We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Dino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Residence Ortensia(Baveno)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rigoli(Baveno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eden(Baveno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azalea(Baveno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpi(Baveno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,460)
Filter reviews
1,460 results
Traveller rating
740
504
140
56
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
504
140
56
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake maggiorebig hotelinsight touroutdoor pooldining roomstrafalgar tourgorgeous hotelstained glasstour groupconference hotelisola bellapublic areashotel groundsbeautiful settinga lake view roomamazing viewsferry station
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 1,460 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Dino is one of Baveno's glitzier hotels, located on the water with easy access to the shuttle boats around the lake. In the summer the area is quite crowded with tourists from Germany, France, and Italy (mainly), and offers plenty of activities for families with kids. There are numerous restaurants and shops in Baveno. Shuttle boats run all around the lake to other towns and out to the Borromean Islands which offer tours of the various estates. There is a cable car that runs from nearby Stresa up to a mountain about 3 miles away from the starting point on the lake. You can either hike back (3 hours, no kidding) or take the cable car back down. Well worth the effort either way. Baveno in the off-season is very tranquil and not too terribly expensive. Pizzerias abound with quick and inexpensive dinner menus. But restaurants ranging from 10E to 30E are numerous and within walking distance to the hotel.
The hotel itself has very nice rooms. Some are split-level with the bedroom part on the upper part of the room. There is a large restaurant (100+ diners) that is only partially used in the off-season. There is an outdoor pool which is tolerable in mid-June through mid-September. You can swim in the lake if you don't mind chilly water. There are also activities like squash and ping-pong available. Hotel staff were friendly in a big-hotel sort of way. Since the hotel has several hundred rooms, there isn't much time for individual attention like you'd receive at smaller place. Overall a good hotel in a very scenic part of the Italian lakes region.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HuskerAV8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is probably the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in. The hotel was part of the Insight Tour. I upgraded the room to the lake view. The lights across the lake at night were spectacular. The lobby is gorgeous. We enjoyed the patio, the artwork, the jewelry in the window cases, the lovely nighttime drinks on the porch. Really nice!! Comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Pick the lake front. It's worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAboudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I was very fortunate to stay in Grand Hotel Dino on a business trip to Lago Maggiore. This is a huge hotel, set on the lake front, with stunning views across the lake, and to the Borromean islands. During my visit in May, we had temperatures in the mid 20s, blue skies, and a backdrop of snow covered peaks.

So back to Dino. Service and facilities were impeccable, and the rooms large. Lakeside rooms have spacious balconies from which to enjoy the views. During our stay the hotel was dominated by several business conferences, and tourists on coach tours. It is probably these two groups to which the hotel will most appeal. (On my first night when I walked into the dining room, I felt very young, yet I have passed my half century mark!).

As with many "grand" hotels, the emphasis is on efficiency rather than atmosphere. The wireless broadband and business services are impeccable, but the hotel fails to catch the charm of the region. I would therefore recommend the Dino as a Bed & Breakfast hotel, and breakfast on the tearrace by the lake is certainly pleasant. But despite the fine cuisine, I would shun its cold, featureless dining rooms in the evening in favour of some of the quaint and welcoming restaurants in the area, particularly those on the nearby islands accessible by water taxi from just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for lakeside, or you miss the whole point of Dino.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a large hotel with all the usual trimmings - thick carpets, uniformed staff, enormous lobby, underground parking etc. It is right on the lake-side with a beautiful view of Isola Madre and the other islands, close the pier and promenade. It has so many rooms and different restaurants plus a big lounge bar that I counted twelve busses of about 50 tourists each, parked here overnight, and the place didn't even seem to be full!

I stayed in a standard room, facing the mountains (which made it considerably cheaper) and with a nice little balcony. Breakfast was luxurious and offered the great view of the lake. The staff was plentiful and helpful, hot breakfast was served by a chef at the buffet.

One detail shows the remarkable dedication to detail on behalf of the household staff: The tap in my bathroom was dripping and the sliding panel in front of the shower had lost the plastic at the bottom that would have prevented water from running all over the bathroom floor. Before I even remembered to mention this at the front desk, both things had been repaired the next day and thereafter worked flawlessly.

My overall ratring of this hotel is not excellent for one reason only: At a four star establishment I find it unreasonable, having to pay 5 EUR for one hour of access to the Internet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrLicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

impressive hotel with very friendly staff, very clean and luxurious rooms, impressive views at the lake, inside and outside pool and nice garden by the lake

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews