floor with a balcony.
Most comforatable room and modern bathroom,immaculately clean. We breakfasted well in the dining room and could choose from a wide variety of cereals cheeses meats croissant ,fruits , yoghurts and juices.

This family run hotel was in our opinion excellent. a healthy walk into Sirmione or ride one of the hotels bikes. After a busy day the large swimming pool and great lounges made returning back to the hotel an ideal way to relax before dinner.

  • Liked — comfortable clean spacious balcony
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youthgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.4 km away
Astoria Lido
Astoria Lido
#42 of 67 in Sirmione
91 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#10 of 67 in Sirmione
254 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Saviola
Hotel Saviola
#40 of 67 in Sirmione
107 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Dogana
Hotel Dogana
#61 of 67 in Sirmione
17 reviews
0.3 km away
Ca' Serena Hotel
Ca' Serena Hotel
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabello

Property: Hotel Mirabello
Address: Via Venticinque Aprile 100, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirabello 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirabello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabello Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Mirabello Sirmione, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing