We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
111
145
50
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
145
50
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poollifeguard on dutythree choicesnice promenadeshearings holidayevening meallake maggioreceiling fansoup or pastaferry porttwin bedsbring teabathroom upstairsbotanic gardenseuros returnegg boilerclean towels every day
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 321 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My sister & I enjoyed our week with a Travelsphere holiday, conveniently flying to Milan from Manchester. Baveno is a pretty resort & the hotel on the lakeside provided beautiful views. Only on our first night was there real noise from motor bikes but that soon ceased. The hotel staff were very efficient, polite & friendly.Rooms were cleaned every morning, not afternoon. We found the facilities adequate, though we were amused that our little balcony held only one chair! In other sections, rooms had more spacious balconies. Tea making facilities in bedrooms would be greatly appreciated! We found meals to be varied & enjoyable, if not cordon bleu.The tours were really good & interesting. In Zermatt we had a wonderful view of the Matterhorn! Our favourite trip was to Lake Orta - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights coming back from southern Italy back to the Netherlands. We soon discovered that the area is brilliant!

The hotel is a three star hotel, nothing more, nothing less. For the purpose that we use hotels, a place to sleep, it was fine. Because there were no other rooms available the very friendly manager gave us the "mini suite" on the third floor with a large balcony overlooking the lake for the price of a normal room (€120). The view was brilliant!

The interior of the whole hotel is a bit 80's. However when you sleep thats not a problem and the beds are good. The downside of the room was the water pressure of the shower, took ages to wash my hair.

It has a pool, a three star pool, so don't expect anything fancy, just a place to cool of a little.

It has excellent parking facilities!

Then there is breakfast. I think Italians don't like breakfast. (I've had this in many 2/3 star hotels in Italy). And why is it that in a lot of hotels you get terrible coffee, when you are in coffee country #1? I saw the waiter throw back left over coffee in the big pot.... So skip breakfast and have a coffee and a sandwich in a nearby bar.

Having said that, the biggest downside of this hotel is Baveno. Nothing happens in Baveno and the restaurants are bad (trust me on this one). Do not even go to the #1 restaurant on tripadvisor Posta.

Everything happens in Stresa. Room rates there are higher. In my opinion there are 2 options:
1 Stay in Baveno and use your car to get to Stresa for shopping, dining etc. However with the vino at diner tough to drive back...
2 Pay a bit more and stay in Stresa....

Tips:

-If you are used to the Guggenheim and the van Gogh museum, maybe the Isola Bella museum lets you down a bit, only visit the garden! Or visit one of the gardens of one of the other big houses around the lake.

-The Baveno / Stresa side of the lake is the touristic side for foreigners. The public beach is very small, rest of the beaches is for hotels. On the other side of the lake, in Verbania there is a nice public beach with a real Italian atmosphere and a good coffee or corona bar, depending on the time of day!

-Hire a mountainbike at the gondala, go up and bike down, awesome!!!!

-The restaurant in the building of the gondola, cafe lidrovolante, has the best tagliata (steak with parmezan and rocket) I've ever had. I doesn't have the best atmosphere, but after a bike ride of a couple of hours a steak and a cold beer with amazing views over the lake is superb. If you read the reviews on tripadvisor on the restaurant: The chef will get killed if he serves a tagliata well done! So just order it!

At first I wanted to score this hotel very good, however while writing this review I discovered that it is not the hotel, but everything else that I enjoyed so much during my stay. Unfortunately for the hotel it is just average......

Room Tip: We were lucky, but try and bluf your way into a mini suite!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronald1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I had read poor reviews about the Hotel Beau Rivage, but everything ws far better than expected.
The front room, with lake view, did not seem noisy. Being on the first floor some evenings we could hear the downstairs music, but this was not loud & stopped before 'bedtime'
The bedrooms were not cleaned until late afternoon, making a nap after lunch impossible
There was plenty of nice, well prepared food, buffet style contintal breakfast, with a choice of menu for the evening meal which was served by waitresses at the table.
The staff were extremely helpful & friendly.
The swimming pool, was well managed & shady seating in the trees, for non sunlovers.
Where else would you get these lake views at this price!

Room Tip: No Air Conditioning or Kettle, so the small travel fan & electric immersion heater we took with us were well used
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CABAK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2011

we went with a shearings holidays, the hotel was well situated with great views of the lake, the rooms were clean and pleasant but was well under-staffed. the rooms were not cleaned until 4pm. the food could have been more interesting and varied as there was only two choices every night

Room Tip: front rooms have the best views but very noisy at night
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank gillian067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Baveno is a small town on the west bank of Lago Maggiore. This hotel was recommended to us by friends and it's a gem.

Our hosts, Arturro & his wife were fabulous and keen to help us plan our stay on the lake, making sure we got a boat trip out to the islands (which we did)

Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the lake, with a mezzanine level for the bed and 2 bathrooms, we were spoilt.

The hotel has free car parking and a lovely swimming pool. Free wifi and a computer is available in the lounge area. Also a TV lounge and seating to the front overlooking the lake.

Breakfast was a delight, with silver cutlery & teapots, plus a large buffet selection and extremely helpful staff. Although we didn't dine at the hotel, we spoke with other guests who praised it highly.

We'll certainly be recommending Hotel Beau Rivage to anyone travelling to this beautiful part of the Italian Lakes.

Room Tip: Room 310 is a must if you want 2 bathrooms and a spectacular view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh_Forman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews