We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large hotel with a lovely pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large hotel with a lovely pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay (3 nights) here, the rooms were clean and we had plenty of room space in our room. You can use the pool of the sister hotel next door (Dino) which is a very swanky affair with a nice indoor pool, but I think the outdoor pool is better at Simplon, it even has sun loungers in the pool.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel at all so I can't comment on that.

A few useful things to know: you get your towel for the pool from reception, not from by the pool; the bar is really pricey and was very quiet (although we had a very pleasant game of scrabble after dinner there one evening); there is a really handy supermarket almost directly over the road from the hotel (turn right and cross the road as you leave the hotel)

Room Tip: I'd recommend requesting a lake view in advance, we didn't and weren't able to move to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    113
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
91
205
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodley stockport
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked to visit here July/August 2011 after it was recommended by a friend. Our holiday was superb. The room overlooking the garden, pool and with a clear sight of the lake was immaculate and well maintained by the household staff. On our first night the maitre d showed me a side entrance (ramped) to the restaurant which was excellent as I am disabled and struggle with steps. The half board was well worth it. There were immense buffet breakfasts with cooked options available and in the evening, if there was not a suitable option on the table d'hote menu (which had 4 or so options on the first few courses) they provided a veg meal of my choice. The meals were 5 course but after the first night we didn't bother with the cheese course as we were "stuffed". The gardens were lovely. 10/10!

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view. Rooms overlooking the main entrance are on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cheshirec0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I just got back from a 6 night stay at the Simplon Hotel in Baveno. It was one of my best hotel experiences ever in Europe. I arrived jet lagged after a long trip from Canada and the staff was friendly and helpful from the start. I had a large room
on the second floor with a terrace overlooking Baveno and Lake Maggiore, It was wonderful to sit there with a coffee in the morning. The room was very clean and comfortably furnished. The bathroom was perfect. The service was exceptional throughout my stay. The hotel itself has one disadvantage: it is not on the lake. However, it''s connected by a walkway to
its larger glitzier sister hotel, the Grand Dino, which is situated on the lake and has a great terrace for meals and drinks. I had never been to this part of italy before and really enjoyed it. The lakes and mountains are beautiful and it's not crowded or touristy. Go to Baveno and the Simplon.

Room Tip: Lake view with a terrace rather than a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Proust101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Nice and friendly hotel with and a breakfast that was incredible good.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Camera Duplex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisbetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We recently completed a coach tour of the Best of Switzerland and stayed at this hotel on Lake Maggiore. It is a member of the Zacchera Hotels group and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with first class facilities and just great swimming pools.

We stayed overnight and enjoyed the quality facilities in all areas of the hotel. It is a few minutes from the centre of Baveno township. It is situated within a park with beautiful gardens and has an extensive art collection and gallery which connects this hotel to the Grand Hotel Dino. Great views over the picturesque lake are a feature.

Rooms are a good size with all required fittings. Excellent air conditioning

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

excellent hotel for this popular area in the italian lakes. fantastic food, and even the basic rooms are a good size and attractively furnished.
The pool area is also pretty although the pool could be warmer, there is no pool service. there were many who were making return visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife, my 1.5 years old daughter and myself were 5 nights at this wonderful hotel.
1. Great breakfast
2. Fast room service when hot water was needed
3. Bathtub was in the room, great for the daughter's shower
4. Has a tunnel connecting between the Grand Hotel Dino which offers an indoor swimming pool and a children playground
5. Great location

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kampana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.6 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Property: Hotel Simplon
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing