We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, polite staff”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in May in this lovely hotel. Overall we were very pleased with everything, except the morning tea and coffee which were terrible. The waiter has poured out from big pots for everyone. For a 3-star hotel I think they should buy a coffee machine where everyone can make their favourite morning drink, e.g. espresso, capuccino, hot tea with a selection of fruit teas and so on. The evening meal was nice and sufficient, our room was cleaned every day, the hotel location is absolutely fantastic. The staff were very efficient, nice and helpful.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms looking for the lake are the best. Ask for rooms at higher floors, they are less noisy from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iluvatar0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

My sister & I enjoyed our week with a Travelsphere holiday, conveniently flying to Milan from Manchester. Baveno is a pretty resort & the hotel on the lakeside provided beautiful views. Only on our first night was there real noise from motor bikes but that soon ceased. The hotel staff were very efficient, polite & friendly.Rooms were cleaned every morning, not afternoon. We found the facilities adequate, though we were amused that our little balcony held only one chair! In other sections, rooms had more spacious balconies. Tea making facilities in bedrooms would be greatly appreciated! We found meals to be varied & enjoyable, if not cordon bleu.The tours were really good & interesting. In Zermatt we had a wonderful view of the Matterhorn! Our favourite trip was to Lake Orta - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights coming back from southern Italy back to the Netherlands. We soon discovered that the area is brilliant!

The hotel is a three star hotel, nothing more, nothing less. For the purpose that we use hotels, a place to sleep, it was fine. Because there were no other rooms available the very friendly manager gave us the "mini suite" on the third floor with a large balcony overlooking the lake for the price of a normal room (€120). The view was brilliant!

The interior of the whole hotel is a bit 80's. However when you sleep thats not a problem and the beds are good. The downside of the room was the water pressure of the shower, took ages to wash my hair.

It has a pool, a three star pool, so don't expect anything fancy, just a place to cool of a little.

It has excellent parking facilities!

Then there is breakfast. I think Italians don't like breakfast. (I've had this in many 2/3 star hotels in Italy). And why is it that in a lot of hotels you get terrible coffee, when you are in coffee country #1? I saw the waiter throw back left over coffee in the big pot.... So skip breakfast and have a coffee and a sandwich in a nearby bar.

Having said that, the biggest downside of this hotel is Baveno. Nothing happens in Baveno and the restaurants are bad (trust me on this one). Do not even go to the #1 restaurant on tripadvisor Posta.

Everything happens in Stresa. Room rates there are higher. In my opinion there are 2 options:
1 Stay in Baveno and use your car to get to Stresa for shopping, dining etc. However with the vino at diner tough to drive back...
2 Pay a bit more and stay in Stresa....

Tips:

-If you are used to the Guggenheim and the van Gogh museum, maybe the Isola Bella museum lets you down a bit, only visit the garden! Or visit one of the gardens of one of the other big houses around the lake.

-The Baveno / Stresa side of the lake is the touristic side for foreigners. The public beach is very small, rest of the beaches is for hotels. On the other side of the lake, in Verbania there is a nice public beach with a real Italian atmosphere and a good coffee or corona bar, depending on the time of day!

-Hire a mountainbike at the gondala, go up and bike down, awesome!!!!

-The restaurant in the building of the gondola, cafe lidrovolante, has the best tagliata (steak with parmezan and rocket) I've ever had. I doesn't have the best atmosphere, but after a bike ride of a couple of hours a steak and a cold beer with amazing views over the lake is superb. If you read the reviews on tripadvisor on the restaurant: The chef will get killed if he serves a tagliata well done! So just order it!

At first I wanted to score this hotel very good, however while writing this review I discovered that it is not the hotel, but everything else that I enjoyed so much during my stay. Unfortunately for the hotel it is just average......

Room Tip: We were lucky, but try and bluf your way into a mini suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronald1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I had read poor reviews about the Hotel Beau Rivage, but everything ws far better than expected.
The front room, with lake view, did not seem noisy. Being on the first floor some evenings we could hear the downstairs music, but this was not loud & stopped before 'bedtime'
The bedrooms were not cleaned until late afternoon, making a nap after lunch impossible
There was plenty of nice, well prepared food, buffet style contintal breakfast, with a choice of menu for the evening meal which was served by waitresses at the table.
The staff were extremely helpful & friendly.
The swimming pool, was well managed & shady seating in the trees, for non sunlovers.
Where else would you get these lake views at this price!

Room Tip: No Air Conditioning or Kettle, so the small travel fan & electric immersion heater we took with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CABAK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we went with a shearings holidays, the hotel was well situated with great views of the lake, the rooms were clean and pleasant but was well under-staffed. the rooms were not cleaned until 4pm. the food could have been more interesting and varied as there was only two choices every night

Room Tip: front rooms have the best views but very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank gillian067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Baveno is a small town on the west bank of Lago Maggiore. This hotel was recommended to us by friends and it's a gem.

Our hosts, Arturro & his wife were fabulous and keen to help us plan our stay on the lake, making sure we got a boat trip out to the islands (which we did)

Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the lake, with a mezzanine level for the bed and 2 bathrooms, we were spoilt.

The hotel has free car parking and a lovely swimming pool. Free wifi and a computer is available in the lounge area. Also a TV lounge and seating to the front overlooking the lake.

Breakfast was a delight, with silver cutlery & teapots, plus a large buffet selection and extremely helpful staff. Although we didn't dine at the hotel, we spoke with other guests who praised it highly.

We'll certainly be recommending Hotel Beau Rivage to anyone travelling to this beautiful part of the Italian Lakes.

Room Tip: Room 310 is a must if you want 2 bathrooms and a spectacular view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh_Forman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We took advantage of the hotel's online offer of 3 nights b+b, welcome drink, dinner on one night, a boat trip to the islands, use of the pool in the garden, free internet and free parking. Fantastic value. We had a large corner room at the side of the hotel building with a balcony and view of Lake Maggiore, Beautiful. Breakfast was excellent and the dinner turned out to be so good that we chose to pay for dinner on our last night. The staff were all lovely and we hope to be able to return to this lakeside hotel on our next visit to Baveno. The only reason we didn't use the offer of the swimming pool was that we simply ran out of time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.9 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
526 reviews
3.4 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,385 reviews
0.1 km away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,405 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
401 reviews
3.5 km away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: Viale della Vittoria 36, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: C$128 - C$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beau Rivage of Baveno offers comfortable accommodation in a wonderful Lake Maggiore setting, with enchanting views of the Borromean Islands. Wi-Fi and parking are free. All rooms are air-conditioned. The hotel's amenities include bar, an outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool, and spacious air-conditioned lounges. You can relax in the charming internal garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel
Hotel Beau Rivage Baveno, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing