We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full marks for the bling!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Sth Yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Full marks for the bling!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

One can only be impressed by the opulence of the public areas at this hotel. Deep pile carpets, massive Tiffany ceiling shades, and every other facility you could ever want. We used the very large indoor pool (just too warm!) and the table tennis facilities. The hotel is richly decorated into every corner and we noted that at night, the lights were always on, whether or not anybody was around. In addition the huge basement easily accommodated two conference halls and there were dining rooms to allow everyone to be seated at the same time. One day, whilst we were at the hotel, eight tourist buses arrived and were simply absorbed.

However, the down side of all this palatial bling is that it leads to personal travelers feeling lost and a certain lack of atmosphere - you feel as a small cog in a very plush wheel. Lack of a welcoming smile was all too obvious on the face of the Matriach who dominated the reception desk. Which was a shame as it would appear that she had transferred her demeanor to the other receptionists. Despite all the impressive facilities, I would still swap to a smaller less impersonal hotel. But you might enjoy it! Who knows?

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank molarholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    415
    109
    48
    15
See reviews for
219
404
27
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belllevue, NE
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Dino is one of Baveno's glitzier hotels, located on the water with easy access to the shuttle boats around the lake. In the summer the area is quite crowded with tourists from Germany, France, and Italy (mainly), and offers plenty of activities for families with kids. There are numerous restaurants and shops in Baveno. Shuttle boats run all around the lake to other towns and out to the Borromean Islands which offer tours of the various estates. There is a cable car that runs from nearby Stresa up to a mountain about 3 miles away from the starting point on the lake. You can either hike back (3 hours, no kidding) or take the cable car back down. Well worth the effort either way. Baveno in the off-season is very tranquil and not too terribly expensive. Pizzerias abound with quick and inexpensive dinner menus. But restaurants ranging from 10E to 30E are numerous and within walking distance to the hotel.
The hotel itself has very nice rooms. Some are split-level with the bedroom part on the upper part of the room. There is a large restaurant (100+ diners) that is only partially used in the off-season. There is an outdoor pool which is tolerable in mid-June through mid-September. You can swim in the lake if you don't mind chilly water. There are also activities like squash and ping-pong available. Hotel staff were friendly in a big-hotel sort of way. Since the hotel has several hundred rooms, there isn't much time for individual attention like you'd receive at smaller place. Overall a good hotel in a very scenic part of the Italian lakes region.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuskerAV8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is probably the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in. The hotel was part of the Insight Tour. I upgraded the room to the lake view. The lights across the lake at night were spectacular. The lobby is gorgeous. We enjoyed the patio, the artwork, the jewelry in the window cases, the lovely nighttime drinks on the porch. Really nice!! Comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Pick the lake front. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAboudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I was very fortunate to stay in Grand Hotel Dino on a business trip to Lago Maggiore. This is a huge hotel, set on the lake front, with stunning views across the lake, and to the Borromean islands. During my visit in May, we had temperatures in the mid 20s, blue skies, and a backdrop of snow covered peaks.

So back to Dino. Service and facilities were impeccable, and the rooms large. Lakeside rooms have spacious balconies from which to enjoy the views. During our stay the hotel was dominated by several business conferences, and tourists on coach tours. It is probably these two groups to which the hotel will most appeal. (On my first night when I walked into the dining room, I felt very young, yet I have passed my half century mark!).

As with many "grand" hotels, the emphasis is on efficiency rather than atmosphere. The wireless broadband and business services are impeccable, but the hotel fails to catch the charm of the region. I would therefore recommend the Dino as a Bed & Breakfast hotel, and breakfast on the tearrace by the lake is certainly pleasant. But despite the fine cuisine, I would shun its cold, featureless dining rooms in the evening in favour of some of the quaint and welcoming restaurants in the area, particularly those on the nearby islands accessible by water taxi from just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for lakeside, or you miss the whole point of Dino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a large hotel with all the usual trimmings - thick carpets, uniformed staff, enormous lobby, underground parking etc. It is right on the lake-side with a beautiful view of Isola Madre and the other islands, close the pier and promenade. It has so many rooms and different restaurants plus a big lounge bar that I counted twelve busses of about 50 tourists each, parked here overnight, and the place didn't even seem to be full!

I stayed in a standard room, facing the mountains (which made it considerably cheaper) and with a nice little balcony. Breakfast was luxurious and offered the great view of the lake. The staff was plentiful and helpful, hot breakfast was served by a chef at the buffet.

One detail shows the remarkable dedication to detail on behalf of the household staff: The tap in my bathroom was dripping and the sliding panel in front of the shower had lost the plastic at the bottom that would have prevented water from running all over the bathroom floor. Before I even remembered to mention this at the front desk, both things had been repaired the next day and thereafter worked flawlessly.

My overall ratring of this hotel is not excellent for one reason only: At a four star establishment I find it unreasonable, having to pay 5 EUR for one hour of access to the Internet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrLicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenaarde
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

impressive hotel with very friendly staff, very clean and luxurious rooms, impressive views at the lake, inside and outside pool and nice garden by the lake

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place was just amazing, goregous inside, like something from a 50's glamour hollywood movie set & the outside was even better. The decks of the lounge & bar over look an unobstructed view of Lago Maggiore, with the mountains in the distance, just out of this world.

The rooms were very decadent & i loved the fact our balcony overlooked the mountains, very awe inspiring in the morning.

We got free nibbles with our drinks at the bar, which is always a plus & the breakfast buffet was vast & very good indeed. My only complaint was the last minute taxes we had to pay per person when leaving, they weren't vast but we weren't informed about them when booking or arriving, which was a tad annoying.

Fab location though, highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.7 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.3 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
3.7 km away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Property: Grand Hotel Dino
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing